We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Pentewan Road Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB England
3 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Vio.com
US$93
View deal
Expedia.comUS$107
Hotels.comUS$107
Agoda.comUS$113
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (981)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (251)

About

#9 of 11 hotels in St Austell
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Relax, unwind and rejuvenate in the luxurious surroundings of The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate; an exquisite 4* hotel & spa set in 43 acres of tranquil, wooded parkland in St Austell. Just a breath away from many of Cornwall’s most popular sandy beaches and attractions; The Cornwall Hotel is the perfect base to explore the best of Cornwall.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2756Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,212
  • 842
  • 384
  • 209
  • 109
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jennie W wrote a review Nov 2022
Cornwall, United Kingdom8 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband, mother and I went out for lunch today and chose The Cornwall as a treat. My husband and I both chose the garden burger. He is vegetarian and I am vegan. This is the only labelled vegan option on the lunch menu. I clearly ordered the vegan version. The food took a while to come which was surprising given that we were the only ones in the restaurant at this time. My mother's fish and chips arrived along side my burger. As she approached the table the waitress was removing a bowl of coleslaw from my dish. She said it shouldn't have been there and apologised. I opened the bread bun and was about to eat when she returned apologising that the burger had dressing on that wasn't vegan. She wanted to take it away but as my husband was having the same and I don't like to waste food I passed it to him. He was happy to take it. After another 10 minutes she returned with my burger. It was a completely dry bun with two pieces of gurkin and two pieces of lettuce, along with the chips. No relish, no substitute for the coleslaw. No offer of sauce and no check in that we were happy either. I wasn't! I don't like to be difficult and I discretely told the waitress on the way out. This just isn't good enough at this quality of restaurant. We live nearby but won't be recommending it to visitors.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sweetpea955 wrote a review Nov 2022
Saltash, United Kingdom18 contributions15 helpful votes
My daughter and I went for the spa and afternoon tea package. The spa and treatments were good but we were disappointed with afternoon tea. Please don’t serve coconut cream with the scones again. It had turned to slush by the time I went to eat my scones. The best part of the vegan tea was the tomato and hummus finger sandwiches.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nicholas Sweet wrote a review Oct 2022
Sidmouth, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
Fabulous Spa experience with top notch afternoon tea was worth every Penny. This unexpected treat was great fun. From the intense and exhilarating massage, two refreshing hours in the pool and sauna to the phenomenal afternoon teas. All the staff were friendly and very polite. (the only small fault was the lack of information on where facilities were and how to access them.) Certainly would return and hope to find an opportunity to very soon. Cheers and thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Maybe more information on the confirmation email and clearer introduction to the package and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from House Manager at The Cornwall, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nick Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your spa day and afternoon tea with us so much and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future :) Kindest regards The Cornwall Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kG86 wrote a review Oct 2022
Cornwall, United Kingdom10 contributions8 helpful votes
Went for Afternoon Tea Have been here previously when it was Laura Ashley. £26 pp and it was ridiculous . Sandwiches was made with end of loaf crusts All the pastries sausage rolls, pasties etc all raw. Sent back and then resent the same. Raw dough. Savoury scone also raw inside. Obviously frozen and blasted in oven way too quickly hence not properly cooked through Had discount added to bill But come on it's afternoon tea for £26 pp Sort the standard out. Far superior afternoons teas around for far less money . Whats happened.. this was the best afternoon tea around. Definitely not so now.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from House Manager at The Cornwall, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kayleigh Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are naturally very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your Afternoon Tea with us. Our savoury tea is a popular choice for many of our guests and it is very rare that we receive any form of negative feedback. Just to confirm, although we no longer collaborate with Laura Ashley, the Tea Room has not changed in any way and we have tried to maintain the same standards. Sorry this wasn't the case for you but I am pleased to read this was addressed at the time and a discount was applied. We do hope you would consider giving us another go in the future. Kind regards The Cornwall Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne D wrote a review Sep 2022
Torquay, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
My fiancee and I stayed here for 5 days and the staff were ultra helpful. Clean and tidy room and all the staff went to so much trouble to make us feel special when we git engaged here especially the bar manager and waiting staff in restaurant. A fab stay will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from House Manager at The Cornwall, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Lynne Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and we are thrilled to have been a part of such a special day! We wish you and your fiance all the happiness in the world and look forward to welcoming you both back soon. Kindest regards The team at The Cornwall Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate wrote a review Sep 2022
East Sussex, United Kingdom9 contributions9 helpful votes
If you’re idea of a spa is a cold jacuzzi, dirty sauna and other guests on smart phones then this the place for you. Swimming pool is streamed with guests dominating lanes: so no chance of a dip. Waste of money and the opposite of a spa experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from House Manager at The Cornwall, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Zoe Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are unsure whether you stayed at the hotel as a guest or just visited The Clearing Spa. In any case, it is disappointing to read that our Spa facilities did not meet your expectations. I must be honest, it is rare that we receive such negative feedback, as our Spa is extremely popular with both our guests and members alike. We are also somewhat confused with your comment about the "Jacuzzi" being cold, given that we do not have a hot-tub in our Spa - we can only assume that you are referring to the bubble pool, which is located within the main pool itself and is not designed to reach the same temperatures that a hot-tub would. Once again, sorry it wasn't for you. Kind regards TCH
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J B wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
I would happily return here for dinner for excellent service and food. However I would not recommend it to a friend as a hotel in it's present iteration. Check-in was a deflating experience: we paid extra for cream tea and upgrade subject to availability. I had booked an accessible room for 2+1 with the other family room listed was a suite so I thought it was worth paying the fee for the chance of a suite. However, on check-in we were allocated a "luxury" room with a super king bed, not a suite as listed as next best on booking, in fact the option (zed bed put on a room) wasn't listed at all which may lose them business from families. I had to return to reception to request an additional bed, where the receptionist did not acknowledge me whilst on a colleague call. A bed was set up during the afternoon. We were also required to pay £50 on a card to hold against additional charges. I had received no notification of this prior to arrival and it was not 'held' as a deposit - the money left my account and it took 3 days for a refund to be processed. Furthermore, items charged to the room had to be paid on top of the £50, not deducted from it. They should warn customers in advance of this 'policy'. The pool area was clean, but looked out to weeds and damaged furniture. This sums up the hotel, where weeds or dead plants grew in easy reach - by their photo prop deckchair, stinging nettles in the children's play area, weeds lining the steps from the car park, dead plants in pots. It made the whole site feel uncared for. Our room was adequate, but again required maintenance: tiles were cracked and paint peeling in the bathroom, the ironing board had a badly damaged cover. We all slept well and the bedding was comfortable. Breakfast was, average. The chairs are all too low for the tables and the table was very sticky. Again the cooked food couldn't be faulted, but the continental fell short: Yogurts were pre packed and cheap, not a bowl of full-fat Greek yogurt like other establishments. We had to ask for items that had not been reenished - bread, juice, pastries. For The Cornwall Hotel, one would expect the hotel to be proudly Cornish, yet the decor is bland and corporate with default wall art. Such a shame. I sense all funding for maintenance is directed towards the new lodges and housing development. To an extent is has the monopoly of location: great for Eden Project and Helligan, but as a destination hotel is falls flat. I wouldn't be upset if I stayed here on an organised trip at a good rate, but summer prices command expectations which are unmet.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from House Manager at The Cornwall, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on The Cornwall Hotel following your recent stay. It is great to read how much you enjoyed the service and food in our restaurant, however we are sorry that your stay wasn't quite as you had planned and that there was some confusion over your room. We would love the opportunity to discuss your stay further. If you have the time, please email us directly on duty.manager@thecornwall.com. We hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards TCH.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma G wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom14 contributions33 helpful votes
Self catering lodges are ok but overall quality is poor for the price The self catering houses are comfortable, clean and well appointed. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are nice and clean; kitchen is well equipped. However for £400 per night I expect at a bare minimum premium TV channels and there are no streaming services at all and no paid channels so it’s only basic freeview available which is bad. The wifi is very slow and VERY unreliable so don’t assume it will work at all because it won’t. The swimming pool is quite nice - kids loved it - although changing rooms are shabby and could do with a lick of paint, but the bath products in the showers at the pool are good. The breakfast at the hotel is terrible for the price they charge - very basic, little choice, no fresh bread only sliced out of a packet. No fresh cereals or granolas, very little fresh anything and very little for anyone who doesn’t want to eat fatty bacon. Breakfast needs a serious overhaul.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you’re coming by train, pre book taxis because there aren’t any locally. Don’t assume the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from House Manager at The Cornwall, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Emma Thank you for taking the time to write your review on The Cornwall Hotel following your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you found your self-catering lodge to be comfortable, clean and well appointed. Sorry that you felt the TV and Wifi on offer wasn't sufficient. As a Woodland Estate in Cornwall, unfortunately our internet connection is not always the strongest - this is something that we are working on but is currently out of our control. It's great to read that the kids loves the pool - we have passed your comments regarding the paint onto The Spa for their review. And lastly, we are sorry that the breakfast wasn't for you - again, your feedback has been noted and fed to the relevant department. We do hope that, despite the above, you were still able to enjoy some quality family time together in our hotel and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards TCH
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jasper J wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom29 contributions22 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Cornwall Hotel and Spa many times over the years both in the Hotel and Lodges and had been happy to do so and left glowing reviews after exceptional stay, we returned this year after a 5 year absence due to covid etc. and wished we hadn't bothered. On arrival from the main road awful tacky signs have been erected making the place look cheap, on turning into the drive we were met by lorries maneuvering in and out of hoarded building site on the estate grounds which appear to have been sold off and allocated for a housing estate. The grounds lack maintenance and not as pristine as they used to be. Check in was ok, but the reception is looking tired, I'm not sure if this establishment has changed hands as things no longer seem as professional as they once were. once check in was completed we was allocated our lodge, this time the lodge was near to the main road and you could hear traffic noise which at times was very loud, inside was very tired and dated, there are stains on the fabric chairs in the dining area and bedroom, the bath had cobwebs, the sealant in the bathroom is going moldy, the spare bed linen duvet and pillows were dirty with stain, dusty skirting boards in places. The cupboard where the ironing board is kept is stuck on one side making it difficult to get the contents out, the ironing board itself was useless, the cover looked as if it had been on there for many, many years, the soap dispenser in the bathroom came clattering down into the bath in the middle of the night. The décor is tired and needs a refresh and the bin in the kitchen underneath the black bin is filthy. All of these things should be checked regularly, but obviously they are not. previously complementary robes and slippers were in the room, as was a wider selection of teas and coffees including decaf and fruit teas, bottled water used to be included and buscuits, shortbread and fudge, however all of these have now been removed and the price hiked up considerably. we used to book here as we wanted a special treat and the feel of luxury, you no longer get this feeling you may as well save your money and just book into a travel lodge or premier in. on leaving and booking out previously we was always asked about our stay this time we were not asked. standards have slipped and prices have been hiked. needless to say we will not ever be returning and we can no longer recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from House Manager at The Cornwall, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jasper J Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and feedback, although it is obviously very disappointing to read that your stay with us did not meet the same standards as previous visits. We would really like the opportunity to discuss your stay with you directly. If you would have some time, our direct email address is duty.manager@thecornwall.com We do hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards The Team at The Cornwall Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
teddyvisiting wrote a review Sep 2022
Newbury, United Kingdom107 contributions68 helpful votes
Each rom seems to have a great view over the valley. Lowest price room was very spacious and had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs. Bed was comfy and room has very efficient aircon. Only slight criticism is car park is a bit of an uphill walk, but you can drive a car to front entrance, remove suitcase and then park on the lower level. Staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't get to use Spa, but pool looked great. Located in very convent location to visit Eden Project, Charlestown, Fowey etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from House Manager at The Cornwall, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Teddyvisiting, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are really pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future - hopefully you will get to sample our Spa then as well :) Kindest regards The Team at The Cornwall Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallSt Austell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CORNWALL HOTEL AND SPA: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,285 Photos (St Austell, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cornwall Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Cornwall Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include White River Cinema (1.1 km) and Museum Vinyl (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cornwall Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nepalese Gurkha Restaurant, Smorgers, and White River Fish Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cornwall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Cornwall Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cornwall Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mevagissey to Fowey Ferry (6.6 km), The Lost Gardens of Heligan (4.9 km), and St. Goran Parish Church (7.0 km).
Does The Cornwall Hotel and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.