We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hickstead

Booking.comUS$83*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$104*
US$83*
US$104*
US$104*
US$83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hickstead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hickstead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 447: English reviews
Hampshire
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We had booked the Hickstead due to its close proximity to the Bolney Estate vineyard which we were visiting for a pre-booked tour. Apart from a ridiculously expensive taxi from the vineyard to the hotel, our weekend stay was excellent and such good value for money. Our stay included a 3 course dinner with wine, bed and breakfast for £109...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback after your weekend wine break with us . I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and dinner and were well looked after . I will look into the taxi cost if you let me know how much you paid as we have agreed journey tariffs for several destinations and for...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

My husband and I were given a Red Letter Day voucher for Afternoon Tea as an anniversary present and chose Hickstead as the venue as it was the nearest place to our home. We had never been to the hotel before and were delighted to find the hotel just off the A23 set in the most delightful surroundings. A plethora...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 388sallyb
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Delighted to read that you enjoyed the wildlife, afternoon tea and hospitality offered The team were really pleased to read your review and comments We look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Giles Paul General Manger

Los Cristianos, Spain
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We were given a voucher as a gift for Afternoon Tea, not being afternoon Tea people we were not sure what to expect. What a lovely surprise it turned out to be. The Tea was very large and really good, as we could not manage all our cakes a member of staff kindly packed them for us to take home....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Delighted you had a lovely afternoon tea and were well looked after by the team Kind Regards Giles Paul General Manager

Reviewed 28 February 2017

We first came here a few years ago as a present from our children and really enjoyed the stay. Last year, my wife found an offer for the hotel and as we enjoyed our first stay so much, we booked again. Sadly last time, due to the behaviour of a group of disruptive and rude guests, our stay was spoilt....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radders2106
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your extensive and positive review after your most recent visit . I am delighted you accepted the invitation to return and hopefully banish the memories caused by the misbehaviour of other guests on a previous visit . We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Giles Paul General Manager

SUSSEX
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

I often stay at the Hickstead Hotel for work. The location is great, the staff are amazingly friendly and it feels like home from home. The rooms are very comfortable and they have baths too!! The breakfast is great and the bar offers a good range of beers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANDYBSussex
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for your lovely words We do try and look after our regulars in a home from home way , a little bit cliché and hard to do , but we will keep on trying our best to be as close to this as we can , creating a relaxed comfortable place to come after work ....

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This is the third year we have been. the staff were excellent nothing to much trouble for them. As a party of 14 the food and service excellent. Very good breakfast selection. Bedrooms clean and tidy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank len559
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your latest visit It was lovely to see you all back again and even more pleasing to see that the team looked after you and ensured you had a nice time Hope to see you later in the year Giles Paul General Manager

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

It's always good to be asked how your stay was when checking out. This didn't happen when I left The Hickstead. Maybe they didn't care? If asked I would have pointed out that my room was cold and I couldn't adjust the temperature and the bed felt old, lumpy and the mattress at least in need of replacing. Just not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank virtualvid
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your feedback . I was very sorry to read that you were not asked about your stay with us when you departed , something we do as a matter of course and even more regrettable that you had a couple of room issues which we were never made aware of until this forum . I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Beware the paper thin walls in the modern bedroom block, particularly if you have a connecting door to the adjoining bedroom! Our neighbour spent much of the night on his mobile, he might just as well have been in our room. Otherwise, the bedroom was comfortably furnished and bathrooms fairly good; the public areas are a bit dated. The saving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisdallis0n
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments We appreciate all feedback good and bad and will do what we can to improve the experience of all future guests . Key that our friendly staff team looked after you Kind Regards Giles Paul General Manager

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Don't be discouraged by my 3-star rating. It actually is about 2 1/2 stars but perfectly clean and nice. The room was spacious, clean and welcoming. The ubiquitous "full English breakfast" was ample and good and the staff very friendly and accommodating our every wish. There is no elevator to the 1st (Am. 2nd) floor, but they kindly helped us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greatscot_oct2015
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay over The Christmas Period We look forward to seeing you on a return visit Giles Paul General Manager

London, England
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

One night stay as we were in the area for a party. Pleasant enough room but the bathroom was a bit of a let down - odd choice of floor covering (paving??) that makes it look like a dirty exterior floor. Breakfast was ok but we waited ages for teas and coffees - the staff were very nice and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EyelashTravels
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit I am sorry you waited a little longer than expected for hot drinks . As you say we were busy and always do our best to manage the situation on a Sunday morning when you all get up together , so whilst you I am glad you were looked after I...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolney
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
377 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
4.8 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,538 reviews
7.4 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
216 reviews
9.0 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Hickstead

Address: Jobs Lane, Bolney RH17 5NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bolney
Price Range: RM413 - RM587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hickstead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hickstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hickstead Hotel Hickstead
The Hotel Hickstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hickstead staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
24 days ago
7 months ago
7 months ago
North Essex, England
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Hickstead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good views all around.”
greatscot_oct2015, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from car park for less disturbance”
nikkid532, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms could be hot in Summer ask for a better room if needed”
theredman01, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I have found all rooms to be similar and the hotel is in a quiet location...so no worries.”
chrisbQ5442MH, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a south facing room, it was pretty quiet”
mehereinthepool, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$83* /night
View Deal
HOTEL.INFOUS$104
TripAdvisorUS$83
AMOMAUS$85
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates