We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205

Expedia.comUS$77*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$79*
US$77*
US$79*
US$79*
US$77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I have been staying here for 20+ years when I visit family in Portland. The current owners are doing a great job of improving the property and clientele. Dont freak out when they run a $100 deposit on your card. If you don't trash the room or steal something they will never charge you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Dear John R, Thank you for letting us know how impressed you with Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 hotel! I can't begin to express how much it means to our management and staff to hear from guests like yourself who have found our accommodations and services to be so welcoming and convenient throughout the years. We are all looking...

Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

The front desk person was very rude and couldn't be understood, the room had a foul odor and the shower had a leaking ceiling above it, the bed spread had cigarette burns in it, i will never go back to this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayaiken
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Dear jayaiken, Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. I am sorry for any rudeness that you encountered with this situation and I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our entire staff and management team to ensure that no similar...

Reviewed 27 November 2016

Loved my stay at this place, it was cold outside but very nice heater, has a stove, a fridge and XFINITY!!! The check in lady was very nice, not sure what others say but treat people how you want to be treated, has room service (expensive but you pay for convenience, if you don't like to pay that much you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusya Y
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Dear Rusya Y, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you for taking the time to share this five star experience with our management, staff, and future guests. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see...

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The Hotel was nice well kept clean, peaceful,and Fast with the check in . The place was even quiet late at night I could hear the rain over the roof surprized being next to freeway & the check was just as smooth Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christy J
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Dear Christy J, Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding the five star service and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to impress you with our cleanliness and convenience have been successful. We are very happy to learn that your stay was...

Reviewed 6 November 2016

My room was on the floor level close to the main lobby. I stayed just one night. New to the area. There on business. If you are there for just a night, and are fine with just the bare minimum, and you want to pay the lowest rate, then this place will do. Pros: affordable, close to shopping and eateries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 134faniel
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Dear 134faniel, Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter to...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The hotel staff didn't clean the rooms in a decent amount of time. We would be gone until 2-3 pm and they still wouldn't have cleaned our room. The rooms don't have microwaves in the Double queen beds. There is 1 washer and 1 dryer. This is not a place to book online. Go to the hotel directly other wise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brianna L
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Dear Brianna L, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed in room 130 in the annex. The beds were comfortable, the room clean and quiet, and the pet area just outside the room made being a responsible pet owner easy - even in the rain. Parking right outside the room was also a big "plus".

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnPaul489
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review you have of our hotel. We are so glad to know that you had a wonderful time with us and that you find great value in staying with us. We always aim to give you the best value for your money and we are so happy to know that our efforts...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Well the location is not pretty but it was useful to access the freeway we needed. We also walked about ten minutes to catch the tram into the city and this was also very useful. We only had the afternoon to look around Portland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your high rating of our hotel It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to...

Ulm, Germany
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Just a motel. It was clean and we paid 70$. The price in general was ok, because the coffee and WiFi was for free. But it took as 30 minutes to check in, because the service was very slow. Furthermore I have been kicked out every 5 of the internet. There were a couple of possibilities to get some food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank med_ulm
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Dear y med_ulm, Thank you again for your feedback! I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced with our internet connection, We already informed the management about this already as we see this a serious matter. We promise to be more careful soon as we believe that our customer's convenience are at the peak of our interest....

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Pretty basic with only a couple small quirks. There's only 2 towels in the room, and it's a bit tricky to get to. Yet, the price was right and we were just staying for one night. It's not creppy, just really basic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with us. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.0 km away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#66 of 139 in Portland
806 reviews
4.3 km away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
2.0 km away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#94 of 139 in Portland
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Briarwood Suites
Briarwood Suites
#100 of 139 in Portland
52 reviews
4.0 km away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
3.9 km away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#90 of 139 in Portland
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chestnut Tree Inn Portland offers a 24hr free coffee and tea in the lobby, wireless internet, guest laundry, free parking, and pets are welcome with additional charges and restrictions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205

Address: 9699 SE Stark Street, Portland, OR 97216
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: RM317 - RM638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 South Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Corvallis, Oregon
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go online a book”
revamp1970, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great access to East side of Portland and 205.”
johnrT6092ZJ, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“if you don't have a lot of luggage the 2nd floor might be better and room away from street”
134faniel, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the annex.”
Nshnels, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Weather and lighting proof curtains but excellent sunlight if wanted. Great AC units.”
rebeccakM6209DO, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$79
Orbitz.comUS$77
TripAdvisorUS$77
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates