We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

Save
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good15%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“tudor suite”(28 reviews)
“vodka bar”(22 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
238
65
45
40
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
238
65
45
40
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster of ceremoniestudor suitevodka barwedding breakfastwedding packagewedding venuetoast mastermr mrswedding receptionamazing weddingdance floorbridal suiteevening receptionpiping hotchristmas partycouldn't do enoughfood was lovely
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 433 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We spent 2 nights at the Castle hotel as it was the weekend of 'Aethelfest' You could not find a better location than this for the Castle and town. It's a very old building so you cannot expect it to be super modernised. But it...More

Thank Julie L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had our wedding here on 7th July 2018 Our Master of Ceremony was Called Adam I could not fault Adam in anyway he was an absolute credit to us and our day. He made everything run smoothly and made our day perfect. Even things...More

Thank amandastuddard
Reviewed 1 week ago

My Wife & I went to the Castle Hotel on Sunday for a carvery. It was absolutely superb, everything was really hot and nicely prepared. The Staff were excellent, friendly and polite. We are going back again next Sunday.

Thank Ian G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Décor was a little tired but housekeeping excellent and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We will definitely stay here again in the future. Great place to host a wedding. Nothing was too much trouble from the excellent staff from top to bottom.

Thank ssterling2018
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Average clean and tidy twin room which was a bit compact and dated. Tiny bathroom with no hooks or anywhere to hang anything. The staff were really nice and friendly. If I was back in the area again would still stay there.

Thank Zana E
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Wheelchair Access
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$52 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$52 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (14)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jeanette W
I have just recently booked a family room for myself, cousin and her 11yr, the room in total came to £75, when booking the total that we were being charged was £90, so i rang the hotel whilst we were online to be advised that upon completion of the booking the price we would pay would be that of £75. However when confirmation of our booking came we had indeed paid £90, ringing the hotel back i was told that we had been charged 2018 prices, and that we would get a call back from the lady that i had spoke with the previous evening. Upon receiving the call back i was told that we had been charged the £90 as we had an extra person in our room, we did not. We had booked a family room that sleeps 4 at an obviously higher rate than the standard double which sleeps 2. Why are we being charged this? The young lady on the phone was rude to us, and eventually refunded £5.. this is not good enough. We want to stay here as family will be here but something needs to be done regarding this.
24 April 2017|
Answer
Response from CastleHotelTamworth | Property representative |
All booking prices are controlled by a computer booking system, not the receptionist. The correct price should have been for 3 x people on the wedding discount rate £85.00. That is a double/twin £70.00, plus an additional... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don't take a dog!"
Read review
"If staying in the Brewery annex, avoid the road side rooms as cars to the adjacent multistory flats park..."
Read review
"Top floor was quiet and the rooms spacious and comfortable"
Read review
"I stayed in room 5 it was quiet enough for me."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing