We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sawmill Creek Resort

Hotels.comUS$96*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$99*
US$96*
Great Deal
US$99*
US$99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sawmill Creek Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sawmill Creek Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
Lansing
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We arrived to slow check-in. One clerk checking in a line of 20 folks. Got to the room and we were greeted by a foul smell of stale water or mold. Found the carpet in the room was filthy to the point it was sticky when you walked on it. The room was dated. We checked out a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

I would like to talk to you more about your stay. If you would like to email me, my email is hfletcher@sawmillcreekresort.com. Thank you for your review and I hope to talk to you soon. Thank you.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The rooms are definitely dated - older carpeting, bathrooms that need some serious attention. Furthermore, electrical outlets are overloaded: four plugs are routinely plugged into a single duplex outlet (lamp, TV, cablebox, and desk powerstrip). I'm surprised the fire chief allows this in a commercial structure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would be happy to have you back in the future after our updates in the winter. Thank you again.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

During our project working in Sandusky Ohio, we came across the Saw Mill Creek Resort for our employees to stay during the duration of the project. Greg Hill was Amazing at getting us the rooms we needed as well as all of his staff. Everything during our stay was dead on perfect and very spot on when ever we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy Z
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Randy! We absolutely loved working with you and your group and would love to have you back for future stays! Thank you again!

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Visited the Sawmill Creek Resort for a conference. The employees were great. Conference center was nice. Hotel rooms need to be updated. One bed in my room seemed like it was going to fall off its legs. Rooms need help. Was nit the cleanest either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the conference center. I will make housekeeping aware of your concerns and make sure we fix that. Thank you again!

Chicago
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

if you don't mind traveling into the past, this was probably a very posh spot in the 60's/70's. we enjoyed the grounds...definitely worth walking the nature trail, the beach and the marina. Our schedule didn't allow for golf or trying any of the hotel restaurants (other than for planned brunch, where the food and coffee were mediocre). The smells from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T8046FYnancyg
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review! We're sorry to hear that you weren't able to enjoy some of The Salmon Run's food. It truly is amazing! We are, however, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and some of our outdoor amenities. We'd love to have you back at your own leisure so you can enjoy some of...

Salina, Kansas
Reviewed 24 September 2016

An absolute wonderful stay. Suite was spacious and comfortable. Dining was very good with great menu choices. Grounds were neat and manicured. Easy access to golf course and lake area. Staff was so courteous . We took the Saturday afternoon wine tour and had a blast. Our shuttle driver was awesome. Enjoyed the leisure time on the beach. ........... Yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grega37
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the wine tour! Our drivers are more like guides, they're amazing! Thank you again and we can't wait to have you back!

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Booking in TripAdvisor was easy, but upon arrival we wanted to upgrade our room & denied the opportunity. We were told there was no way to make any changes. I am not sure who's fault it is that it was so difficult, but either way it was very very frustrating. An upgrade should not be so difficult. The resort overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyKTonTheRoad
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! Sorry to hear about your trouble while checking for a room upgrade. Without knowing the situation I unfortunately do not have any answers. But again, thank you for your review and we would love to have you back sometime soon!

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at Sawmill while attending a meeting in their conference center. To call this place a resort is a bit of a stretch - more like a dated motel with some amenities, many of which were low budget or broken. First the high points: a decent restaurant (Salmon Run) for lunch with very pleasant staff and a resident...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewelross
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities that we offer. However, we are upset that you didn't get to fuller enjoy the resort. We will take all of our suggestions to heart and I will forward along everything to the appropriate department head. We do have some scheduled...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

I visited this stunning resort the weekend of August 20th for one of my best friends wedding...WOW! Everything was top notch. I left a few personal items in the room and the housekeeping department were able to retrieve my belongings and contacted me. They mailed them back to me in NC in less than a week. Thank you for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to have you back!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I stayed at Saw Mill Creek the nights of August 5-6, 2016. The afternoon of the 6th I discovered 10s and 10s of bed bug bites and reported it to the front desk. I spoke with the Manager of Food & Beverage and was chastised because I did not call earlier in the day when the exterminator was there. And...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Xigera2005
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a protocol that we must follow when there is a claim such as yours. This is to ensure that we take proper action if indeed bed bugs are found in a room. The exterminator is called because he is a professional and has been thoroughly trained to find such bugs. If the exterminator...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
5.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
7.7 km away
Castaway Bay
Castaway Bay
#9 of 35 in Sandusky
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839
Region: United States > Ohio > Huron
Price Range: RM523 - RM1,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sawmill Creek Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Sawmill Creek Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room is nice and priced accordingly. Would love a room with the hot tubs!”
MaryKRBOAT, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have problems walking, book a room near the one and only elevator.”
rondat777, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to another hotel!-”
cblackst2016, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Only one elevator and the rooms are pretty spreadout , so the second floor rooms are difficult for elderly.”
TCalvey, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room somewhere else”
emasonry1, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$96* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$99
PricelineUS$99
TripAdvisorUS$96
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates