We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dovecliff Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

My daughter got married here in July and we had the most wonderful time. The venue looked stunning, the staff were attentive and the day ran smoothly. They knew to keep the the mother of the bride happy! My daughter can be particularly fussy and the hotel managed this with ease. The food was delicious, we had several vegetarians and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We work very hard to make sure that every bride and groom have the day of their dreams and we are delighted that you were happy with every element of your daughter's day. We hope to see you again very soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

After booking this via Amazon I read some of the negative reviews and was prepared for the worst. We had a great time! From check in, through dinner and breakfast we encountered attentive, caring staff who could not do enough to please, The food was very well presented and tasted wonderful. The room was large and airy and overlooked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 489keithw
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope you will visit us again very soon.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I'm the bride!!! Perfect wedding venue, (irrespective of whether you choose an alternative church service or civil ceremony), perfect hosts, perfect arrival through to departure!! Amazing canapés, both prepared and delivered!! Can not fault any of the meal from starters through to coffee and petit fours!! Amazing chef and his team, thank you!! We have had the luxury of staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline F
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was our absolute pleasure to work with you both planning your special day and we are delighted that everything met your expectations. Please do come and see us again.

Derby
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

This was my second visit to Dovecliff and I must confess our first was so bad we complained and were offered a discounted second visit! Having left it almost a year we returned only to find the hotel had deteriorated even further! The curtains were hanging half off the rail, the walls are marked, paintwork chipped, and cobwebs all over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smartipantsbaby
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your exacting standards and judging from your other reviews you struggle to find somewhere which meets your requirements. Our most recent reviews would appear to contradict your own.

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Lovely country house hotel, fabulous wedding venue for our friends. Wonderful food served with helpful staff on hand throughout our stay for the wedding. Surprisingly 4G internet available along with hotel customer WIFI - great for sharing photos of the big day. Our room (107) was comfortable with a lovely view of the grounds. Attention is needed in the grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. The wedding day ran perfectly and everyone seemed to have a good time. Unfortunately we experienced a failure on our drainage system which has now been rectified. The fountain will return to operation once the pump has been repaired, unfortunately this was out of...

Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, staff were friendly, parking was easy. The room was a little dated and does need a bit updating whilst keeping the originalities to it!! Breakfast was only served between 8-9.30, very early if your on the move and wanting a lay in. The breakfast staff were slightly rude and not really accommodating to any needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis V
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are in the process of planning updates to some of our rooms and this will include making sure that we still maintain the traditional feel befitting a Georgian house. Unfortunately as we have to reset our restaurants for busy lunches or functions, then the breakfast service in there will finish at 9.30, however...

Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Arrived at about 1.30 on the Friday afternoon. Booked as an Amazon local deal. Room was ready when we arrived and we were allocated room 10 which was at the back of the hotel in the new wing. View over the river and very peaceful and quiet. We went back to reception and asked if we could have a light...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Antonia T
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay with us in August. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us. Customers sometimes feel that if they book a deal through Amazon or Groupon, then they will not receive the best rooms, service, food etc, but this is definitely not the case with our hotel and it is good...

Coppet, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 August 2015

After making a fifth or sixth trip over a period of six months, I need to start by saying I've not found a better hotel in the area. Indeed the location, just above a weir on the river Dove northeast of Burton, is very attractive in an area that is not all picturesque, and the hotel gardens are lovely. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian E
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you would recommend our hotel and thank you for your comments on the details which you think we can improve on. We do of course take all comments, both good and bad, on board and we are just looking at our refurbishment plans now which will include decoration of certain...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We stayed at the Dovecliff as part of a wedding party in august 2015. The rooms had been booked well in advance so we were expecting to be placed in the main hotel. My husband check in and it turned out we had been placed in the annex which was around the back of the kitchens and laundry room, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pat p
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and we are sorry that you were not happy with your room. Firstly we would like to clarify that the area of the hotel you refer to you is not an annex. Although a recent addition to the original Georgian house, it is connected to the main building via a corridor on the first...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

I stayed with my husband and my daughter one night in this hotel and it was amazing. The view is beautiful, gardens are full of roses. Staff been very polite and friendly. Food was perfect. Congrats to all team

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andreea t
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review. We will ensure your comments and thanks are passed to all concerned.

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
10.1 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
7.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
425 reviews
2.9 km away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
408 reviews
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
415 reviews
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Price Range: RM404 - RM608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dovecliff Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dovecliff Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The two suites are excellent, try to stay in the Hall rather than the modern annex.”
 of 5 bubbles Pejacks, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the main hotel building - rooms 2 - 10 seem to be of a better standard.”
 of 5 bubbles Elvis_McCann, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It was the restaurant we vidited”
 of 5 bubbles Vegetarian990, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“River view room was delightful”
 of 5 bubbles LudlowMod, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with a view of the gardens or river”
 of 5 bubbles reasleyosu, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay