We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostel Esperanza

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostel Esperanza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This jewel's location is perfection. It's about fifteen steps to the beach and a couple more, to reach the beginning of San Juan's "restaurant row". It is a wonderful location for watching a tropical sunset and a perfect base camp from which to explore the town and surrounding area. Our room (private with bathroom) was clean, secure, quiet, and most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gondermann
OurPointofView, Propietario at Hostel Esperanza, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for your comments, we really aprecciate our guests value our efforts to do a good job. Best wishes for you and hope to see you soon. Happy new year.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible hostel, don't stay here. Lots of better options in San Juan. Dirty, unfriendly staff, awful dorms where you wont sleep, bathrooms are gross, poor security with open dorms right near the entrance for anyone to walk out with a backpack. Definitely one of the worst dorms I've seen in my travels around the world. I booked 5 nights in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelllar
OurPointofView, Director de Recepción at Hostel Esperanza, responded to this review

Hi Traveller, we absolutelly like our guests write comments about us, and we like they are fair and constructive doing it, which is not your case. You have been just a moment in our hostel because once you realized you booked a dorm bed instead a private room you wanted to leave. We explained you what the cancellation polices were...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We booked into the Esperanza for our first night in SJDS. Would have stayed longer if the room had some shelving/storage. After three weeks on the road wanted to unpack instead of living out of our suitcase/ backpack. Great location, pretty good common area (miss the hammock) and awesome breakfast included in the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KinderM
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Good location great dorms, in front of the beach. Nice staff, clean, chill spots. I don't understand why the ratings are low. I have nothing bad to say. Included breakfast was decent. They have a restaurant but a little bit more pricey than other places (i haven't tried the restaurant so I cannot judge)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev D
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Fine hostel that has decent double rooms for a good price. Breakfast is included and there's a kitchen to use with free filtered water. Super easy to take a dip in the ocean from here. Staff is somewhat uninterested and sometimes not very informed on what's going on in town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veronique L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

So first off, this is a nice hostel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great wifi, if that's your thing, and a solid book exchange too. Most of the rooms join on to the common area, which can be a bit noisey, but didn't pose a problem for us. Unfortunately due to an early shuttle we didn't get to sample the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This is a great hostel! Wifi works really well everywhere, decent kitchen (could be a bit cleaner though), lovely courtyard with hammocks and plenty of space. The Mexican restaurant and bar attached serves delicious food. Staff pretty friendly and helpful. Really good value for money, I paid $10 for a dorm including a filling breakfast. Vibe is chilled, other travellers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 371mel371
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 July 2016

OK, it's not the flashiest option, but this hostel is nice, friendly with a chilled atmosphere near the beach. Good price and breakfast is included. The dorms with fans are basic. Overall I would say it's good budget option

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roelvdk
Winters, California
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The dorm rooms back onto the restaurant which operates late in the night. Even with fans, the restaurant odors and heat were oppressive. Clean bathrooms. Great hosts. Beach location. If you want sleep, choose another.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
OurPointofView, Propietario at Hostel Esperanza, responded to this review

Hi Lynne, that weekend we had an event and that's why the bar was very busy, is not normal that we have that, and the clients like it because is an activity were you can have fun. Ours, is a chill hostel, not a party hostel but sometimes we organize events to bring it some movement. That night we were...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 June 2016

I really liked the atmosphere and people in the hostel: very laidback, friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was also very nice and included in the price of 10 dollars. However, it wasn't clean and impossible to sleep at Saturday night in front of the music stage. Kitchen wasn't great as well, not full equiped. But if you don't mind these service/comfort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mar B

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 km away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#21 of 70 in San Juan del Sur
30 reviews
75.0 km away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 70 in San Juan del Sur
147 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal Brisas y Olas
Hostal Brisas y Olas
#45 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#48 of 70 in San Juan del Sur
41 reviews
75.6 km away
Casa Oro
Casa Oro
#18 of 70 in San Juan del Sur
262 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Posada Bahia Azul
Hotel Posada Bahia Azul
#23 of 70 in San Juan del Sur
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hostel Esperanza

Address: Del BDF 1/2 c. al Sur | Frente al Malecón, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: RM89 - RM245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Esperanza Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Esperanza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dorms are pretty busy places and right at near the road. Opt for a private room if you are keen for a decent sleep!”
 of 5 bubbles 371mel371, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“NOT the dorms”
 of 5 bubbles lynnes614, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Average rooms”
 of 5 bubbles rpearce0909, 17 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms that have already been renovated”
 of 5 bubbles 579CristinaC, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If you are traveling solo - The dorms are fantastic!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 508natalied, 15 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay