We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Penmenner House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Penmenner House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Penmenner House
 Click to rate
Cheltenham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've no hesitation whatsoever in a 5* rating. Susan and Geoff are exceptionally friendly hosts who ensure that your stay with them is of the highest quality. The House itself is Victorian and full of character and history. It is located in a quiet part of the village, yet only 5 minutes walk to the coast in one direction or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamSimon
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Penmenner House and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We stayed one night here as part of a ramble along the South West Coast Path.The welcome was warm, the rooms very comfortable and the breakfast excellent Add to this an excellent location, a lovely house and a host and hostess for whom nothing seems too much trouble. I left my charger in the room and without prompting it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David587
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, We are glad we were able to reunite you with your charger and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you all.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

As the most southerly B and B and within striking distance of the SW Coast Path itself and both the Lizard Lighthouse and the village we chose Penmenner House for its location. But the beautiful room with view over the sea, comfy bed and fluffy duvet, delicious hearty breakfast and warm welcome were all a bonus! We wish Susan &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grahamphysio
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you felt comfortable here. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we wish you well with the rest of your coast path walking.

Reviewed 16 December 2016

My husband and I decided to spend a weekend in Cornwall for our wedding anniversary. We had a really lovely stay in this beautiful house , looked after by Susannah and Geoff. Our room, the Atlantic, had wonderful views and was really comfy with a good selection of tea,coffee ,chocolate and water on hand. We were greeted with tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you Frances for your kind review. We hope you had memorable anniversary and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yelvertoft,
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Very warm welcome, fabulous location, extremely comfortable and homely. Beds are really comfortable. Breakfast is all you can ask for and comprises local produce. Highly recommended.Ideal for walkers, as a base for local sightseeing,artists, geologists and anyone interested in the natural environment. Try Ann's pasties in the village. Look out for the very rare but local Serpentine stone, some of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 776roger
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Penmenner. Lots of people have told us how comfortable our beds are. We chose the best mattresses because we know that a good nights sleep is very important to our guests. We are also glad that you enjoyed studying the serpentine stone both outside and...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Wonderful rooms, whole family took over the place at short notice. Perfect in every way. Best place to stay on the Lizard peninsula. No brainer. Should be the default choice for anyone seeking b and b. The house is being sympathetically decorated and the owners seek to please in every way

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanceb410
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you Lance. We were delighted to be able to host you and your family. We hope you will come back again in the future to see what changes we have made and how things have turned out. Our aim is to make Penmenner House an even more beautiful place to stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

My wife and I arrived on a day when we had all four seasons in the space of 2 hours. We arrived tired and wet but thankfully Geoff and Sue`s warm welcome made us feel better. The homemade cake and fresh tea that greeted us ( which we hadn`t booked nor expected ) was a joy. Once the weather cleared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederick L
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

Thank you Frederick, we are glad that you enjoyed the cake and your time at Penmenner. The Cornish weather certainly put on a good display for you.

Reviewed 4 November 2016

We had a truly wonderful stay at Penmenner House, Susan and Geoff were excellent hosts and nothing was to much trouble. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection and were excellent quality. Our room (Sunset Room) was very well decorated, perfect size for the two of us, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The views from the B&B were just simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us Michelle and we are really looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The room was tired, in need of decorating and a total make-over; the en-suite toilet and shower room smelly; the beds, sheets and pillows cheap; the breakfast was mean, the sausage awful; workmen outside at 7.30am; and yet the price was top end. To charge £80 cash, for single occupancy, for that room was not decent. The other reviewers could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lespaull1959
Susan N, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are going to update that room shortly. We will also replace the beds and mattresses.The pillows however are new as is the bedding which is quality cotton. We are so sorry about the scaffolding lorry arriving at that time. We were not expecting him and we...

Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We were in the Atlantic suite, overlooking the English channel, horses in an adjacent field, sea birds, boast in the channel. We could see all of this between our feet at the end of the bed. Very nicely decorated with lovely tableware and delicious, delicious breakfast, Tea and shortbread and bikkies in the room. The shower had excellent water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EllenHarvey

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.7 km away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 km away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
763 reviews
6.8 km away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
299 reviews
10.2 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
199 reviews
0.3 km away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in The Lizard
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A characterful Victorian house which is Britain's most Southerly Bed and Breakfast with 4 ensuite rooms and fantastic sea views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner House Penmenner Road, The Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Price Range: RM335 - RM391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penmenner House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Penmenner House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have great sea views.”
776roger, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms excellent”
frederickl797, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best B&B in The Lizard”
W8716FBmichellec, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a water view.”
EllenHarvey, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
62HeatherW, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5