We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jupiter Hotel

CancelonUS$165*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$337*
US$165*
Great Deal
US$179*
US$179*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Jupiter Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jupiter Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 4 April 2014

hotel is nice and clean has an hip style in a central location especially close to conference centre but it is too noisy in night, there is a bar near you can hear loud music and people's loud chat, would be problematic if you want a quiet stay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neonch
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear neonch, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am sorry that the noise was a bit of an issue for you, however next time you stay with us the chill side of the property should be more...

Athens, Ohio
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here for a conference at the convention center and it was great. It wasn't too loud (I was on the Chill Side), the staff are really friendly, it's clean, and the location close to the convention center was great. Really glad I stayed here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnOhioUSA
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DawnOhioUSA, Thanks for staying with us, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. It truly is for us, the best measure of how we are doing as a hotel when guests enjoy their stay as much as you did. Sincerely, Zach Miller

Dayton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I traveled on business and have been back in for to the Portland and Washington Area MANY times since 1/2013. The Jupiter was definitely one of my better stays for the party type in me (bare essentials). I was very happy with my small but very suitable accommodations and the location was great. You're also sharing the lot with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hernan_JR
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hernan_JR, Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your experience across many sites. I am very thankful that you enjoyed the property so much and that you took the time out of your busy life to share comments across so many platforms. I do agree when we have the tent panels down in the summertime it...

Ellensburg, Washington
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Despite the many reviews saying this place was super loud, we had a room right next to the outdoor lounge and it really didn't seem too bad. The staff was super nice and helpful, especially to the dog! The room was small in comparison but I'm not sure why you would need any more space in a hotel. Stayed here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samathatidd
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear samathatidd, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. It is very true that many guests don't find our active property to be an issues and I am glad that this was your experience. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have you stay with us again soon. Sincerely, Zach Miller Assistant General Manager

Battambang, Cambodia
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If they called this place a retro motel, instead of a hotel, they would probably get many less disappointed reviews. There is no porter, for one. Nor in the rooms even a refrigerator. No coffee making facilities in the room, neither -- although it is offered in their lobby. Beds are queens at max, no kings, and the rooms tend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Globetr0ttingG0urmet
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Globetr0ttingG0urmet, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that the hotel didn't fully take care of all your needs, I agree that if we overpromise and underdeliver it's a worse experience for yourself as the guest. We really try to be very up front with guests about who...

Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Booked hotel with priceline,Very loud even in the chill section.Would not stay here with a family.Condoms were removed by my request when I found out they were in the drawer.Again stay away if you want a quiet nights rest..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilo_11
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear neilo_11, Thank you for staying with us at the Jupiter for your Portland adventure. I am very sorry to hear that you had a loud experience on the chill side. We try to closely monitor that side for noise and stop anything we can but sometimes we do not fully accomplish this. I completely understand how you would be...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you like retro-cool hotels and nightlife, the Jupiter is a great choice. It's located in the young, hip part of Portland (near the Lovecraft bar and other nightlife). Across the street are several great vintage shops. The lobby doubles as an art gallery, and the staff is a lot of fun - they even dressed up in DIY creative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaCarmina
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LaCarmina, We very much appreciate having the opportunity to serve you and thanks for the feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back anytime in the future. Sincerely, Zach Miller Assistant General Manager

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a great time as this hotel - BUT - we knew exactly what to expect based on our local friends' suggestions. It's a very hip and trendy place, and very loud. There is music blasting through their speakers all day. They sell underwear at the front desk. A tour van pulled up in front of our room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldsRoyster
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WorldsRoyster, Thank you for your patronage! We very much appreciate your business and the time taken to give us feedback. We completely agree that guests should be informed of the atmosphere on property as we tend to be a better fit when expectations are met or exceeded. Thank you again for your thoughts and we hope to see you...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Jupiter for a night or two and it had all cool stuff you don't find in other hotels (visual wall murals, free condoms, chalkboard doors). But the bathroom looked tired and our door kept sticking (for the prices you pay, you want to make sure your door closes safely, right?). Our room (as many rooms do)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wander_Wan
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wander_Wan, Thank you for staying with us and for providing your candid feedback. I completely understand how it can be a let down when something looks open and accessible but is not. We try to keep the vibe alive and both us and the Doug Fir would love for you to hang on the patios with your own beers,...

Ashland, Oregon
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Centrally located on the NE side of Portland on Burnside in a wonderful neighborhood, and easy to walk or bus downtown. Great music from the Doug Fir, attached through the underground parking garage stage door. Draw in chalk on the door, bounce on the bed (no squeaking beds here). The room was small, and the price was reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen F, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you here again soon! Sincerely, Zach Miller Assistant General Manager

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#42 of 140 in Portland
280 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
362 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 140 in Portland
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 140 in Portland
699 reviews
Inn at the Convention Center
#71 of 140 in Portland
324 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Jupiter Hotel, a mid-century, renovated motor inn-turned-boutique hotel in the heart of Portland, minutes away from Downtown Portland, the Oregon Convention Center, the Pearl District and the Rose Garden Arena. A refreshingly affordable minimalist hotel for creative business nomads and urban explorers, the Jupiter Hotel offers 81 guestrooms, over 4,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space, an airy bamboo courtyard and outdoor fireplace seating for guests. Jupiter Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless internet, locally-roasted Water Avenue organic coffee every morning in the lobby, bikes for rent and Natura eco-friendly bath amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Address: 800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214-1221 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: RM679 - RM1,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jupiter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jupiter Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Los Angeles, California

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Jupiter Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are two floors and no elevators.”
Michelle615, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“You have the option to choose the hot side (near the bar and noisy) or the chill side (far from the bar and quiet).”
juliecC8927IZ, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book a quiet room away from the club and the check in patio area.. Not sure why that would be considered a quiet area...”
lisab0012017, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Could be noise in the summer if it is heavily booked!”
425dest, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room on "chill side" still a little noisy if you are sensitive. First floor can definitely hear occupants above. No elevator.”
annewI8516IF, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$165* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$179
TravelocityUS$179
TripAdvisorUS$179
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates