We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sweeney Hall Hotel

Save
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (21)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch”(23 reviews)
“bridal suite”(6 reviews)
“country house”(13 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
302
116
44
36
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
302
116
44
36
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchbridal suitecountry housemany occasionsthe early bird menuhis teamlovely settingtwo coursesbirthday mealafternoon teawedding venuefirst classexcellent foodmain coursefamily runlong drivewine list
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited in a large group for a family get-together, great venue, excellent food not far from Oswestry Centre with plenty of parking. Rooms were clean and tidy and of a decent standard - absolutely no complaints and will be returning!

Thank Brian J
Response from Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband & I booked Sweeney Hall for our post wedding party. What a lovely day we had......prior to the party Sean and his staff were really helpful and patient with all my queries, and the service we had on the day was fantastic. The...More

Thank Christabel59
Response from Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your day. Congratulations and we hope to see you both again soon. Best wishes Sean

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for a wedding only not to sleep The best wedding meal i have ever had just superb Excellent service throughout the day and evening Very clean areas inside and out It was a nice day so we were outside most of the time,...More

Thank smk62
Response from Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback. Your comments are much appreciated and I will share them with the team.

Reviewed 14 May 2018

The hotel was in a lovely setting but due to its age needed decorating in the room where we stayed. It was also too light with landing lights shining through the window above the door. Slamming doors downstairs disturbed our sleep. There was no member...More

Thank amanda l
Response from Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. I am sorry we didn’t deliver on this occasion. We are constantly decorating bedrooms and I am sad to hear that your room didn’t meet your expectations.The biggest disappointment for me however is that you...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018

Great staff, lovely setting, staff are great, room furniture is tired, bathroom and towels were brilliant, breakfast was good a little cold and had to wait for the toast, second rate tea, (need better quality tea) now if you booked direct you get a better...More

Thank Jayne M
Response from Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jayne Me Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback is much appreciated and used to build on and improve what we do. My apologies for the error with your bill, a complementary upgrade resulted in a genuine mistake with...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oswestry
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$119 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$119 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (21)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
janbrannon
24 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Avril E | Reviewed this property |
Sorry do not know if you can throw confetti in the grounds, I would suggest you ring the hotel to find out as I am sure they will be very helpful to you. Sorry cannot help further.
0
Votes
geoffsarah
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Barry H | Reviewed this property |
Hello, I should imagine there is, but I didn't use any taxis so I can't say for sure, sorry.
0
Votes
Sue G
27 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sean E | Property representative |
Yes we do - if you go to our website you will find more information - cheers Sweeney Management
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Superior rooms are better"
Read review
"Go for the front rooms"
Read review
"Not near the conference room"
Read review
"Cottage gives independence but social engagement next door if required"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing