We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penmenner House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Penmenner House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful rooms, whole family took over the place at short notice. Perfect in every way. Best place to stay on the Lizard peninsula. No brainer. Should be the default choice for anyone seeking b and b. The house is being sympathetically decorated and the owners seek to please in every way

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanceb410
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you Lance. We were delighted to be able to host you and your family. We hope you will come back again in the future to see what changes we have made and how things have turned out. Our aim is to make Penmenner House an even more beautiful place to stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I arrived on a day when we had all four seasons in the space of 2 hours. We arrived tired and wet but thankfully Geoff and Sue`s warm welcome made us feel better. The homemade cake and fresh tea that greeted us ( which we hadn`t booked nor expected ) was a joy. Once the weather cleared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederick L
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you Frederick, we are glad that you enjoyed the cake and your time at Penmenner. The Cornish weather certainly put on a good display for you.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a truly wonderful stay at Penmenner House, Susan and Geoff were excellent hosts and nothing was to much trouble. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection and were excellent quality. Our room (Sunset Room) was very well decorated, perfect size for the two of us, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The views from the B&B were just simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us Michelle and we are really looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The room was tired, in need of decorating and a total make-over; the en-suite toilet and shower room smelly; the beds, sheets and pillows cheap; the breakfast was mean, the sausage awful; workmen outside at 7.30am; and yet the price was top end. To charge £80 cash, for single occupancy, for that room was not decent. The other reviewers could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lespaull1959
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are going to update that room shortly. We will also replace the beds and mattresses.The pillows however are new as is the bedding which is quality cotton. We are so sorry about the scaffolding lorry arriving at that time. We were not expecting him and we...

Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We were in the Atlantic suite, overlooking the English channel, horses in an adjacent field, sea birds, boast in the channel. We could see all of this between our feet at the end of the bed. Very nicely decorated with lovely tableware and delicious, delicious breakfast, Tea and shortbread and bikkies in the room. The shower had excellent water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EllenHarvey
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We enjoyed every minute at this B & B . Cleanliness, comfortable bed, excellent service , beautiful view from the window , there is attention to detail for our comfort. Hospitable Suzanne and her husband are ready to help at any time . We are very grateful for the time we spent with you and for your care about your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena W
Northampton
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We have just enjoyed the most fantastic stay we have ever had in Cornwall. Sue and Geoff's mission is to make your stay a 5 Star stay. They exceed this.Thank you so much!!! We will be back very soon to enjoy their hospitality, breakfasts, lovely house and , of course, fantastic views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

What a gorgeous B&B. Susan and Geoff are so welcoming and their mission was to ensure we had a great holiday. Sea views everywhere! Geoff's breakfasts are fab. Susan's updated the rooms. They are beautiful. And there's so much to do here. We extended 1 night to 4. Thank you both so much 11/10 review.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ichowns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We've just enjoyed a wonderful stay at the lovely Penmenner House. This B&B is in a fabulous location: it has super coastal views. A few minutes walk in one direction to the coastal path and just a short, level walk in the other direction to the lovely village, with a good range of shops & places to eat and drink....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie B
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay here. The owner is a great host and very welcoming, but without interfering. The B&B is spotlessly clean and very quirky. Stunning views from the bedroom, excellent value for your money and the breakfast is delicious. A great find.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsApril13

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.7 km away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 km away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
465 reviews
7.4 km away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in The Lizard
194 reviews
3.2 km away
Cadgwith Cove Inn
Cadgwith Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Cadgwith
305 reviews
0.6 km away
YHA Lizard Point
YHA Lizard Point
#3 of 7 in The Lizard
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A characterful Victorian house which is Britain's most Southerly Bed and Breakfast with 4 ensuite rooms and fantastic sea views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner Road, The Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Price Range: RM339 - RM396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penmenner House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Penmenner House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles frederickl797, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best B&B in The Lizard”
 of 5 bubbles W8716FBmichellec, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles EllenHarvey, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles 62HeatherW, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sea views from all bedrooms, visitors lounge and breakfast room. This is so beautiful. it's a real gem. We've already booked to go back!”
  • Sunset down the lane from Penmenner House
 of 5 bubbles ichowns, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5