We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Washington

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Washington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 734: English reviews
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Stayed 1 night on business and booked a double room for single occupancy and my comments are as follows:- 1. Very small room and bathroom(shower only) - no circulation space and if 2 stayed it would be overcrowded. 2. Duvet thin and lighweight. 3. Room nicely decorated. 4. Internet(free) - a bit slow. 5. Room rate of £74 was £5...

Thank tjwa2015
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments , rooms have just been refurbished new standard is to have showers only , but have kept 2 floors with baths also . We are a ex Forte post house but not average in standards . Thanks .

Reviewed 26 January 2016

I was one of around 30 people at an all day conference here. Unlike many hotels they provided fruit as well as croissants etc in the morning. The room was warm and the visibility of the screen good. The room acoustics were good. The public bathrooms are scrupulously clean, the lunch well cooked and plentiful although not particularly healthy...at least...

1Thank SheMag
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive comments will add vegetables on to the next course, not sure what to do about the cookies add more or remove on the grounds of health ? But thank you .

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Just spent the night so I could take my son to the Newcastle game. The staff were attentive and friendly. The room was well appointed, spotless, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was fantastic and the dining staff lovely. The location makes for a really practical option when visiting newcastle or surrounding area, and the hotel is clearly run by an...

1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks , great to have you stay with us , we are a great base to see the North East .

Reviewed 15 January 2016

We stayed with family. Breakfast good, buffet selection with great choice. Room clean and great. Beds very comfortable and free wifi with loyalty card. Rooms busy being upgraded, but not a problem. We stay often and find the staff helpful and hotel great.

Thank jvmerlin
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review , all rooms are being upgraded.

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Second year running here for Boxing Day meal and was not disappointed . Food was excellent and a great choice over the three courses . Staff friendly and professional. All 14 people in our party enjoyed first class food and service . At around 20 pounds a head it was unbeatable value . Be back again . Red cabbage side...

Thank Murray M
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks we do try to offer great value for money our £5 and£10 meal offer is not to be missed .

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Coach pulls in and 58 people get off to be greeted by... no-one!! Asked at the bar but they couldn't find anyone either. Finally a receptionist toddles over no apology but we get our room card. A lovely new carpet in our room, that new there was no time to hoover it!! Hundreds of bits all over and skirting boards...

3Thank SARAH L
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks your comments will be addressed

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

Been here a couple of times now. I like it. It's a standard holiday inn but the staff here are nice and helpful. There is ample parking and the wifi is good. There's a couple of function rooms that always seem lively on a weekend! The rooms are a little dated but comfortable and overall I would recommend this to...

3Thank Joynesie
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Yes we are a great location for the shops and many sites including Durham and Beamish .

Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a shopping coach trip Hotel room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Shower lovely and hot. Only downside for me was no free wifi which you automatically expect in this century. And I did not wish to pay for the use of it at the prices charged. We had a set menu for...

1Thank missyduff
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Thanks we have noted your comments and WI FI is free as from 2016 .

Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

After staying in not the best hotel this week what a pleasure to stay here to walk in and be greeted by a smiling face absolutely fanatic love this hotel and the staff thank you so much as close to home as it gets

Thank Peter D
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Delighted to have you stay we do try to make all guests welcome .

Egremont, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Room clean, bed comfy (apart from my child's sofa bed) and very quiet (even though busy). Bit on the expensive side, £70 family room, which wasn't including breakfast. Approx £9.95 each for breakfast if you wanted it. Drinks at the bar were also at the top end and there wasn't enough seats (hotel was very busy). All staff (esp reception)...

Thank riosnowie20
generalmanager195, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review

Many thanks comment taken on board will review prices and see what we can do .

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (67)
Bathroom (11)
Room/Suite (11)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (35)
Room/Suite (9)
Dining (4)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Bathroom (1)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 km away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
332 reviews
4.4 km away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,010 reviews
8.1 km away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
456 reviews
3.5 km away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Price Range: RM248 - RM521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Washington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Ely, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This one passes the test”
Hewkin, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“higher floor avoids coach trips”
klammer, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are worth the little bit extra.”
jvmerlin, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms well set out higher floors seemed quieter heating on at highest temperature”
lyndacoombes80, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask before you order”
maryjane140, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$56* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates