We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Southcrest Manor Hotel

Save
Share
Pool Bank Southcrest, Redditch B97 4JS England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$90
Hotels.comUS$90
Trip.comUS$90
eDreamsUS$90
TravelocityUS$90
Orbitz.comUS$90
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (391)
360
Panoramas (36)
Room & Suite (141)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 13/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Updated 13/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Redditch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The privately owned, four star Southcrest Manor Hotel is set within 10 acres of stunning private lawns and natural woodland, offering a truly peaceful, rural setting in the Heart of Worcestershire yet conveniently located 4 minutes' drive from Redditch town centre, 10 minutes’ drive from M42,J3 and 20 minutes' drive from Birmingham International Airport. The former manor house, built in 1921 boasts 63 stylish and spacious bedrooms, offering modern, luxury decor, designed with rest in mind. We tailor a room depending on the requirements of your stay, with a choice of double, twin, triple, family and inter-connecting bedrooms available. Complimentary access to the fully equipped fitness suite, outdoor hydrotherapy hot tub* and Swedish & Infrared Sauna’s* is available for all of our residents. (*pre-booking is essential) The elegant Laura Ashley designed Restaurant & Bar, designed in a uniquely British style and inspired by the stunning surroundings provides the perfect space in which to enjoy Afternoon Tea, Lunch and Dinner and to celebrate special occasions with family and friends. Offering a menu full of mouth-watering dishes including the ever popular Sunday Roast, an exciting cocktail menu and an extensive wine & drinks menu. The beautiful Laura Ashley the Tea Room offers a delicious and charming Afternoon Tea experience with an extensive selection of homemade sandwiches, fresh scones, beautiful cakes and carefully selected teas, catering for all special dietary requirements. The Elemis approved salon; the Manor Health & Beauty Club offers a unisex range of luxury products and treatments designed to help relax, rebalance and re-energise. Escape the everyday and find a moment of relaxation, helping you unwind, de-stress and feel totally refreshed.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1412Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 775
  • 348
  • 182
  • 60
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
noel g wrote a review 23 Jul
Firstly the staff even though some are clearly very new are awesome. They could not be more helpful and professional. The food is pricey but pretty good. The accomodation sadly is awful. We got twin beds (maybe we look like a couple that's been together 24 years and that's why lol) no idea why, the room was unbearably hot and after the first night I opened the Windows but closed the curtains to keep the sunlight out only for the room staff to have opened them and we came back to room at 27 degrees! The rooms we have seen are just tired sadly. As someone who travels a lot for work I just can't recommend the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Timothy C wrote a review 22 Jul
Lima / Cusco
Great hotel for visiting the Game Fair with nice staff such as Rob in the restaurant. With tasteful decor and lovely afternoon tea in the Laura Ashley room. The staff are great and the breakfast is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear timothyc252, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We're delighted to see you found the hotel, its decor, the food and the team great! Rob will be particularly delighted with the feedback and recognition. We will look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Chris Osborne General Manager
Read more
FBurge wrote a review 22 Jul
We stayed at the hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for two nights. There was plenty of parking, reception was very welcoming and our room was clean and comfortable. The weather was fantastic so we sat on the terrace with a drink outside and it was just perfect. The dinner was great on both nights. The service was good and all the food arrived lovely and hot. The breakfast was good too with plenty of choice. The hotel's location is perfect for exploring the area - we spent a day at Stratford on Avon and then the Cotswolds. All in all a great stay and great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear fburge, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're delighted to see that everything was fantastic when you joined us on your two night deal! We're so pleased you found the food, the service and our location all great! We will look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Chris Osborne General Manager
Read more
Gemma P wrote a review 21 Jul
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
We had our wedding at Southcrest on 9th July 2021 and we couldn’t have asked for our day to go any better than it did. The staff were so polite, helpful and accommodating. The food was amazing and a lot of our guests said it was the best meal they’d had at a wedding. Our whole experience from our first visit, through planning to the actual day was perfect. So effortless and not at all stressful, even through the pandemic and us having to postpone 3 times. I was a bit of an OCD bride and wanted to do everything myself to know it was all right, but even how the staff set up the room and all our wedding things was exactly how I would’ve done it. The following day all our wedding items had been safely stored and packaged ready for us to take home and even as we were leaving the staff were friendly and helpful. As for the venue itself, it’s such a beautiful setting, the gardens remind me of the secret garden (film) and the venue rooms plus bedrooms were beautifully clean (something I always notice). And the Elemis soap in the bathrooms, beautiful!! Haha… plus, for any brides, the toilets are big enough to fit your wedding dress and someone to help you go. We couldn’t go down for breakfast the next day because we were too hungover after the wedding but we had breakfast brought to us in the room and it was lovely. I honestly couldn’t fault the experience at all. My husband has said we’ll definitely be returning for all future events and I completely agree. Thank you so much to all the staff at Southcrest for making our wedding day so easy and perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Gemma P, Congratulations once again on your wedding! We were delighted to host your big day, and we're so pleased that everything from the food and the team exceeded your expectations! We will look forward to welcoming you back for other events soon! Kind Regards Chris Osborne General Manager
Read more
Miss D wrote a review 18 Jul
Please note, I never write negative reviews, but believe the hotel needs to be aware of the ‘constructive criticisms’ as the hotel has lots of potential but our stay was very below expectations. Me and my partner stayed on 17th July for one night for our anniversary. Our package included an executive room, afternoon tea, 3 course dinner, a bottle of wine and breakfast. We also paid for early check in. A brief summary of our stay would be: hotel appearance is nice but needs a lot more care, staff are welcoming but very short staffed and all work very long hours, therefore long waiting time for everything, customer attention and care is lacking. Hotel is not worth the cost they charge. Upon arrival the girl behind reception was welcoming, explained where our room was and where we would be eating. Walking up to the room, there was lots of drinks and plates on the floor outside rooms - we guessed the cleaners had took them out of rooms and left them on the floor, however these were left for hours and we walked past them many times. The executive room was spacious and clean. The bathroom smelt of very stagnant water. We asked at reception where the spa was as we had booked the hot tub. She advised there would be towels and robes waiting for us in the spa. Once we finally found the changing rooms (not easy to find), there was no towels or robes and no spa staff anywhere to help us. We had to go back to reception and asked for towels, but they didn’t have any and said they would get some sent to the hot tub for us. About 5-10 minutes later, once already in the hot tub, a member of staff then left some towels out for us. The spa changing rooms are tiny, any more than 3 people and it is too many! We wanted to go in the relaxation room, but no more than 4 people can fit and there was already people in there. The sauna was also out of service. We had booked afternoon tea for 2:30pm, but still had to wait at least 5 minutes to be seated, as though they weren’t expecting us. Once sat down, the staff were friendly and food was really lovely. Scones were fresh, nice selection of sandwiches and the chocolate pot was amazing. After eating, we asked the staff for the best walks around the grounds, but 2 staff both said they had no idea… not very helpful. We have dinner booked for 7:30pm, we waited in a queue for 10 minutes outside the restaurant, then they couldn’t find our booking and asked if we even had booked. They then quickly laid us a table. The host then sat at elderly couple literally 30cm away from us – absolutely no thought for social distance and we all felt very uncomfortable with being so close. The other couple moved their table further away, but still within 1 meter. 20 minutes went on, no one acknowledged us or the table next to us. All staff ignored us. I got fed up of waiting and went to find a food and drinks menu myself, although no staff were around so it still took a while to find someone. When the wine arrived it was warm, but there was no staff around to tell, so we gave up waiting and just drank it. The staff at dinner service were the same staff we’d seen throughout the day, clearly at this point all shattered from running about all day and they didn’t care for the customers. The pate starter had 1 piece of rock-solid bread. The pizza was ok but burnt on the outside and soggy in the middle. We also ordered a side of chips that never arrived so we asked to make sure we weren’t charged. Our main plates were left on the table for a long time and we wanted to order desert, however again no staff in sight. I ended up having to go to reception to ask for a desert menu and to send someone over to take our order… very unacceptable! The desserts took about 15 minutes to arrive. The waffle was clearly out of a packet, warmed up for about 5 seconds, and the cream was horrible and warm. My partner had ice cream, it came out melted and dripping all down the sides of the dish, he tried one bit and left it. During each course, not once did a member of staff asked us how the meal was, and there was no staff around to even explain what was wrong with the food! We were the second-last couple to leave the restaurant (about 9:50pm) and 90% of the tables were a complete mess, none of them had been cleared from dinner throughout the night. No staff around to tidy or even speak to, very unacceptable! Had we have been asked about our meal…. we would have asked for a replacement cold bottle of wine (not warm), some fresh bread (and more of it) to go with the pate (not rock-solid), a fresh pizza, for our side of chips to actually arrive and a fresh desert. At breakfast the host was welcoming. But there was no plates or bowls for the buffet and they had ran out of eggs and orange juice. Also only a couple of items of the remaining foods left. The food we did have was nice. We did notice the host was very busy running around helping, which meant guests walking into breakfast had no idea where to go or what to do. Would we stay again? Not unless they make major improvements. We would only consider it if they had more staff and trained them to have attention to detail. Also, a proper chef and fresh food would have been nice! It is a shame, because the hotel appearance is lovely and set within lovely grounds. However, the lack of staff really affected our stay, with long waiting times and lack of care towards us and the service they provide. The staff cannot be blamed, as you can tell they’re trying their best… but there is only so much you can do with a few staff running a whole hotel. Throughout our whole stay, we spoke to other guests who all felt the same, but we all got fed up of complaining so ‘put up with’ the lack of service you provided.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Not accessible if you are disabled, would require a ground floor room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Osborne, General Manager at The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 464helenad, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay. We're sorry to see that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations, which appear to be centred on the lack of service staff during your stay. We can only apologise for this, however due to some members of the team having to immediately self-isolate, this put pressures on other team members who served you, and inevitably worked the extra-long hours you witnessed. I’m pleased that despite this there were minimal waits to be seated or served, and that the staff were friendly and the food was really lovely. Additionally we have put additional team members on reserve shifts to help alleviate this issue reoccurring in the future. We’re delighted that you found the hotel appearance lovely and set within lovely grounds. Once again thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Chris Osborne General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the southcrest manor hotel redditch, the southcrest manor hotel and spa, quality inn redditch, southcrest hotel redditch
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWorcestershireRedditch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Palace Theatre (1.1 km), Escape Challenge Redditch (1.1 km), and John Bonham Memorial Statue (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Champagne Express Indian Restaurant, Rilys, and Shahi Palace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Southcrest Manor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Southcrest Manor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coughton Court (7.3 km) and Longbarn Village (7.9 km).