We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fern Hall Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fern Hall Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Fern Hall Inn
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Restaurant is closed which was a surprise, trying to make up for poor heating by covering the windows in plastic, leaky plumbing, bad wiring, and no service. I "checked out" early on Sunday meaning when I left there was no staff (and never saw any staff over the weekend at all meaning no room make up or fresh linens) and...

1Thank Certif658
Mary-fernhallinn, Innkeeper at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

Sorry that you left without seeing anyone, we are around, but not always where you expect to find us. I have no answer but to apologize for the lack of service that you feel you experienced while staying with us. The Inn is very old, but a thing of beauty! We try to keep things as original as possible and...

Reviewed 30 January 2017

I am daunted by the number of positive reviews, and as such, felt compelled to advise potential travelers what to expect at Fern Hall. When we arrived at 7pm, the door was unlocked, and there was nobody there to greet us. There was a strong odor of natural gas throughout the first floor, and some music playing from a small...

2Thank litetravellerNYC
Mary-fernhallinn, innkeeper at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

Sorry that your stay wasn't what you expected. As you stated , it is a very old Inn. As a matter of fact we celebrated our 100 birthday this past July. I am sorry that you didn't see me after your night of check in, but I am there everyday during ski season, Fern Hall is very large and if...

Reviewed 19 January 2017

We spend 3 days with friends in Fern Hall celebrating New Years and I am rating our experience. This is 100 years old mansion and it has lots of character and sometimes shows its age. Mary did everything to accommodate us and took care about all our requests. Rooms were spacious with luxurious linens, breakfast was wonderful. We had dinner...

2Thank babochka
Mary B, Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the kind words! It was a blast having your group spend the New Year with us! I loved listening to your accents, and its funny because now if I read any of your comments or emails, I actually "hear" your voices! Next time you have to tell me more about your cultures. Wonderful group...

Reviewed 6 January 2017

We booked a Monday night stay while skiing over the recent holiday. The Inn is maybe a 15 minute drive from Elk Mountain. The staff could not have been more friendly and invited us to explore the property. We enjoyed a nice evening watching television next to the fire place and the next morning breakfast and coffee were waiting for...

1Thank Christopher G
Mary B, Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

Christopher, sorry it was only a one night visit! Next time schedule a bit more time to actually relax. Thanks for taking the time to write, I really appreciate it. Call soon to book your next stay. Ski season goes until mid-March I'm sure you know! One day isn't enough.

Union Dale, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Skiers beware. If you are about to book this place for your Elk Mountain ski trip, DON'T. On October 1, they turned into a BYOB establishment. They let their alcohol license expire, may or may not get it back. Beer, wine and alcohol are a minimum trip of 20 minutes away. And the nearest state-run liquor store is not open...

2Thank Maryann Y
Mary B, Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you feel the way you do. Fern Hall has strived, yes, through its many incarnations to be an establishment that prides itself on quality food, exceptional service, and love of community. The fact that we have become a BYOB shows that. In very hard times you do what is necessary to keep business open and...

Reviewed 20 August 2016

We have returned for a third time to Fern Hall and the ambiance is still warm and echoes another era. The food was quite good, as before, but this time we must have arrived just as the summer help of college students was training. I guess young people don't realize one needs silverware to eat. BUT other than an amusing...

Thank Ellen W
fernhallinn, Guest Relations Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed the dinner once the tableware arrived! It won't happen again, promise!

Millburn, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Unusual cozy and elegant place with fantastic views. The staff is there to please you, very accommodating. A few highlights - Crystal Lake is a stone's throw away you can walk and swim, best to be there in the morning when the water is like glass. They provide free golf with your stay, but I was just content to have...

Thank Ckl60
fernhallinn, Guest Relations Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

You remembered the check out rules! Thank you. It was a pleasure having you as part of the family if only for a few days.

Haledon, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I have stayed at several places in NE PA and the Fern Hall has been the best by far. Absolutely lovely grounds, beautiful building and very friendly staff. While I didn't get the chance to experience all the amenities like the lake or golfing, I thoroughly enjoyed those that I did. If the weather permits I highly recommend dinner out...

1Thank Fadi H
fernhallinn, Guest Relations Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT WE WANT ALL OF OUR GUESTS TO UNDERSTAND!! Take a few steps back, slow the pace down and enjoy life as it is! No "chains" holding us back, we are one of a kind! Thanks, Mary

Plainview, New York, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2016

My husband David and I just spent a 3 day weekend at Fern Hall Inn, our home away from home! This was our 3rd time staying at the Inn and it was absolutely wonderful! We were welcomed once again with warm hugs from Mary, the Inn Keeper, as well as Amy and Mary who also work at the Inn, and...

Thank Ronit B
fernhallinn, Guest Relations Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

I am very happy that I talked you into staying the extra night! Now you can understand why!!! Fern Hall is all about taking a step away, slowing down the pace and enjoying life!. Can't wait till next summer to see you again. Mary

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2016

My wife and I ate dinner on the outdoor patio. The atmosphere was nice. Took 15 minutes for a waitress to come to our table. She was pleasant and seemed accommodating. My wife ordered the filet mignon for $31.00. About 10 minutes later, our waitress tells my wife that the chef changed the filet to a flat iron steak. My...

1Thank woody527
Mary B, Guest Relations Manager at Fern Hall Inn, responded to this review

Sorry that you had an unpleasant experience. I thank you for bringing this up our attention and hope you were satisfied with my email response

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (75)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (7)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Room/Suite (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Family/Play Areas (2)
View from Room (9)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifford
8.7 km away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
23.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
121 reviews
22.0 km away
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
#1 of 6 in Clarks Summit
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 km away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
24.5 km away
Schrute Farms
24.8 km away
Lake Wanoka Resort
Lake Wanoka Resort
#1 of 4 in Honesdale
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1916 Stone Estate once the residence of the Johnson & Johnson Family of Pharmaceutical fame. Currently Fern Hall is home to our Inn and award winning Golf Course! All at your disposal when staying with us. Summer provides use of the boat house on glorious Crystal Lake, and winter offers an 8 mile drive to Elk Mountain, the highest vertical ski mountain in Pennsylvania! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fern Hall Inn

Address: 2819 State Route 247, At Crystal Lake, Clifford, PA 18413
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Clifford
Price Range: RM277 - RM805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Hall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fern Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hall Inn Bed And Hotel Clifford
Fern Hall Inn b&b
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fern Hall Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fern Hall Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No views in winter as plastic covers them so stay in whichever room has a private bath”
Certif658, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here. Go to the Holiday Inn Express or Grand Hotel in Carbondale”
  • Shower basin: needs replacement
  • Old shower curtain
  • Hallway to closed restaurant and sitting room with leaking gas fireplace
  • Leaky sink
  • Notice regarding subpar electrical
litetravellerNYC, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only one room with a private bath.”
maryanny162, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back have fabulous views.”
Ckl60, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best views are rooms in the back”
945fadih, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5