We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Agoda.comUS$63*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$142*
US$63*
Great Deal
US$71*
US$73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
 Click to rate
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for four nights while exploring Cradle Mountain, and while the location is absolutely fantastic, the accommodation is quite modest, especially considering the family rates. The cabin serves its purpose, and had what we needed, but the bed was very firm (too firm for a comfortable night's sleep) and the rooms are tiny. Bathroom is absolutely freezing and water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to read you were disappointed with the water pressure and the space in the cabin, but glad that you enjoyed the location and the kitchen set up. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Matthew.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The setting is beautiful. The staff are helpful and the cabins LOOK nice in a lovely setting. Yes the windows are double glazed. But whoever designed??? these units did not live in them in Tasmanian winter. The underfloor appears to have little or no insulation and sucks heat out of the building and your feet. The wall mounted heater has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GordonplusE
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to read you were quite cold in the cabin, but happy that you otherwise enjoyed the facilities and setting of our park. Should you wish to discuss this further, we invite you to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review, Gordon.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband & I stayed for 3 nights in a powered camp site in late April. The Park and amenities were clean and camp kitchen was fantastic. Staff friendly & helpful and it was great that the park was located less than 200 metres to the Parks & Wildlife centre where you could get National Park passes, permits and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 817carole
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review of our park's customer service and handy location, Carole!

Jindabyne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fairly expensive for a dorm room but it had a good heater. The problem was there was nowhere to sit in the kitchen as it was full of Chinese families who for whatever reason were there on mass. They even had kids sleeping on the kitchen floor. No space to get to the cooking area. Get a cabin and save...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rigseismic67
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to read that you were disappointed with the dorm room and space at the facilities at our park. Should you wish to discuss this further, please feel free to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review.

Oakleigh, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Myself, sister and two kids (11 and 15 ) stayed for three nights in early April in a unpowered camp site. We were there to do some hiking. The facilities were very good and helped us have a enjoyable time. The shared common room was a rewarding experience after a long days hike, with open fire and cooking options...this made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cjrob1971
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's wonderful that you and your family enjoyed camping at our park and that it was certainly worth the stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Our group of 3 adults stayed in one of the 4-5 bed self contained cabins in the park. The cabin was clean and had all we needed to be self sufficient for the 2 nights we were there. One bedroom had a double bed and the other a double bed and a single bunk. The bunk was in a T...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay A
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions, Kay! We're glad that our park was convenient for exploring the area and that you had an overall positive experience.

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The staff at the resort are all lovely and friendly and the shop, although expensive, has enough for you to cook a pretty decent meal. This resort was booked for us by our daufpghter and I was slightly alarmed when given a map to our lodging to find out that the toilet and shower block were nearby. As a middle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara108n
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were initially disappointed with some aspects of your stay, but in the end had an enjoyable experience. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 7 April 2017

We paid the most we've ever paid for a caravan park cabin (over $300 for a family of 5), and still had to make up the beds for the kids! The cabin was basic, the one plus was the gas heater, but definitely not $150 worth. Save your money and only do a day trip from Devonport or look into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moosetash
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cost of staying at our park. Should you wish to discuss your comments further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for the review.

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Cabin #6 contained 1 queen bed and 4 bunks. The kitchen/common area was rather cozy; the master bedroom with the queen bed was quite large; the 4 bunks were rather cramped and jammed, especially considering the odd layout of the bathroom (a shower/sink in one room, and a separate toilet in another). The cabin itself was clean enough and decently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're happy that you appreciated our park as a base for discovering the beauty of Cradle Mountain, Keith! Thank you for your review.

NSW
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at discovery park the day before walking cradle mountain Our cabin was in a quiet location, spacious, well equipped with a spa bath. Discovery park is across the road from cradle mountain information centre so a perfect location to start our adventure. The next morning we drove across to the cradle mountain information centre parked our vehicle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zena02
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're happy to know that you think highly of our customer service and that we were able to make a quite stressful situation a bit more manageable. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
4.7 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
963 reviews
3.7 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
701 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
759 reviews
62.4 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
351 reviews
58.8 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: RM229 - RM445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Geelong, Australia
11 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins were very private and nestled among the trees and wildlife.”
  • Paddymelon taken from the window of my bedroom.
  • Our little 2 bedroom cabin.
77kaya, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early in peak periods to avoid disappointment as Accommodation is limited in Cradle Mountain.”
normanh414, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bunk rooms (1-12 )have their own kitchen attached, whereas the shared bunk rooms (13-18) have facilities a minutes walk away.”
roseyshell, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The unpowered sites were great.”
gosnm, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We camped and all the sites were well positioned”
1234Col, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$71
PricelineUS$73
Ctrip.comUS$142
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates