We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,860: English reviews
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

There should be a rule that any establishment that provides a dusty CD player and a single cd as the only form of room entertainment, is automatically disqualified from anything above a 3 star rating. Add tired furniture, a kitchenette that was built in the 80s and an ugly timber lined entranceway and I call this 2 stars. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank NLB101
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our 2nd time here. Great place to stay. Cabins were very good, better than they look from the outside! The wood fire has now been upgraded to a gas "wood fire". So much easier and no smoke smell. The room is extremely comfortable. Saw paddy melons and a wombat wondering by from our room window. The walk to the main... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChrisT346
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was a great trip. Such a beautiful place to stay. Staff were amazing. The food was excellent and the cabin clean and warm and nice. A trip to the spa for a couples massage was amazing, the views were spectacular

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank melaniewP3245MS
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

It has been a long held dream that we could stay and experience this beautiful area in Tasmania once our children had grown up because it is too expensive for most families. I understand that. Our accomodation is very comfortable but for 2 couples it is difficult with one toilet in a bathroom. Beds and room service are perfect. We... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank silvertailvixen
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear silvertailvixen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that the beds and room service are perfect in your family cabin. However, please accept my apologies regarding your comprehensive dissatisfaction with your Tavern dining experience. I have shared this feedback with our Head Chef for his immediate attention and... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at Peppers Cradle Mountain last week for 2 nights in a Pencil Pine cabin. The room was clean and spacious. The bed comfortable and the balcony a nice spot for an afternoon sundowner. We ate breakfast in the lodge both mornings - it was an average spread but I was very disappointed that the scrambled eggs were powdered.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine H
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kristine H, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that we were able to assist you with a memorable holiday on the whole. It disappoints me to hear you believe that our free-range North West Tasmanian eggs we use for scramble are 'powdered'. There are some condensation issues... More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Lovely staff and a real wilderness feel make this a great place to stay. It's 'luxury' without feeling stuck up and is extremely comfortable. Different dining options make it affordable for all and the complimentery port made a perfect ending to a long day!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helena B
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Helena B, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are so happy to hear we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincere best wishes, Oliver and the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Team More 

Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Peaceful, well catered for, comfortable and warm.the cabin was great tucked into the bush with paddy melons wallaby s and wombats wondering by The main lodge catered very well for food and beverage The walks were magical

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank K4284KGrossm
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear K4284KGrossm, Thank you for taking the time to share your perfect review of your recent stay with us. We are glad we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday, and look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge soon. Sincere best wishes, Oliver and the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Team More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only thing that was good about this experience was the nature walks and wildlife. Rooms are over priced and considering the price underwhelming in creature comforts. Example is at $650 p/n I would like to option of leaving a TV switched off rather than nothing. Meals were ordinary and again over priced, disappointing considering all the Peppers facilities we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Chris F, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our restaurant. Our Head Chef will certainly address your feedback with his Team Members. I am also disappointed to hear that you were not happy that there are no TVs in... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge is located right next door to the National Park. We stayed in the spa cabin which is secluded and surrounded by beautiful bushland. You have wallabies on your verandah with joey in pouch, just magical. The room is large, comfortable king size bed with a beautiful fire place. So very relaxing, you can take some of the most... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Louise B, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our restaurant. Our Maitre d' will certainly address this with his Team Members. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really disappointing stay here and Definitely not a 4 star resort. Our kitchenette was dirty, I had to wash everything before use, bathroom looked like it had come from the 1990s with a horrible looking spa (that we paid an extra $40 to have), the water pressure was so slow that it took 27mins to fill the bath up above... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nking24
Oliver S, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear nking24, Firstly I would like to apologise that the experience you had while staying with us was not up to our usual standard. If you can please send us an email to cradlemountain@peppers.com.au with your contact details, arrival date and the name the room was booked under we would like the opportunity to address your concerns in more detail.... More 

983 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (958)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (248)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (388)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2.5 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
871 reviews
39.5 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
82 reviews
2.2 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
640 reviews
1.9 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
374 reviews
66.2 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. Road Closures: There are a number of road closures around Tasmania at the moment that are affecting accessibility to Cradle Mountain. The Kimberley bridge in between Elizabeth town and Railton on the B13 is closed until further notice as the bridge has collapsed. The C138 from Mole Creek to Gowrie Park is inaccessible as the road has been closed due to the recent flooding. The C137 however from Mole Creek through Paradise just outside of Sheffield is open and a good way to bypass around the closures. For additional information please refer to the Tas police and Kentish council websites to get the most up to date information. As mentioned, if this could be worded “Getting to Cradle Mountain” and on the first page of the website. For more information feel free to contact us on (03) 6492 2100. Drive safe and see you soon! ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: RM898 - RM2,912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a Spa Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles Tropicalshowers, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were very happy with our cabin room which was close to the main building for dinner and breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Fletcherdillo, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about the other cabins but we loved the spa cabins. Bed was super comfortable. Set out was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Littleauzzee, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a unit close to the lodge in case of inclement weather”
 of 5 bubbles hughie731, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We only dined at the Bistro, so can not say”
 of 5 bubbles 548juliek, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay