We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
See the most recent reviews
Showing 212: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We spent two days (January 3 and 4, 2015) in a chalet at this property to break our journey from Stanley (over Queentown) to Hobart. We had also spent a few days here before in 2012. Chalets are very comfortable, quiet, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The hosts (Louise and John) were very welcoming and informative. It is a perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annetjl
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

Beautifully appointed cabin with all the necessities and more!! Loved the coffee, port and choccies. Hospitable owners accommodating a last minute extra guest and giving lots of information about the stunning local area. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Exactly as advertised. Which is always a relief. The room was very clean and tidy, the owner helpful. Very close to Lake St Clair and the parks office. The local pub does excellent meals. It was very quiet despite being on a main highway. The only thing I didn't like, was Being required to leave my credit card details handwritten,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2015

What an excellent place to choose for our overnight stop on route to Hobart. From the first greeting from John when we checked in, until we checked out the next day, nothing was to much. The Chalets are spotless, very well equipped kitchen and lovely hot showers too. Not only were John's recommendations of the local areas/treks and eateries spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skitrip20142014
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Owner was very nice and helpful. The accommodation was very clean and had everything (even washing machine and dryer). Bed was very comfortable. The location is good - very close to Lake St Clair. On arrival we were given ground coffee and wine which was a nice too. We had our own fireplace which the owner started for us and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Excellent location a short drive to lake St. Clair. We saw wallabies, wombats and an echidna. The owner is very nice, he asked where we were going for the rest of our trip and recommended a route, travel time, highlights, places to stop and how long each stop was likely to take, very useful. Fantastic ground coffee to use in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

Hello again, We really do appreciate the kind words offered here. It is our aim for ALL guests to enjoy their stay with us and you do us proud by acknowledging the fact in such a high profile forum. Thank you. Regarding the coffee. It is Columbian Dark - a gold medal winning coffee; set your grinder to "plunger" and...

Singapore
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Studio Cabins were reasonable. But hosts does not seem very friendly when we checked in and checked out. It was stated that there is internet wifi but hosts frowned upon knowing we had 5 devicesmthat may be connected to wifi. They stated that the wifi are free but not limitless free and we should only use internet wifi for email...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ChoongWee
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

Greetings from the Central Highlands of Tasmania, Many years ago, we experienced "Road Rage" for the very first time - it was frightening. Now, we have just experienced our first "WiFi Rage". A most unpleasant experience indeed! Merry Christmas everybody, John & Louise Owners

Adelaide
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We had a studio, which was very clean, comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed. It also had nice touches such as DVD's, chocolates, coffee and port. The appliances were very high quality, and the whole place was extremely well looked after. The property is close to Lake St Clair Visitors centre, so very convenient. Even though on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pasqualie
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

When we reached Derwent Bridge we realized that there is a hotel in town that offers same kind of accommodation but much cheaper than the chalets. We made the mistake to pay for breakfast which was 13$/person for 2 pieces of bread with jam,orange juice and milk (a ripoff in my view). However the place was clean and cosy and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andra4
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review

Greetings from the "Bull's Eye of Tasmania", Our continental breakfast offering is actually a choice of 3 x different juices, 2 x types of bread, butter, 7 x spreads, 5 x cereals and 2 x milk, for a cost of $13 per person - hardly a "Rip off" and certainly the best value in our part of the world. Others...

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Derwent Bridge Chalets was the perfect accommodation for our family. The Chalet was the perfect size to be comfortable in with our family, plus we were provided with items, like a cot, high chair and change table for our infant, which made life even easier. Staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derwent Bridge
0.8 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
322 reviews
1.5 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
338 reviews
21.5 km away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
25.5 km away
Tarraleah Lodge
Tarraleah Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tarraleah
140 reviews
0.0 km away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Hwy, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Price Range: RM572 - RM831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go up the road to Bronte Park Chalets!”
 of 5 bubbles Barkb, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All are good however we had one at the back it maybe quieter”
 of 5 bubbles andrewrostron, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chalets are varying layout but close to each other.”
 of 5 bubbles I4862AMbrianb, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You cannot pick a good room; they don't have any.”
 of 5 bubbles sybilsch, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“A range of cabins accommodating couples to families is available. Best check their home page to decide what suits your needs”
 of 5 bubbles 234leslies, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay