We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Showing 401: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in the shared bunkhouse cabin. Great camp kitchen and facilities located nearby. Quiet peaceful location within walking distance to the information centre. Fantastic value for money, I will be definately be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseyshell
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Rosey! We do hope you have the opportunity to return to Cradle Mountain.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in family cabin. 6 beds only 2 towels And 4 bunks with no towels no sheets. Below average accom. In need of a refurb. Lights not working , heater turning off. Dusty curtains need a wash cabin needs a air out. Still stayed and didn't complain but very basic accom. Only used cabin can't comment on any other facilities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dejaVu2885
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear of your experience with our cabin, please be assured this will be addressed with the team. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We tent-camped for 2 nights in Feb 2017. Lovely friendly staff, loaning us blankets on the second night when we discovered our sleeping bags weren't up to scratch. The way that the camping sites are arranged meant it felt very private, even though the camp was full. Had a family of Pademelons living in the bush beside us, so that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gosnm
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear you appreciated our hospitality and amenities. Thank you for sharing your review of your stay!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We camped and the facilities were good. Great camp kitchen and lots of amenities The amenity block could do with a face lift especially the showers but they are adequate Reception helpful and friendly and our camp site the ground was uneven so they swopped it for a flat one without any problem

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1234Col
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed what was available at our park.

Churchill, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Stayed for 4 nights in female 4 bed share in bunk room. The share kitchen, toilet/showers were well maintained and clean. Walls in bunk room were very thin but I didn't have any problems sleeping. Most people went to bed early for early hiking or early travelling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you had a good nights sleep and that you were comfortable in the accommodation, Margaret. Thank you for your feedback!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Park is nice with good facilities and located very conveniently in Cradle Mountain. The only complain is that it is very noisy in the economy cabins. These cabins are all connected to each other with very thin walls, every movement inside the cabins makes a lot of noise, sleeping is close to impossible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lloyd255100
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of the cabin, but glad that you enjoyed the facilities and the location. Thank you for sharing your review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 February 2017

You are to stay in one of the best places in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain National Park offers beautiful sceneries with easy - advances walking tracks. Discovery Parks offers convenient rooms, great location and very reasonable prices!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nosimonov
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're happy to know that you appreciated the location and we were convenient for your stay in the area. Thank you for your review!

Reviewed 9 February 2017

This was an excellent place to camp. We only stayed overnight but the staff were welcoming and friendly, the faciities are everything you need and clean. The camp kitchen was brilliant with a communal wood fire and friendly conversation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blitzen123
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear that camping was pleasant and our facilities had everything you needed for your stay. Thank you for the review!

Murdunna, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We stayed on an unpowered site for 3 nights. The amenities block was a good walk away, the camp kitchen closer. There was lots of very hot water for showers and washing dishes. The camp kitchen was warm, with a lovely log fire burning all day. We enjoyed meeting other people in the kitchen, sharing travel and living experiences. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you had a positive experience socialising with other guests and sharing stories - probably one of the best parts about life on the road! Thank you for sharing your feedback on our facilities and sites, Jennifer. We're glad that you came back for another stay.

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Don't stay in the budget family rooms if you want to get some sleep. The bunk beds are metal and squeak LOUDLY every time someone moves or turns over, waking everyone up all night. They are expensive for what you get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the family rooms at our park, Steve. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further, please feel free to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review.

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
4.7 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
952 reviews
3.7 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
691 reviews
4.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,146 reviews
62.4 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
343 reviews
58.8 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: RM290 - RM700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Geelong, Australia
10 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins were very private and nestled among the trees and wildlife.”
  • Paddymelon taken from the window of my bedroom.
  • Our little 2 bedroom cabin.
77kaya, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early in peak periods to avoid disappointment as Accommodation is limited in Cradle Mountain.”
normanh414, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bunk rooms (1-12 )have their own kitchen attached, whereas the shared bunk rooms (13-18) have facilities a minutes walk away.”
roseyshell, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The unpowered sites were great.”
gosnm, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We camped and all the sites were well positioned”
1234Col, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5