We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Rectory on the Lake

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Old Rectory on the Lake
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

875 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 865: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived at The Old Rectory on the Lake at Sunday lunch time and received a friendly, warm welcome by John and Ricky. Our room for the night was beautiful, with stunning views over the lake. Following our arrival we walked to the top of Cadair Idris which was challenging but amazing! John and Ricky were able to advise us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hillsters
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Good luck with The Three Peaks Challenge in ten days time and we hope your ascent of Cadair Idris has got you in the mood for this trio of exhausting walks which all have to be completed within a staggering 15 hours! Do let us know how you get on and Marian says she wishes she was going with you...

Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Not surprisingly our expectations were very high based on the Trip Advisor reviews this can be a potential banana skin ! not in this case not only were our expectations met they were simply blown away ! We spent 3 nights over the Bank holiday weekend at the end of May in the Mynydd Rugog room to celebrate my wife's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RichardTSouthWales
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Wow! What a kind review and it was our pleasure to have you to stay in our home over the last bank holiday weekend. Thanks so much or taking the time to post such appreciative and glowing comments and we are relieved we met your Trip Advisor expectations. Thanks too for the unexpected gift of your home made vodka -...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were delighted to avail of a chance last-minute booking, and had not been prepared for the loveliness of the welcome, the location and the wonderful hosts! We arrived late, having been to Dolgoch Falls and Castell y Bere on the way (both within a short drive of Tal y Llyn and worth visiting) - too late to partake of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cbmayo
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Bleatings to you, Rhodri and Claire, across the sea in Galway. It was great to meet you and I am pleased that you had a memorable time when you stayed at my pastures. I know all the other guests that night greatly enjoyed your fiddle playing and we all hope that ewe both can return and this time sample one...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I'm patting myself on the back for managing to find this wonderful place. Booked 2 nights in the Craig goch room for my husbands 50th birthday. Arrived to a stunning location, beautiful room, great hosts and amazing food. Thank you John for all your wonderful service (even with a poorly hand) your advice on where to visit around the area...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jo C
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

We are so glad that The Old Rectory on the lake proved to be the ideal location to celebrate Roy's 50th birthday and thanks for describing my food as being 'amazing'. I will pass on your kind comments about his stories to John - I must admit he is a good reconteur even if one has heard them many times...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this for my Dad's 70th, it was perfect. We were a party of 11 and we were lucky to be able to book the entire hotel for the weekend. The rooms are all fantastic, clean and comfortable and also tea, coffee, water and biscuits were provided in the bedrooms. The breakfasts and evening meals were fantastic, and John...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bethan L
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

We seem to be doing more and more house parties and really enjoy them - your father's birthday celebration was no exception and meeting you all and all the ensuing weekend fun certainly kept my mind off the events of the previous week! So hello from Tal-y-llyn to birthday Bob, Maggie, Bethan, Karen, Mark, Ben, Joseph, Scarlet, Grace, Beatrice and...

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2014

On arrival we were welcomed warmly by John, shown to our room and then were offered a cup of tea in the lounge.This materialised as a pot of tea for two and a platter with three types of homemade small cakes each (Welsh cake, chocolate brownie and fruit cake). The view over the Talyllyn Lake was stunning. The free Broadband...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LMO14
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

It was good to meet you when you stayed in our downstairs room when visiting the Talyllyn Railway recently. It seems Ricky's home made afternoon tea delights continue to be just the ticket with our guests and I have also passed on your kind comment that you have no better food at any five star hotel. We were well chuffed...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After years of coming to Tal Y Llyn finally got to stay in the Old Rectory and was not disappointed. John and Ricky went out of their way to welcome us, from coffee and cakes on arrival to a superb evening meal. Location is stunning with unbeatable views across the lake. Room large with luxury bathroom. Despite the weather John...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KingSalmon2013
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Thanks Paul and Janice for staying this side of the lake and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us - looking at your other postings you seem very well travelled so to get such a kind review and recommendation is greatly appreciated. Best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners

Evesham
Reviewed 20 May 2014

For my 60th birthday it was decided to go to Talyllyn for the first day of the new operating season. Unfortunately 'Talyllyn' threw a coupling rod and broke down on the return journey! This did not happen at the Rectory where the greeting was worthy of the Ritz in London. The two evening meals experienced were good on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank volklf1
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

Many thanks for coming to stay with us to celebrate your 60th birthday and we were relieved to read that there was no breakdown in service at this end of the Talyllyn valley! Thanks for taking the time to leave this review - I have passed on your kind comments about his food to chef, Ricky. Best wishes, John -...

tywyn
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Yesterday I went to the old rectory for lunch with a friend. On arrival we were warmly greeted by John who introduced himself and invited us to sit on the terrace in the glorious sunshine. We were given the menu and ordered a glass of red wine each,John came to take our order and a little while later we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank poppy2028
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

This reads like a review from a newspaper dining out column and I am so glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch here! You may know we used to offer evening meals to non residents but had to stop as we really did not have the room nor adequate parking. However bowing to local pressure - and wanting to thank in...

Flintshire
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Returned again for our first visit of the year. Stayed in our favourite room Craig Goch. Everything was just as we like it,room was spotless ,atmosphere relaxed and friendly and the food was fantastic. Ricky catered for my wife's dietary requirements with imagination and great style. Idris gave us his usual warm welcome. Already booked for September, we hope the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyJazz_9
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review

John and Ricky have asked if I can respond to this review as you kindly mention me. We were all pleased to welcome you to The Old Rectory on the lake for a third stay and are happy to read that everything was again up to your expectations. Also glad you heard the cuckoo - in fact he is calling...

1,177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1025)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (132)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (77)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (591)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Standard Rear Facing Double Room (43)
Viewed
Superior Lake Facing Double Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
8.8 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
316 reviews
0.0 km away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
147 reviews
0.4 km away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
62 reviews
2.0 km away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
192 reviews
8.3 km away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Price Range: RM603 - RM732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory on the Lake staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mynudd Rugog was beautiful but all rooms are lovely.”
evelynm900, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“You can't go wrong”
, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Any room is a good room”
  • Comfy four poster
  • Time to unwind after hard days walking
a_joslin, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Lake view only”
johnaC3107KY, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with Lakeside views are lovely”
mcooper2017, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates