We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Show Prices
#1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,092 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,086: English reviews
Start your review of Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
 Click to rate
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The whole of the hotel is really nice. We had food and drinks in the bar/library area. Food was excellent, as was the service. The staff are very friendly and attentive. I would have given the review 5*, but the experience at breakfast was really poor. Lack of freshly cooked hot food at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimJames1963
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came to Bowood hotel for a hen do, and we were all very impressed. Amazing price for what we received! (Over night stay, light lunch, full access to the spa and gym, a treatment of our choice and a three course meal and an all you can eat breakfast... all for £145!!) It was my first time at a spa,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran_Daisy
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we sat in the stunning library by choice as it was less formal than tea in the restaurant. Very good selection and amount of sandwiches, warm light scones and little fancy cakes, plus a fruit plate and plenty of tea and coffee. Overall a lovely treat, very relaxed and best of all we were left to sit, chat and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kor S
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kor S, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Afternoon Tea at Bowood. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team and we hope to welcome you back to Bowood Hotel again in the near future.

Southport
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rooms very pricey when compared to other similar priced hotels. Car park full of golfers so long walk across mud and gravel dragging cases behind us. Wedding venue has no access from hotel so a 200 yard walk outside in the whatever the weather gives you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Bowood. I am sorry to hear that it didn't quite meet your expectations, the car park was exceptionally busy on the day you stayed with us and therefore I do appreciate your frustration. Many thanks again for your feedback, I will share this...

Yeovil
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Terrible plumbing. Could hear every noise upstairs and shower system vibrated every time someone used the bathroom. Have stayed in nicer hotels for not much more price. For what you are charging room facilities where of that of a Premier Inn.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynng856
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us at Bowood. I was very concerned to read that there were issues with the plumbing and noise during your stay. We will of course look into this with our team and look to rectify the issue. I thank you again for leaving your feedback, as without it...

Gloucester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff and setting very good but how this hotel feels it can justify these rates is beyond me. The bed was 2 singles pushed together and was extremely uncomfortable and I got no sleep, I'd have been better off sleeping on the floor. Glad I was only there one night as I couldn't have stood it and frankly at these...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidsP5764JS
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm very sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations and was uncomfortable. I will of course look into the issues you have raised. All feedback is very important to us as it allows us to continually make improvements so that we can offer our...

Winslow
Reviewed 1 week ago

A most enjoyable 3 nights . The staff could not have been more helpful.Thank you; we even had reasonable weather and enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi The room was clean and comfortable we used the shoe cleaning pad which worked well and was something not all hotels provide. We did not need to use the ironing facilities but were pleased...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X6109HKgrahamb
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. I will pass on your thanks and comments to our excellent team here at Bowood and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very busy restaurant so service a little slow. Main course was nice beautiful roast spuds. Pudding a little on the small side. Nice bright restaurant with daffodils on the tables. 19.99p for 2 courses.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123taz
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear 123taz, Thank you for the review of your recent Sunday Lunch in the Shelburne Restaurant at Bowood Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that your enjoyed the food and atmosphere but apologise if service was a little slow on the day you dined. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Bowood again soon for another occasion or...

Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful balcony room with tea/coffee facilities and home baked cookies on arrival. Good food/ good bar/ superb library reading room. Scones that melt in your mouth. And then there is the Spa. Very friendly staff. Lovely treatments. Big pool with excellent views over golf course. Glimpses of deer as they scamper across the course.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Elaine B, What fabulous feedback. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay and I'm very pleased to hear that you managed to use a variety of the facilities we have to offer, including The Spa and the Library for afternoon tea. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to be able...

Swindon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay and our Spa Break in a lovely location with good facilities. Staff were okay but we didn't feel that they were fully attentive. The spa facilities and treatment was good with lovely view from the swimming pool to the golf course. We were lucky to see a herd of deers. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious. Breakfast...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRichardss
BowoodResort, General Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear SRichardss, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent spa break at Bowood. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we have to offer. I am disappointed to hear that although your dinner was delicious, the breakfast didn't quite meet your expectations. I will pass your feedback onto...

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
5:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
7.1 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
669 reviews
14.3 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
626 reviews
21.8 km away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
809 reviews
14.4 km away
The Wiltshire
The Wiltshire
#1 of 2 in Royal Wootton Bassett
283 reviews
14.5 km away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range: RM795 - RM1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back of the building to get a nice view! We sadly had the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Fran_Daisy, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Balcony room on second floor over looking golf course for lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles Z8843PTelaineb, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Speak to the staff - they are really helpful”
 of 5 bubbles jimandluce, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner Suite was very spacious (Room 329) with a great bathroom facility.”
 of 5 bubbles kirkc999, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stay at the pub”
 of 5 bubbles X3868TEpeterl, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5