We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Oak

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Par, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Great atmosphere, beer garden, live music and the staff are spot on. Always welcoming and make conversation! Dave the chef and the other staff in the kitchen thank you! we could not fault the food at all! Perfectly cooked and delicious! If you are visiting the area this is a must visit pub!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lydia H
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Decided to go for meal out in the week and decided to try the oak again! Had mushroom to start was fantastic and really delicious and perfect portion size then had steak cooked to perfection and to order chips came in a mug and was loads when pouring onto plate unfortunately had no room for dessert but esteemed for Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alisonchar89
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meals.

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

A very friendly hotel, Staff are very welcoming and friendly. We booked a superior room which was quite large, bright and airy. The bed was really comfortable and we had a good nights sleep as it is very quiet up a quiet street. Within short driving distance of many attractions Good choice of breakfast - you fill in your choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Naomi1953
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Colchester
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Have just spent 2 nights in lostwithiel and had dinner at the Royal Oak. Staff so welcoming and attentive. The food was delicious. On the second day we had bad weather that evening decided to walk back to the Royal Oak, as we walked through the door they remembered us and even what we had drunk the previous night. Top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peppa01
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Berkshire, UK
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I stopped here during a cycling trip and so turned up looking hot sweaty and slightly dishevelled. No matter I was made to feel very welcome, and soon checked in with my bike stored securely away. The room had most of the usual stuff like tea, coffee, TV (not sure about a safe, didn't look) and was very comfortable. Being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spike B
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Just had the best steak I've had in years , looked fantastic and tasted even better, we all said that was delicious , will def be going back and would def recommend, great family pub , lots of space great beer and a great chef, if your staying in Lostwithiel or live near by then pay this place a visit,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Goodservice12
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your steak. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We were in the area for a wedding over the bank holiday weekend and are so pleased that we decided to stay at The Royal Oak Inn. Simon and Graham were friendly hosts, the pub was great and we enjoyed a drink in the beer garden as soon as we arrived! The room we were given was light and bright...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RachaelD86
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Had a lovely time staying here as the hospitality was perfect, lovely friendly people, food was exactly as we like it, Full English breakfast included. Stayed in the superior room, which was lovely. Would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davemitchard
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016

My husband and I have just returned from a four night break at the Royal Oak and we really would be more than happy to recommend it to anyone. Simon and Graham are very welcoming and friendly hosts, the room was lovely and food excellent. We were lucky enough to see a live band in the bar one night and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie G
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

My girlfriend chose this hotel based on the good reviews, and it's location - being close to quite a few things we wanted to visit nearby. Our initial impressions were really good, the staff are very friendly and helpful - and it certainly has that small charming 'factor' that's missing when I'm normally travelling. We were shown to our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanFreeman
Graham T, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the gin sampling. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.2 km away
Best western Restormel Lodge Hotel
7.5 km away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
262 reviews
12.6 km away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,184 reviews
14.6 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
756 reviews
9.4 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Price Range: RM386 - RM498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on the cosy side of small”
 of 5 bubbles AlexanderH577, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the street side can be disturbed in the early morning by delivery drivers and recycling glass collectors”
 of 5 bubbles Naomi1953, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had room 3 which had two lovely Windows you could lie in bed and admire the view.”
 of 5 bubbles debbiegW6998GJ, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 - Great size & character.”
 of 5 bubbles DoubleDLedge, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“We had room 1 which is probably the smallest double room but it was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles markcoates2, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay