We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 355: English reviews
Sterling Heights, MI
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The hotel is the old Sheraton and it's not new, but it's still clean and safe. When I checked in, Michelle at the front desk upgraded me to the 5th floor (concierge level). That was so sweet of her! I was once a frequent traveler who had gold cards with all the major hotel chains. In the past two years,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service and...

Reviewed 21 October 2016

This property exudes class and comfort. I was at the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South for a fund raiser and my friend and I stayed over. From the beginning to the end, the staff was terrific! Stephanie (sales & catering), Amanda (event staff), Jason (front desk) and the bartender in the restaurant (Aura Bistro) and our event bartender & servers were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YaYaYoung
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your...

Ajax
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I was very disappointed when I booked this hotel and then asked for them to take into consideration a medical issue that had come up not even 5 hours later that wold make it hard for me to travel 5 hours to the hotel. They right away would not consider my medical condition and when I called directly to speak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. I am deeply disappointed to hear of your displeasure with Price line's no cancel no changes no refund policy. Joe Isernia General Manager

Heber City, Utah
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Central Location...close to downtown. Rooms were a nice size. There were some small maintenance and housekeeping issues have been overlooked that but over all a nice stay! The indoor pool and hot tub were nice! Front desk check it was fast and friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adraval
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

The amenities for the conference were fantastic. The hospitality room where we had a pot luck dinner was adequate. Too bad there was not a kitchen. The lunch and dinner buffets down stairs were elegant.The staff was most helpful. My hotel room was good, except for the dark lighting Hard to see to put makeup on, and see yourself in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the crowne plaza for two nights. Room was clean, beds comfortable. Air conditioning worked great. It was a little hard to find driveway at night coming from West. Location off interstate was convient. East to get to Indians game, and Cleveland zoo. Variety of places to eat are close to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to your return visit. Joe Isernia General Manager

North Oaks, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 September 2016

When I think of Crown Plaza I think of an upscale lodging facility. From the outside this may look ok but it certainly needs to undergo a major renovation to be considered a real Crown Plaza Hotel. The room was good sized, shower was fine, bed was ok but the furnishings were certainly dated. My wife liked the separate lighted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich J
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Independence. I am sorry to hear you experienced some difficulty while staying with us. We do hope that in future stays, we are able to provide a better service to you. Joe Isernia General Manager

Westerville, Ohio
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This hotel is advertised as a smoke free hotel. Upon entering our room there was a rather substantial cigarette odor. Rather than saying anything, we sprayed some Febreeze throughout the room and decided to deal with it. The hotel is situated in such a manor that it is rather difficult to get to. The wi-fi, although free, was terribly spotty....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wesley L
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services...

Leland, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Based on several recent reviews, I was prepared for the worst. Thankfully, it didn't happen. Likes: Friendly, helpful staff. Medium sized room with two queen beds, two leatherette chairs, desk, nightstand, and luggage rack. Iron and ironing board. Coffee maker. Quality towels and toiletries. Lighted vanity mirror in bathroom. Indoor pool. Fitness center. Dislikes: Battle worn furnishings. Cracks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. Each survey we receive is reviewed and shared with every associate in an effort to improve the service and accommodations that we provide our guests....

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I feel buggy, many Ants in the room on the desk, night stand and even in the bed, leaking drain in the bathroom and not clean. Would not stay here!! The corners in the bathroom were gross. Overall out dated and in major need of a full overhaul!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loretta W
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments. Crowne Plaza has the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience. We take hotel hygiene and cleanliness very seriously. As a result, Crowne Plaza has established very strict standards of cleanliness for all its hotels that either meet or exceed public health department regulations, including pest control. Your...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
1.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Courtyard Cleveland Independence
Courtyard Cleveland Independence
#9 of 14 in Independence
78 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*Recognized by The Knot as a 2013 pick for Best of Weddings!*Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence. The only 4 Star full service property in Independence Ohio. Located on Rockside Road and I-77. The Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence is the perfect location for all your corporate and leisure events. We are 10 minutes from downtown Cleveland and in the heart of Independence Business District. The Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence is steps away from many corporate offices and office parks; including the Cleveland Clinic Independence Campus, IBM, Alcoa, Microsoft, and many more. For those wanting to get out and experience our great city of Cleveland, we are a short drive to the Great Lakes Science Center, Cleveland Browns Stadium, Progressive Stadium, Cleveland Cavaliers Quicken Loans Arena, Playhouse Square Theaters and the famous Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. You can find shopping in all directions. We are loaded with comforts and amenities, including 100% smoke free, complimentary airport shuttle and local shuttle, valet parking for registered guest, and fine dining experiences in Aura Bistro and Lounge. We have over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space along with 178 guest rooms. Our unique indoor pool is sure to please all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

Address: 5300 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Region: United States > Ohio > Independence
Price Range: RM430 - RM709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence Ohio
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Independence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Alliance, Ohio
11 months ago
Alliance, Ohio
11 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I really don't think there are any good rooms to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles mckzach, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor, but had no problem with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles kathiswann, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive continental breakfast only ran M-F, and was not good value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles dnalosh74, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a little freeway noise, although it's not too bad. You might ask for earplugs if you're sensitive to it.”
 of 5 bubbles professordoctormom, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As high up as possible and on the front side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles WesleyL642, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5