We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,484: English reviews
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Whether your family is small or large, if you like water parks and good food, this is the place to spend Thanksgiving. This was our 2nd time spending Thanksgiving at Kalahari water park hotel and enjoying the Thanksgiving buffet. The hotel rooms, lobby, restaurants, water park, arcade, etc are kept nice and warm so that you can stay dressed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyArchitek
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We make holidays a big deal at Kalahari, so we're especially glad to hear you enjoyed it so much you came back a second year! We do a buffet for every holiday; Thanksgiving,Christmas, New Year's Eve, (we even have a big party!) Easter & Mother's Day. We keep the waterpark a warm 84 degrees & try to keep the rest...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Kalahari resort is such an experience! I have stayed there 4 times now and have never been disappointed in the rooms or water park. The water park also has a good blend of adult/ children entertainment. They had an adult Halloween party one year I went along with kids Halloween activities during the day. The drinks are delicious, try them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZaeCat
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience on each of your 4 visit with us! We try to have entertainment for our guests of every age children through adults so I am glad to hear you enjoy it! We look forward to seeing you again for a 5th visit!

Grand Rapids
Reviewed 1 December 2014

I took my four grandkids to this resort (9 to 16 years) for their Christmas Present and we had a great time. The place is huge with friendly help. Our room was a nice size for the 5 of us with fridge, microwave and coffee pot. We had free Wi-Fi, plenty of towels, coffee, and a large HD TV. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Tina! I'm just thrilled to hear that we were part of such a great trip for you & your grandkids! What a special time for you all! I'm glad to know that you enjoyed the room & amenities. We hope to see you & your grandchildren again! Thank you.

Reviewed 30 November 2014

My family of 6 stayed for 4 days, Wednesday to Saturday over the Thanksgiving holiday and for my son's 13th bday. It was our greatest visit yet! Every staff member we saw or encountered was friendly, smiling, and helpful. This trip exceeded our expectations. We were also in the exact same room we stayed in in August which the kids...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharkfamily6
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello Shark family! We are honored to have been part of your son's 13th Birthday celebration & hope to be part of your family's traditions for years to come. We appreciate your kind review & compliments especially regarding our staff. We have a holiday buffet for every holiday, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Eve, Easter & even Mother's Day! We thank...

Reviewed 30 November 2014 via mobile

We always love staying here at the kalahari resorts ! Rooms are always clean and surprisingly, we've always had quiet nights. I say surprisingly because of course, there are tons of families with little kids there. Always a clean and fun atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. : )

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dominique8410
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We appreciate the wonderful compliments Dominique. Thank you for being our guest & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewed 29 November 2014

There is so much to do. My kids love it it here. We swim, play and eat. Then there is a night club after the kids go to sleep. Leave the grandparents to quietness and for us to PARTY. I haven't tried the spa yet but that is the agenda for next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kewanna
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! I'm very happy to hear that you & your family had an awesome time! The Spa is a must, you won't be disappointed! See you soon!

Reviewed 27 November 2014

I love Kalahari. My family and I go every year sometimes twice a year. However this year I suffered from multiple bug bug bites. I reported it to the front desk. They claimed it was lady bug bites. My room had a few lady bugs on the walls and ceiling. Our clothing was steamed, we were moved to another room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travel4myfamily
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello! While I'm thrilled to hear that you & your family love Kalahari, I am disappointed to hear about your recent stay with us. Rest assured we take concerns of this nature very seriously, Our team is fully trained in identifying and preventing the spread of Bed Bugs. On a very rare occasion, a guest can bring bed bugs in,...

Reviewed 26 November 2014

My husband and I took our 3 children(11,11,13) to Kalahari for a 2 night stay over their Thanksgiving break. We were offered a room upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite at check in. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly, water park and rooms were very clean! Erdis was the gentleman in charge of cleaning our room and he did an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoriLSnydes
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Lori! We are just thrilled to know that you & your family had a great time during Thanksgiving break. I'm very happy to hear that our staff took great care of you I'll be sure to pass your compliments onto our management team. We would be honored to be part of your family's traditions & memories for years to...

Jackson, Mi
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Kalahari in the 2 bedroom suite (highly recommend!) we traveled with a 13 year old and a 15 year old. We all had a great time! Lots to do, food was pretty good and the resort was clean. The option to just charge everything to the room is a great feature so you don't have to attempt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank queengloriae
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear that your entire family had a great time & enjoyed the park & our restaurants. The room charge feature is very convenient. If at anytime you have an issue during your stay with noise please contact the Front Desk who will have Security check on it. We look forward to having you as our guest...

Broadview Heights, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 24 November 2014

This was my 2nd time at the park with my family and we enjoyed it very much. The waterpark is great with attractions for everyone (my kids are 2, 5, and 11). It was a little chilly though and the water was pretty cold in some areas. The guest rooms are starting to show some wear and tear though and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magda L
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello Magda! We are thrilled that this is your second visit with us! Return guests is the best compliment we can receive! I will be sure to pass your comments onto our Management Team & we appreciate you taking the time to review us! Thank you!

773 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (730)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (99)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (317)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
302 reviews
7.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.5 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: RM576 - RM1,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question
Michigan Center, Michigan
6 months ago

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Nomad room, which are closer to the lobby/waterpark which is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles H648KEjennifers, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Unfortunately there is little you can do if you get a loud neighbor.”
 of 5 bubbles Mspicer342, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you tell the truth with how many people will be in your room. The extra $25 includes the waterpark ticket.”
 of 5 bubbles carrie0817, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room far away from the elevator lobbies.”
 of 5 bubbles sharonbV5273JD, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Put the two throw pillows at the bottom of the front door to keep hallway noise down”
 of 5 bubbles loomis50, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5