We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

After a long day traveling and at Alton Towers with the kids I couldn't wait to get back to the hotel. Unfortunately the postcode takes you to the wrong hotel on the wrong side of the road and a detour is needed! Anyway after getting to the hotel and checking in we got to our family room which had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dannii1010
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the issue with the vending machine. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been...

Port Sunlight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

TL was fine as usual. Sat nav is for the otherside of the dual carriageway and half a mile away. Approach to southbound is very short and within, but not the off slip of the adjacent grade separated junction. Potential for rear end shunts.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Good place to stay overnight as a family, but the usual Travelodge sterile and functional room would not encourage us to stay as a couple on our own. Lack of café/restaurant is a pain as there are no places in the vicinity to get breakfast. Pulling out onto the A38 can be difficult as there is no slip road and...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the lack of a bar cafe. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

been here for a while staff LOVELY and rooms clean and very DOG FRIENDLY ..even the other lodgers here really friendly aswell...not very far from all in burton or straight onto a38 to either north or south...very conveniently positioned

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulgod
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience and found the staff lovely. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are so pleased to see this has been achieved. We will ensure the hotel team receives a...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We needed cheap version overnight accommodation en route from North East to West Country and the travel inn served the purpose ideally. We had a comfortable bed for the night with good clean facilities. Tea and coffee provided together with tv . As mentioned by others a location problem on sat nav took us to the north bound lodge causing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

We fully appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay at Burton A38 Southbound Travelodge. We are pleased to learn that your room was clean and comfortable, however we would like to apologise for the issue caused by the postcode that impacted your stay. Please rest assured your feedback has been passed to...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed at a travelodge on the A 38 s which fitted the bill perfectly. We simply wanted very cheap overnight accommodation on a longer trip. The bed was comfortable, the TV adequate and the bathroom clean and in good working order. There were 3 slight problems. Because the travelodges north and south have the same postcode we were directed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Stayed here at the weekend, the room was clean and neat, as was the bathroom, no frills but at £49 you and complain, the bed was comfy and the staff helpful. The only drawback is the location. There is nothing nearby and if you want food it's only the vending machine or go for a drive. No proper breakfast gives...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

As always the travelodge was excellent value again. Yes the post code for the sat nav is wrong but the web site covers this and gives excellent instructions. Although bear in mind there is not a lot near this place. You will have to travel for food and drink etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
Cornwall
Reviewed 18 September 2016

To be honest, I had given up on staying in Travelodges a while back (got fed up with the awful state of them), but due to a last minute arrangement I needed to find accommodation quickly. Booked through LateRooms, I paid £37 for one night. The place is easy to find although you could miss it as they're doing road-works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAJCornwall
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The website details say this is a short walk from food and drink outlets but there is absolutely nothing within a 10 minute drive! and the roadworks on the motorway at the moment make it quite unpleasant. We hardly saw any reception staff at any point and the one poor lady we did say was a cleaner who couldn't really...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 709mareef
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service you have received during your stay, where you felt the hotel did not deliver consistent customer care due to staffing levels. We would be more than happy to receive further feedback from you via the contact...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
1.3 km away
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
50 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
290 reviews
8.6 km away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
69 reviews
4.8 km away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
431 reviews
6.7 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound

Address: A38 Southbound Lichfield Road | Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Price Range: RM169 - RM289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Burton a38 Southbound Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Travelodge
Burton Upon Trent Travel Lodge
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent
Travel Lodge Burton Upon Trent
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back room away from very busy road”
 of 5 bubbles 964annb, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms offer best value.”
 of 5 bubbles andymO8211WH, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 10 is very good”
 of 5 bubbles KAJCornwall, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If my room is anything to go by then there is no good rooms for a comfy stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 319kyled, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles maryc472, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5