We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn at the Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn at the Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Eugene OR
Reviewed 27 August 2015

My friend and I stayed here for one night while visiting Portland. The best thing about the hotel is the free parking, the convenient location to the MAX train line and the very helpful front desk staff. When we were given our room, we discovered severe water damage on the ceiling and a shower/bath that had virtually no water pressure....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelmavenEugeneOR
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Travelmaven, thank you for taking time to provide us feedback regarding your stay. We are glad that you liked our complimentary parking, our convenient location, comfortable beds, and our very friendly and helpful staff. However, I am sorry that you had concerns about the bathroom. We continue to make improvements to the hotel, including the bathrooms, and look forward to...

Teguzco
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The good: price (relative to other downtown hotels), the beds. The bad: the condition of the hotel. The equivocal: location. I booked our room at the Inn online, after weighing various reviews. None of them were accurate, in my view. With most downtown hotels going for more than $200 a night, I had hoped for the Inn to be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teguzco
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Teguzco, thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the concerns you had with your room. No excuses, the issues are unacceptable and are being corrected. The cracked tinting on some of our south-side facing rooms has now been removed. Yes, we are an older hotel but we have much to offer....

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Great proximity to downtown Portland. Transit system was across the street. Alaina checked us in and she was so helpful! I booked through Hotwire and didn't know if I was going to get 1 or 2 beds. Our room had 1 bed and a rollaway for my 2 boys and I. This was not good news after spending a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjryan15
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Kjryan15, thank you for providing us feedback regarding your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our location and especially appreciate you mentioning your positive experience with Aleina. We hope to see you back soon.

Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Working at the Convention Center 8 to 10 hours a day, 90 plus degrees and wanting a comfortable room with good air conditioning, a refrigerator that you don't need to request and don 't want to pay an arm and a leg? The Inn at the Convention Center is the place to stay. Added bonus is it is literally across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Barbara S, thank you for sharing your comments with our Tripadvisor audience. I am glad you enjoyed our location, in-room refrigerator, comfortable room with good air-conditioning, complimentary parking, friendly and professional staff, and all at great price. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you back again soon.

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I went in Portland to attend a Conference, for me it was e very good localization, about 150 m far from Convention Center. Employees are very kind and very close to public transportation. There are many options to walk to a park and jogging too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EbChiarini
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

EbChiarini, thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our location, close proximity to public transportation, and our friendly staff. We look forward to you staying with us the next time you visit Portland.

bills@ohiocpa.net
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We stayed at the Inn at the Convention Center for 7 nights in June, 2015 while attending a conference at the Oregon Convention Center. We wanted a decent, quiet room very close to the meeting site, and that's exactly what we got. It was a mere 5 minute walk to the convention center and the train to downtown was literally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bills47
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Bills47, thank you for staying with us and providing us with valuable feedback regarding your stay. I appreciate all you positive comments but I would like to take a moment to address your concerns. I am not sure what happened with your reservation but I am glad we were able to accommodate you. This fall we will be spending time...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Pros: - very conveniently located - less than a block from the MAX and parking is easy. Short transit ride to downtown. Convention center is super close too and technically you could walk to lloyd center - TV channels are better than some higher star hotels! more variety here. - nice large room, clean beds - doorless closets - i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Sam C, thank you very much for sharing your comments with our Tripadvisor audience. We appreciated all the "pros" you mentioned regarding our hotel. We continue to work with our Internet provider to improve and enhance our services. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

The room was cheap and clean, the location was 50 yards from the tram (but ask how you can walk underneath the bridge and in to town - approx 1km). No food options. Front desk very helpful and friendly - thanks Clayton

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathanmackenziehobbs
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Nathan, thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us and mentioning the friendly and helpful service you received from Clayton. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This was the second hotel I used during my stay and unfortunately was the reason my trip ended on a sour note. I'm not a snob in the least, and don't mind a more rustic hotel experience, but this specific hotel was incredibly over-priced for the experience. I stayed in a double-queen room facing the light-rail, which should've been rented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mmmmmmgood83
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Mmmm... I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the concerns you had during your stay. We have recently added additional radios in the building to boost our Internet signal. We do have rooms that face south with a view of downtown Portland and the Oregon Convention Center...

Prineville, Oregon
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Ok. Up front... old hotel that is getting better all the time. I've talked with the manager and understand some of the limitations. I must've always been on the wrong floors because I've never noticed the shrunken ceiling. If you walk towards the Lloyd Center 10 blocks or less there are so many interesting restaurants I can't count them all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickpmh
Mark B, General Manager at Inn at the Convention Center, responded to this review

Patrickpmh, thanks for providing us feedback regarding your stay. The hotel is older, but we are getting better everyday. We offer a great location, great price, and outstanding service. David is a gem and truly loves to help guests out. We look forward to you staying with us again.

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 km away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#9 of 138 in Portland
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
0.9 km away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#64 of 138 in Portland
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great location, moderately price, free WIFI, free on-site parking, limited service, interior corridors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn at the Convention Center

Address: 420 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2009
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: RM487 - RM753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Hotel Portland
Inn Convention Center Portland
Hotel At
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at the Convention Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at the Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like light rail trains at all hours as I do - take the north side.”
  • Slightly Used Inn at the Convention Center Bed
  • Viewing #Trimet MAX From Inn at Convention Center
  • 12:57 AM Trimet Train Past Inn at the Convention Center
 of 5 bubbles JosefAK, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fifth floor is best.”
 of 5 bubbles Goldenmomo, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room not on the same side as the train. That was a bit too loud for me.”
 of 5 bubbles melissak111, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 504 is the best in the place.”
  • View from room 504
 of 5 bubbles 910aris, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the side away from the noise!”
 of 5 bubbles sburant2014, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5