We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 302: English reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The sites seemed to be quite well organised in terms of layout and they did have a semi undercover camp kitchen area which wasn't hideous however these were the only redeemable qualities we observed at the place. We arrived very late at night and so we set up on an unpowered site (as we did all over TAS). We went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura R
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Laura, Yes, we remember you well. Prebooking is a normality during summer high season, then you would have been privy to all of the facilities provided at the park. This park is a private business and bookings are advised and necessary in peak season. You were fortunate to find a site free at this time. Yes, check out/ check...

Chatswood, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

High season. Packed like sardines! Caravans and motorhomes side by side don't work. Doing a multi day trip around tasmania. Our neighbors caravan door opened within 2 meters of our motorbike door. Unable to put up our awning and enjoy the views due to close proximity. We were squeezed between to oversized caravan trailers, whose cars constantly encroached on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheba2015
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Sheba, Thank you for your feedback. Yes, high season there normally is a high volume of traffic coming to enjoy this beautiful part of the world. A good tip; you may have been able to reverse your motorhome so the door opened the opposite way, therefore, the neighbours would not have been so 'cosy'. Another option would have been...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff and gorgeous views from the park. We had a powered site which was partially grass but mostly dirt and were unlucky enough to have struck some serious wind which covered everything in dirt. Not the park's fault but I personally wouldn't use a tent there again. Basic outdoor kitchen. Super clean toilets - I'd love to know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trajasjem
Iluka_Holiday, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our dedicated team work hard to keep our facilities super clean in all respects, & its wonderful you acknowledge them. Kind Regards, The Front Office Manager

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Not a bad park - close to town amenities. The park amenities were quite good - $40/night for a powered site. There are some lovely views from some parts of the park of Coles Bay. The manager/owner wasn't overly friendly and it seemed as if each family were just another $$ in the park. Wouldn't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtaindweller
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello There, Thank you for your feedback. Pleased you found the park acceptable. Each and every guest we highly value when they book and stay at Iluka, and are certainly not viewed as a monetary value, your comment is distasteful and incorrect. It is unfortunate that you have interpreted efficiency for unfriendliness. Kind Regards, The General Manager

Victor Harbor, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2016

We stayed here for a week on a powered site. I’ve read a lot of other reviews and I can’t help think that people are relating their experiences with the area rather than actually the Park. There is nothing wrong with this Park but it is more on the average scale and 3 stars rather than higher. Some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review Peter. Hope you continue to enjoy your caravan travels around Australia. Kind Regards, Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Excellent amenities and a pub, restaurant, shop and fuel stop all in walking distance. All toilets and showers were clean. Perfect spot for the national park and for sunsets over Coles Bay. Really enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barrettg41
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for submitting feedback, it is much appreciated. And we are extra happy you enjoyed your stay & the the stunning surrounds. Kind Regards, General Manager

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I had to pay for a powered site at the expense of $40 even though I don't need power (I booked late so I can accept that). After picking up the key and driving through to our camp site, I then understood why we couldn't book an unpowered site, SCHOOLIES. They were noisy till late (midnight), then started making noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Jason, Sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. It was a school group, not 'schoolies' staying whilst you were here. Procedures were put in place to inform guests of a schoolgroup staying, this is our normal routine, unfortunately, it seems the information was not relayed to you. When we do accommodate school groups the amenity block is cleaned...

Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We stayed at the Big 4 Iluka for 2 nights and we had a great time. The campsite is beautifully located near the Freycinet National Park. The staff was very friendly and could answer all our questions. I would definitely recommend the campsite to everyone who likes walking/hiking in the National park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheyenneleto
Iluka_Holiday, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello There, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review we very much appreciate it. The park is in a stunning location we agree, and glad you enjoyed your experience and stay. Happy Travelling

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Great holiday! Checked in and were suprised on how big the rooms were. A very nice tight nit park close to shops/ beaches and relatively close to all the walks aswell. Still had a view half way up the hill from the chalet. Will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Emily, Many thanks for your glowing positive feedback, & we are really happy you enjoyed your holiday stay. We will enjoy welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, The General Manager

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

At the reception they have been really rude, they didn't suggest us the unpowered place because It was so cheap, inventing a story, because there were some Kids. We asked where we can buy some food and they said the only one supermarket is just around the corner. Of course, same business, and the supermarket was with poor choise and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank domenico g
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Domenico, Clearly, you were not happy with your stay. Unfortunately, your comments are untrue. The facts are; -There was a school group occupying the unpowered sites, no story invented. -The time you checked in, 6PM, there was only one supermarket open, it is a separate business to the park. - You were more than welcome to get 2 amenity...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
27.8 km away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
363 reviews
17.7 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
433 reviews
2.3 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
1,003 reviews
7.5 km away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
93 reviews
27.6 km away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Price Range: RM365 - RM634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Coles Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to find another place to stay”
Deblezuu, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Depending on what you're after I'd ask to be in an area that isn't sitting on top of your neighbour.”
Sherpa123, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“they have got also units on the premises”
750heiked, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else if you can”
nedrow5791, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher located cabins have a better view of the ocean”
w0nderlust76, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5