We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barclay Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Barclay Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barclay Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

"The Cottage" is opposite the main Motor Inn (stand alone). It was fabulously clean and tidy with beautiful gardens. There was a BBQ available if needed and the house was roomy with plenty of heating. A kitchen to die, 3 bedroom/2 bathroom - peaceful and quiet. We loved every minute of our stay. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debra J
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really appreciate your comments about your stay in "The Cottage" and so glad you enjoyed everything about your stay. I have passed on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area. More 

Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I spent two nights with my children at the Motor Inn. The location was great, central to everything and within walking distance to Supermarkets, City Centre, river and beaches. The kids had a great time in the heated pool, which was beautiful and warm as they keep a cover over it during winter months. Room was so clean and warm,... More 

Helpful?
Thank darrenbrandenburg
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is so pleasing to us to read such a wonderful review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Barclay. I have passed on your comments to the team regarding their friendly and helpful service. We look forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service next... More 

Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Paper thin walls meant I heard every car that came and went & voices from the room next door. Heating not adequate for room - a portable fan heater and an oil column heater. Linen did not feel clean (greasy was the best way to describe it) and I couldn't bear to lay on it so went and bought bedding... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1200kmfromhome
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping team. If Reception was advised of your concerns you would have been offered a change of linen or a different room as our aim is to provide excellent service and a great place... More 

Travellers are raving about these Devonport hotels

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Our visit was disappointing, check-in was pleasant but our room was very cold on arrival. We had booked weeks ago so it might have been nice to have the column heater plugged in and going. There was also a small fan heater but I was reluctant to have this on for very long. The room was dated but very clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna O
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. More 

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Reception were welcoming, everything was clean and really good kitchen facility's. Great space to move around and we were able to pick mum up from a Devonport nursing home and spend some family time together. Thank You Barclay Motor Inn. They had great laundry facilities as well, I will know for next time!

Helpful?
Thank 329roslync
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and spent some quality family time together. We take pride in the Barclay and the services we provide and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016

After a bad experience in Launceston last year we were a little concerned that this would be a repeat however as we were not arriving into the city until after 10 p/m we just looked for the best reviews. We booked and the day before we left Brisbane we got a phone call advising on how we could get into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grant S
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, it is great to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the Barclay. Our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and little common courtesies like putting the heater on before your arrival is all part of the... More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Deluxe unit Pros: - plenty of space in room - kitchen area new, with cutlery and bowls/plates etc - kitchen and bathroom clean and tidy Cons: - dated - curtains let light in around both windows - thin walls (could hear guests next door and people in car park) - I don't like shower curtains - trains cross streets nearby... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dean E
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we are glad you found your room spacious, clean and the kitchen well equipped. We have an ongoing improvement program and are continually making upgrades to make our guest's stay more comfortable. All our rooms have electric blankets on beds and a portable or fitted wall heater is... More 

Baxter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Courteous reception staff. Room very spacious and bathroom fantastic size with plenty of bench space. Bed very comfortable. Unit exceptionally clean and lacked nothing. We were only staying one night before going on the Spirit of Tasmania the next night. Wished we could have spent more nights at this first class motel at a very affordable price.

Helpful?
Thank KAVlasveld
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I have passed on your comments to our staff who are grateful to have a positive feedback. We look forward to hosting you again another time. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Clean and tidy hotel. Freshly painted on outside and very tidy gardens. Bit outdated inside but clean and tidy. Heated pool was a bonus especially travelling with kids and opening hours. Central to all amenities. Parking of vehicle right outside yr room. Close enough to walk to shops and amenities.

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have a continuous improvement program and are currently upgrading garden areas, have repainted the inside and outside of pool area, new surfacing and fencing of our tennis court, which you noticed, thank you. I have passed on your comments to our great housekeeping team and hopefully when you stay at the Barclay again you... More 

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016

The unit/apartment was clean and tidy. Good heating, electric blankets, well equipped kitchen. There were four of us and the unit could hold another two. The only complaint is that the pillows are not high enough so it would be a good idea to bring your own. The pool at 28 degrees was warm enough considering it was cold outside.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
barclaydevonport, Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. It really makes a difference to us and its encouraging to know we are moving in the right direction. We always have spare pillows and blankets in the bedroom cupboards in case guests require extras. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming... More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devonport hotels
0.9 km away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
431 reviews
0.4 km away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
65 reviews
1.0 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
#5 of 5 in Devonport
86 reviews
0.3 km away
Dannebrog Lodge
Dannebrog Lodge
#2 of 15 in Devonport
87 reviews
1.2 km away
Discovery Parks - Devonport
Discovery Parks - Devonport
#1 of 14 in Devonport
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"A Nice Place To Stay". The Barclay Motor Inn has a choice of clean and comfortable accommodation options to suit most travellers. There are motel style units, studio apartments, two-bedroom apartments, an executive two-bedroom apartment, and a three bedroom cottage that is perfect for either larger families or two couples travelling together. There is an indoor heated pool and half court tennis and basketball to entertain the children and the "young-at-heart." FOXTEL is also provided, and FREE WI-FI. The Barclay Motor Inn is ideally located in a quiet residential area and in walking distance to the CBD of Devonport and several eateries. 7 minutes drive to the Spirit of Tasmania terminal and 12 minutes from Devonport Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay Motor Inn

Address: 112 North Fenton Street, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Price Range: RM411 - RM558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barclay Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barclay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barclay Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All units are quiet with parking at your door.”
 of 5 bubbles RayH904, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Believe the pool is fabulous too, but we didn't get a chance to find out - too busy!”
 of 5 bubbles 369debraj, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room was a few streets out of town, very friendly staff. Rooms at the back really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 329roslync, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“we had a studio so not sure on the bigger rooms but the studio was bigger than a normal hotel room and had a kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles 886grants, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms can be requested depending on number staying”
 of 5 bubbles TimMangan, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay