We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Jabiru, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the motel room for two nights. Everything was clean and well set out, new linen and the bed was comfy. The service and friendly atmosphere was outstanding. Didn't get time to use the heated pool but looked inviting. Thanks Peter and Julie.

Helpful?
Thank Mahloba
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to make a review, we value all feedback. It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything was to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again at Burnie Ocean View Motel and caravan Park. Kind regards Peter and Julie More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed in motel apartment was very pleasantly surprised! lounges very comfy & single beds in second bed room proper mattress not thin foam so had gr8 night sleep ! Reverse heating for a cold nite so was warm & snug Would totally recommend for a family or couple to stay in a very pleasant surprise !

Helpful?
1 Thank kaskeyy
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we value all feedback. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been working hard in the past 10 months since purchasing the property to make upgrades to our motel rooms. We are grateful for your positive comments Kind regards Peter and Julie More 

Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Got a couple of family cabins for a 1 night stay in Burnie, during our road trip. Great location as it was closer to the beach and could easily go see the penguins in the penguin colony at sunset. Family cabins were clean and spacious and was priced reasonably.

Helpful?
Thank Thilina G
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we value all feedback. It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to our new window coverings to be installed in the next few weeks. We look forward to seeing you again should you choose to visit Burnie in the future. Kind regards Peter and Julie More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
485 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

It's a case of find your own site. There were plenty to choose from, however, some were so uneven, they would only be suitable for a camper van. We found one which was halfway twixt the amenities blocks. Never really felt "safe" here. No reason. We had a block with a slab, and lots of grass. The amenities are clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie F
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It was pleasing to read that you found our amenities clean. They will be getting a face lift through winter. There is a beach directly across the highway from the property which has seasonal penguin activity and we have wallabies that come down the hill nightly. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels through... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed at the lack of cleaning in on site caravans had to clean it ourselves as it was disgusting. outside was very untidy was planing to stay a week on a budget at the cost of $50 a night or $210 for the week have photos to show how badly the vans are in need of a lot of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Wally D
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We make no apology for our policy on payment. If you are looking for charity or trying scam free accommodation I would suggest you look to the numerous charities that provide this service. Claiming to not have money for food and accommodation is sad for some people but not those who are riding a brand... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a family room with everything we needed for our stay. It was also clean and tidy. We thought it was good value. They had free internet and there was a laundry and clothes line for guests.

Helpful?
Thank Red297
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we value all feedback. It was pleasing to read that you thought our property was good value and our housekeepers were pleased to read that your room was presented well. We look forward to seeing you again at Burnie Ocean View Kind regards Peter and Julie More 

Southport
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016

The Caravan park is easy to find and is directly across the road from a spot the little penguins like to land at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cabin we had was quite dated and the seating was awful - hard metal seats or a small couch on which the cushion was so thin you were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken L
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Burnie Ocean View. We value all feedback. Since purchasing the property we have embark on a refurbishment program to lift the standard of the property. This program is ongoing and will continue through to 2017 Kind regards Peter and Julie More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Very comfortable and friendly place ideal for a short stay to see the area - don't forget the Penguin viewing at night. Although the location is on a main road be patient when leaving the motel. Only about 8 minutes from the town and make sure you have some coins for the parking areas as the "wardens" are always looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank David C
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Burnie Ocean View. It was pleasing to read that you found our property very comfortable and friendly. The parking inspectors in Burnie are no different to those in most cities. If you are just looking for groceries, I recommend heading west 5 minutes to Somerset where there are 2 IGA stores and the... More 

Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in Unit 10 of the Caravan Park section of the motel. Very nice and clean modern styled unit with comfy beds. We did pre book months in advance but still had to make the double bed and single bunk over the top of this bed in the 2nd bedroom (which I find annoying to do... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn G
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Burnie Ocean View. We were pleased that you consider our property to be clean and good value for money. We were disappointed to read that your second bedroom was not made up. This is not our usual standard and we will ensure checking procedures are tightened as a result. We look forward to... More 

Derby, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Stayed 2 nights recently, greeted by the Owners Peter and Julie a lovely couple and made us feel most welcome. Following our drive from Port Arthur it was a delight to find our room very comfortable with crisp white sheets on the bed and all the usual coffee and tea making stuff. Very self contained facilities large fridge, microwave and... More 

Helpful?
Thank willo078
WillowJP, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Burnie Ocean View. We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again along with your travelling friends the next time you choose to visit the North West of Tasmania Kind regards Peter and Julie Wilson More 

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
3.7 km away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
123 reviews
3.9 km away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#4 of 6 in Burnie
83 reviews
19.2 km away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
3.7 km away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
3.3 km away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#5 of 6 in Burnie
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Caravan Park offers a range of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets there are 7 options to choose from. Self contained sea view motel rooms, self contained park view motel rooms, family cabins, dormitory back packer accommodation, on site caravans, powered caravan sites and unpowered tent sites. We are located 3km west of the centre of Burnie directly across the road from Cooee beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park

Address: 253 Bass Highway, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Price Range: RM311 - RM427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Motel room was excellent!!”
 of 5 bubbles JulieOEdinburgh, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It's a motel/caravan park. Not a hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles maggief836, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are okay - the access off the road in both directions is well sign posted”
 of 5 bubbles W5123GTdavidc, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Any of the units in the caravan park would be good as you don't hear any road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 99robyng, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view room for sure”
 of 5 bubbles NicoleHeather2013, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay