We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Russ Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Russ Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,064 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Russ Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,039: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a few times over the last 6 months. The reason we return is the location, free overnight parking and the room rate. I wouldn't feel very safe here on my own as the rooms can be very far from reception and the windows aren't very secure. The rooms are small with basic amenities... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chriztine3c
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the hotel and our services on this occasion. All feedback is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the highlighted issues wherever possible. More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 700 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Having read a lot of bad reviews our expectation was low and we were a little worried about our choice of airport hotel before flying out of gatwick for a romantic valentine break to tallinn. The hotel is located in the countryside. On arriving the hotel looked like a classic manor house. We were checked in in no time and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick. More 

Mid Glam South Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed night before flying, pleasant staff on reception booked us in quickly and explained parking and bus transfer procedures. Lovely old building in the middle of nowhere so a captive clientele for food and drinks. Room very pleasant, tea/coffee making facilities, and provided more milk cartons when I asked at reception with no fuss. Bathroom clean as was room, bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank BluebirdFACup08
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a trip with Diamond holidays it was terrible, it was like staying at a youth hostel only worse. The restaurant was like a works canteen you were told where to sit which is around tables with 4/5 strangers, the mattress was so bad we had to place the spare blanket under the sheet to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frankstretton
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the hotel and our services on this occasion. All feedback is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the highlighted issues wherever possible More 

South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

It was such a welcome relief. Arriving in the lobby of this large, country house-style hotel high above Gatwick, and the usual stresses of getting to the airport, parking and checking in, fell away. Here was a hotel which knew its business.Friendly, helpful staff so that within a few minutes we parked in the grounds, unpacked in our room (good,functional... More 

Helpful?
Thank 576davidjames
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Second time we have stayed here overnight pending morning flight. Again, given some of the reviews, we were pleasantly surprised as we were last time. Stayed in one of the older rooms in the original house and whilst this was not as nice as the new room we stayed in last time, it was still very clean comfortable and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank jcw357
Lybster, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Our 2nd stay here for an early morning flight. We stayed in a smokers room which was small but clean tidy and suitable for a one night stayover. The fire alarms went off while we there but no attempt was made at evacuating and no explaination was given as to what had caused it - we assume it was smoking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We apologise for the problems you encountered at the hotel prior to your holiday. We hope that despite your disappointment you were able to enjoy your onward journey and holiday More 

Heart of England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Don't expect too much, I read the reviews before I booked and was aware of the fact that an alarm call was a little too much to ask but we booked one just to see, it never came but we had set our phones to wake us up. The actual building is beautiful in the lobby areas and the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZekesWife
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick. More 

essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had booked The Europa but because of works to carpark we were moved to the Russ hill. We have stayed here before and as before had no problems. We requested a smoking room which was fine. Yes a bit dated but for the price and 8 days parking what do you expect. It was clean and warm. Cavery was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wilsojen
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Second stay at this hotel en route for an early flight. We were pleasantly surprised by the refurbishment and by the dinner too.Will definitely use it again.We also used the meet and greet system as we had a late return flight. This worked really well and was much better than wating around for transport.

Helpful?
Thank farnhamtraveller9
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. More 

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (214)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
5.2 km away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
5.2 km away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,071 reviews
2.3 km away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
5.3 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Price Range: RM178 - RM323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
essex
over a year ago
Greater London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Arrive early”
 of 5 bubbles peterdowling222, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Online booking for Windsor and Westminster abbey and make sure there is nothing going on when you visit like Coronations and Weddings”
  • Private Gardens Windsor
 of 5 bubbles theleveller, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Close to Gatwick airport so expect some noise but for plane spotters pick at view over the airfield”
 of 5 bubbles Graham1Kent, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All ok as far as we were aware”
 of 5 bubbles clioOxford, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose on at another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles S9887TLmikew, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay