We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cherry Valley Lodge

Hotels.comUS$91*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$91*
US$91*
US$91*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Cherry Valley Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 392: English reviews
Start your review of Cherry Valley Lodge
 Click to rate
Berea, Ohio
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Attended an annual conference meeting from May 19, 2017 to May 21, 2017. They notified our conference chair on 2 days beforehand that their air conditioning in the entire place was not working and only gave us a $20 discount per room. We brought our own fans and struggled through the humidity. Staff was great. Don't know how they cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bkornuc
Triadelphia, West Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Air conditioning was not working, they ran out of towels, the room was dirty, and they had no fans to offer to compensate for the very hot rooms. One of the girls at the desk had to come up and clean our bathroom so we could shower. No managers were working because it was the weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljoni61
Hudson, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

i was there for a conference. Facility was fantastic. Employees were great. Landscaper is also the cook Bartender is HR and accounting Front desk needs help No air conditioning and temp was 80 in rooms. Manager(s) would not respond for my request about different room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddrenski
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a weekend in April. Staff were polite and friendly. Rates were very reasonable. The room was clean, but quite dated in appearance. The kitchen service closed rather early for a weekend (9PM?). There are limited options for food around the hotel. We did not have an opportunity to use the water park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The water park is filthy. My son woke up with some bumps on his legs even after giving him a shower right after he came out of the water. The room was even worse. Extremely outdated and the musty mildew smell was awful. We had a King bed with a pull out couch to sleep in. There were no extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irma A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thank god my dad works for Terminix I'm glad he knows things about nasty lamp shades and moldy carpet. I'm not one to complain, but I wouldnt recommended my worst enemy staying here. As soon as you walk in to this place, it screams a 70's nursing home. MY dad had his 12th birthday here, by the ways he's 45....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caleb B
Bernadette V, Manager at Cherry Valley Lodge, responded to this review

The hotel was built in 1993 with a lodge theme. This makes the lodge 24 not 33 years old. Most people love the lobby when they walk in, but, it is not for everyone's taste.

Portsmouth, Ohio
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I do not really know why people are complaining here. My room was less than $100 a night. They have an indoor pool and an indoor water park. Three of us stayed in one room. I took the kid to the water park and she went nuts. She cried when we left. We spent $140 total to stay and for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jRx2011
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Wifi didn't work in room. Peeling wall paper with only one working light in bathroom. My daughter and I woke up with sneezing fits and gphave major sinus issues from dust mites. Room smelled musty. Ate pizza in lobby cleaned up and asked front deck where we could put our trash. We were instructed to go to parking lot. Terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon S
Cincinnati
Reviewed 13 April 2017

used to a great place to go. No longer. Needs a major makeover! Staff so so, rooms smell musty, fabrics in room are worn, furniture is beat up, the once beautiful landscaping is in need of much TLC. Such a shame to see this once grand place drop so low. I wont go back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PatCincinnati
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Went there for my step daughter's birthday. We had a great time. My only complaint was that I couldn't get wi-if in our room. The staff was extremely helpful and my step daughter had a great time in the pool and at the water park! We will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki F

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
6.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
2.8 km away
Courtyard Newark Granville
3.8 km away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
3.7 km away
Buxton Inn
Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
54 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guest may choose from 200 comfortable guestrooms and Jacuzzi suites. Enjoy in room refrigerators, coffee makers, complimentary WiFi, and views of the courtyard and surrounding gardens. Indoor pool and Jacuzzi, exercise room or our full-service Banyan Leaf Spa can be enjoyed. Also featuring Sunflowers Restaurant and The Lodge Pub as well as The CoCo Key Indoor Waterpark. POPULAR NEARBY ATTRACTIONS: The CoCo Key Indoor Waterpark, Denison University, The Midland Theatre, The Works, The National Heisey Museum, Ye Olde Mill Ice Cream Parlour and Museum, National Trails Raceway, The Great Circle Earthworks & Ohio Indian Art Museum, The Longaberger Homestead ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cherry Valley Lodge

Address: 2299 Cherry Valley Rd SE, Newark, OH 43055-9393
Region: United States > Ohio > Newark
Price Range: RM427 - RM701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Valley Hotel Newark
Cherry Valley Newark
Cherry Valley Lodge Newark
Cherry Valley Lodge Ohio
Newark Lodge Cherry Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cherry Valley Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cherry Valley Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away till things are fixed”
ddrenski, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Call and book directly with the lodge if you plan on going to the Coco Key Water Resort! You get better rates.”
, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check the # of beds”
airslhome, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“None at this dump.”
msheltonwilloway, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 520. I would not book a room in the 100s as they are closest to the water park and a bit noisy in that hallway.”
893valeried, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$91
TripAdvisorUS$91
Hotwire.comUS$91
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates