We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 292: English reviews
yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had dinner with colleagues on a very wet Monday evening after a long day. I have dined here before and it was very good. The pub, restaurant and ambiance remain welcoming and the service was first class, however my simple choice of sirloin steak and hand cooked chips was distinctly average: the medium-rare steak was cooked as requested but hadn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank golfnut100
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear golfnut100 Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear your steak as well as the chips were not up to your expectations. We very much wish you raised this at the time so we could rectify the situation. We hope you will revisit us where we are confident you will have a much better experience. Kind regards...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was fine, clean warm and really everything was fine you would expect was there. It is highly likely that I will stay again. I really can't find anything to be negative about, it was all good! Breakfast was good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwlasseter
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear jwlasseter Thank you for your review; we were pleased to hear you had a good experience with us and we hope you decide to stay with us again Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cannot wait to stay here again, feel so bad for taking so long to review, we tend to review places every 3 months or so. Our stay was a last minute decision. The evening meal was outstanding as was the service received throughout our stay. Damian was an absolute star and looked after us very well. Brilliant place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alan_Whitehead_16 We thank you so much for such a glowing review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you giving Damian a special mention. We will share your kind words with the whole team and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came across the Black Horse inn when struggling to find short notice accommodation in the area. Very warm welcome, lovely room in the building opposite which was ideal as we had the dog with us. Dinner was very very good, breakfast was good. Good choice of beers. Nearby, was a good walking place for the dog. Good price for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric R
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eric R Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent lunch - the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Eating at the Black Horse Clifton is a lovely experience; with great restaurant staff who make you feel very welcome, and cuisine which you'd expect to have come from a kitchen sporting stars awarded by a well-known tyre company. We very much look forward to our next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N0rthY0rks
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear N0rthY0rks Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We very much appreciate your positive comments about your lunch experience and we will be sharing your kind thoughts with Chef and the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled on this inn by chance, the publican and staff were very welcoming, the food and ambience nothing short of surreal. I wanted a true English pub experience and I found it. Best coffee since I arrived in the U.K. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Graham F Thank you for your charming review; we are so pleased we were just what you were looking for in a pub since you arrived in the UK! We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

North Yorks
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Stayed for two nights to atrend a wedding locally and had a lovely time. We were in the courtyard room which was small but adequate. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Beams and stone made the room look charming. Shower room was small but ok for a couple of nights. It's a converted barn so there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C_GNorthYorks
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear C_GNorthYorks Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again if you're visiting the area again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here when visiting Huddersfield on business - the place was recommended to me. It was inexpensive and very nice - a good standard all in all - but the restaurant was outstanding, and the dining experience makes the stay very special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anthony Thank you for your review. We were pleased to hear that you were recommended to us and we matched up to your expectations. We will pass on your kind comments about our restaurant to the Chef and his team and hope to see you again if you have reason to visit Huddersfield. Kind regards from the team at...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We were to stay with my daughter but house rehab required us to lodge for three days. I can say staff was great. Pub was excellent. Know you are staying in a very old road house so small rooms with low ceilings. Stairs no handicapped facilities. Lots of charm with a good quite location. Puts you back in time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 775kingarthur
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear 775kingarthur Thank you for your review. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Reviewed 6 October 2016

I have previously stayed at the hotel and used the restaurant which was very enjoyable. On this occasion I just went for a meal and the quality of food was very good and this was complimented with good service in what is a pleasant and relaxed environment. We will definitely be back. Well done the Black Horse team

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mike R Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
1.7 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
259 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
6.0 km away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.6 km away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Price Range: RM324 - RM559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have a lazy morning and let the traffic on the M62 clear, breakfast is worth taking slowly, it is good!”
 of 5 bubbles jwlasseter, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take earplugs and eye mask.”
 of 5 bubbles C_GNorthYorks, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the larger rooms, some are quite small”
 of 5 bubbles 775kingarthur, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Champagne House away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles S1310EWdebbies, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem equally good.”
  • Plenty of storage space
  • Relaxing colours
 of 5 bubbles patsylandin, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay