We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wellington Hotel

Hotels.comUS$151*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$151*
US$151*
US$151*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 441: English reviews
Verwood
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Our last visit was five years ago and the hotel, then, needed some tlc. It has had just that and everything was perfect. The staff very welcoming and provided excellent service. Our room was lovely and kept clean every day as expected. A shame the chef was ill so no main restaurant although the bar food was great. No problem....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Lovely location in small village type setting. Lovely room, with large bathroom on-suite. Staff were great, very chatty and happy to help, including phoning other restaurants to find opening times etc. Lots to do and see in area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We were looking for a hotel in Cornwall, and found this one. I said to my partner, it had a certain "pull" from the photos and excellent reviews. I run a paranormal group, and we weren't disappointed - especially when we found out that our room, room 10, was haunted. The first floor landing is certainly haunted! But don't let...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aren2
west midlands
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We stayed bank holiday week end and found a very large party of 13 inc children who were very unruly and running around the building all afternoon and into the evening ..the evening meal was served with a raw in the middle burger !! when we bought this to the kitchen attention it was whipped away the same burger retuned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toneWestMidlands
Jonathan S, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

As you state in your review, we have already been in contact with you directly regarding your stay. We did make an error with your food order, immediately corrected this and a full refund was given. We apologise for this and we are also sorry that you did not enjoy your stay over the August Bank Holiday weekend due to...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Went for an evening meal and had a great experience. The building is beautiful, the general atmosphere of the bar was friendly and welcoming. The food was very nice indeed, particularly the half lobster my nephew had, and the variety of gourmet burgers. But the icing on the cake was the service, which was superb. Great all round!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenSEJ
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We were two families for dinner in the long bar (there's also a restaurant). Four adults, one child, one baby. The atmosphere was great and our dalmatian was made to feel welcome. It was bar service for food and the bar staff were very friendly,helpful and quick and there were plently of them. The menu had usual burgers + fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattdaly70
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I greatly enjoyed my one night's stay at this beautiful 16th century hotel. I was given a guided tour at check-in, offered a complimentary cup of tea, staff couldn't do enough to help accommodate my dietary requirements despite not booking an evening meal reservation until the last minute... I then very happily munched away at my tailor-made dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krys1984
surrey
Reviewed 25 August 2015

It looks like a lovely building, but unfortunately we didn't have a good experience with the food here. The food we ordered was undercooked. When we mentioned it to the waiter, he took the food into the kitchen and came back moments later to tell us that the chef had said it was 'fine' and didn't need additional cooking (poor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa M
Jonathan S, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your appreciation of our staff. I have spoken with our chef about your burger and I would like to assure you that our friendly nature doesn't stop at the kitchen door! As our food is fresh and cooked to order, we are always happy to cook food to a customer's specific requirements. In this...

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We decided to have lunch in the bar. It had a nice quiet feel about it and the menu looked good. I had Goat's cheese and beetroot Panini.....it was stunning. It cost a little more than the local cafes but the food was gorgeous. All four of us had lovely food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAS1949
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Visited twice this year, 1st visit our 25th wedding anniversary, 2nd visit a 3 night stay. Lovely rooms, fantastic food, very friendly staff who offered a very warm welcome. Free car park and wifi. I would highly recommend. Will I return? YES

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria S

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
5.0 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,198 reviews
21.1 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
917 reviews
6.0 km away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
172 reviews
5.1 km away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
246 reviews
15.9 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the harbour in the Cornish fishing village of Boscastle and surrounded by the beautiful North Cornwall coastline, the Wellington Hotel has benn providing a warm welcome to its guests for many years. A Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn, the Hotel has 14 bedrooms, a traditional pub serving Cornish real ales and home cooked food and a fantastic 2 AA rosette restaurant. There are 10 acres of private woodland walks and the Hotel is in an ideal location for walking the Coastal Path and for discovering Cornwall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Boscastle PL35 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Price Range: RM764 - RM965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Boscastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
St. Petersburg, Florida

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Turret room is spacious &. Has great view”
andrewfoxon540, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Perfect for Halloween, especially room 10 - supposedly!”
ppe1979, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Apparently room 9 is the haunted room :)”
L5690PEpauls, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1 bedroom suites are amazing.”
Abobdog, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We went for lunch not to stay”
MichaelB303, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$151* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$151
TripAdvisorUS$151
Booking.comUS$151
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates