We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Hotels.comUS$122*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$122*
US$123*
US$122*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 233: English reviews
Start your review of Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The chalet was decent, but overpriced… The overarching memory was the host that managed to make us feel very unwelcome. Got the feeling she hated me when I checked in? And her mood had only got worse when I saw her the next day. Really was quite unsettling. The extra treats in our room, that people rave about on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is located right in Derwent Bridge about 7km from Lake St Clair. Our chalet was really well designed with a large entrance/laundry which would be great with dirty, wet bushwalking gear. A large wood heater made the place cosy. We noted some things that gave this place the edge: black out thick blinds, good for morning sleep-ins and warmth,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tassylass
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room adequate but nothing special...best thing going for it is scarcity of alternative accomodation nearby. Most striking thing is rudeness of the owner Louise, much commented upon I noticed. Without notice, charged an extra $50 and when I rang to enquire about the charge on our credit card, was told that because we used the blankets from one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awilliams2017
Perentie, Guest Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

After the abusive call regarding the charge, I see you have made good with your threat to post negative reviews. Had you used the blankets off the beds you were using, the charge would never have happened. No person would be happy if they found their bedding had been tampered with by a previous guest, so the linen must be...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are happy to be barked at and accused of making noise at the door and told not to use certain things (you paid for) at the end of a long drive to your accomodation stay here. If you don't like working somewhere, leave. simple as that. i would suggest this be addressed if you don't want to lose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikF
Adelaide South Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Drove for 4 hours through heavy rain, winding hills and low visibility. Arrived at accommodation at 2:50pm for a 3pm check in. Owner barked at us "CHECK IN TIME IS 3pm." We were then made to wait outside until the dot of 3pm. Information was gathered and the owner (Louise) then instructed us to drive our vehicle to the car...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ArianaT
Perentie, Guest Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

Check in time is adhered to as 3pm to ensure we have all accommodation cleaned ready for guests.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok, so the chalet was great. Everything you could need. Found the lady who checked us in and showed us the room had attitude. Would I stay there again? No! Only because she made the experience disappointing but by all means if this place suits you then go for it. It was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterJ112
Picton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At a busy season we were grateful to get a chalet and expected very basic conditions. The external impression wasn't great, but inside the chalet was very welcoming. Very clean and comfortable, and very well supplied with kitchen facilities. Generous continental breakfast available. There is very little accommodation in the district and even fewer places to eat, so we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loreen B
Randwick, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in the Byron Chalet and found the cabin very clean and well appointed. Good bathroom facilities and laundry. Although we didn't self cater it was within short distance to the Derwent Bridge Hotel where we had our meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janis1246
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We made a booking at 5pm for 2 nights, then reassessed our travel arrangements and rang right on 9am next morning. Literally close of business one day to office open next. Was told under no uncertain terms we would forfeit our deposit if we changed. My god this woman needs to do a customer service course. It's not what she...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue M
Perentie, Guest Relations Manager at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

Rooms are only entered during a stay when booked for more than one night. Bins are emptied to ensure they do not smell and essentials checked (toilet paper, tissues) to ensure adequate supply. Similar servicing is done in most accommodation establishments.

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

The chalets are pleasant enough and do what they are meant to. The price is high but normal for the area. There is not that much accom around and its often booked out. The female owner is grumpy and rude and makes about a 1% effort to hide her rudeness and general contempt for her paying customers. Laughable just how...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rodgtraveller

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.8 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
345 reviews
21.6 km away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
103 reviews
3.7 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
25.5 km away
Tarraleah Lodge
Tarraleah Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tarraleah
146 reviews
0.0 km away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Price Range: RM585 - RM805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go up the road to Bronte Park Chalets!”
Barkb, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All are good however we had one at the back it maybe quieter”
andrewrostron, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chalets are varying layout but close to each other.”
I4862AMbrianb, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You cannot pick a good room; they don't have any.”
sybilsch, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“A range of cabins accommodating couples to families is available. Best check their home page to decide what suits your needs”
234leslies, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$122* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$123
Hotwire.comUS$122
TripAdvisorUS$123
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates