We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Portland

Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hostel

70 reviews
Save
Traveller (9)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“single room”(2 reviews)
“free breakfast”(5 reviews)
“common areas”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Self-Serve Laundry
1.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (70)Write a Review
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
27
25
8
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
27
25
8
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomfree breakfastcommon areasstayed for nightsenjoyed my staydefinitely stay here againgreat place to staydormprivacyrail
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love Hostelling International because they don't allow drinking at most of their US locations and I like a more chill atmosphere rather than a party one. I found this hostel to be quaint and charming, and the staff was pretty helpful. It was clean,...More

Thank dayvasegal
Response from Talb0tW, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

I am so glad you enjoyed the vibe of our hostel! Our policy of not allowing alcohol and cannabis on site definitely helps keep our small hostel enjoyable for all types of travelers, and is not really a loss since we are in a great...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I suppose I’ve been quite lucky but I would rate this as the worst hostel I’ve stayed at. I wouldn’t go so far as to say it was the worst ever but I just really didn’t enjoy my stay at all and would not recommend...More

Thank happyaustralis
Response from Talb0tW, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. I noticed that you also posted a review on HostelWorld which did say that you thought the building was pretty and that you liked the neighborhood. We are actively...More

Reviewed 12 November 2017

Beware: if your plan changes from NO fault of your own, you will be charged. Recently, my flight into Portland was delayed 5 hours, which would've gotten me to the Hostel at 1am. At 6pm, I called to cancel my reservation: Lauren offered to postpone...More

Thank robt77burke
Response from Talbot W, Manager at Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne HostelResponded 16 November 2017

In order for the Tripadvisor reader to understand why you left a negative review. BTW-This is the second one, in addition to the first one on Yelp (feel free to see response there too) Just the facts: 1- Guest Made a review online (with the...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

The hostel is a very cosy looking house located in a cool area of Portland. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed. The bathroom was old and a bit dirty but okay. In the morning free pancake breakfast was offered. Despite all these...More

1  Thank Tessatessatessatessa
Response from Talb0tW, Manager at Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne HostelResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to make a review. I'm sorry you did not like our alcohol policy. I totally understand where you are coming from, I surely enjoy a great PDX microbrew myself. FYI- we do have almost weekly hosted events at the hostel...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017

The room at the basement is like living in the basement going downstairs. The location was very nifty, and I even enjoyed a terrific four-night stay in this Hostel, just in time for the extended 4th of July weekend. Not bad at all, wasn't it?

Thank DennisAlabaso
Response from Talb0tW, Manager at Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne HostelResponded 18 September 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to leave a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! -Talbot HI- Portland Hawthorne Hostel Manager

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345614
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (9)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dogsong4
5 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Talb0tW | Property representative |
Hello, thanks for your inquiry. We do have a Family room that has a double bed and set of bunks. I would recommend emailing or calling the hostel directly for availability ASAP as we book the room quickly. Take... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Best views with some quieter floors where available."
Read review
"Private rooms face the main road, so there's some traffic noise from there"
Read review
"6-bed mixed dorm has windows and easy access to bathrooms"
Read review
"Book early to guarantee the private room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite