We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 415: English reviews
Start your review of The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
 Click to rate
County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is the best hostel in Byron Bay I stayed on the lakeside cottage and it had a really chilled out vibe ... it had 10 beds (mine was very comfy) bathroom and cottage was cleaned out daily There is a cafe onsite and a free shuttle into the town but it's only a ten minute walk Would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen O
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Great review thanks Eileen. It sounds like you stayed in the Lakeside Cottage, which is an awesome dorm, but an actual cottage! We would love to host you again, so hope to see you back with us. Happy travels :) Thanks for the 5 stars!

Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great, well run, quirky hostel, if catering mainly to the young party back packer side, so expect some noise and wannabe hippies more than an actual arts collective-stayed in the cottage, loved sitting and chatting on the terrace with a view of the swamp. Good, comfy dorm. Great coffee in the cafe. Brewery and cinema next door recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bodil V
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Awesome review thanks Bodil V! So glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with the Arts Factory. We hope o see you again some time. Happy travels :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a great experience to be at The Arts factory. If you are looking for a nature, hippy and local culture and travellers good mix this is the place. I would not recommend you to be in a teepee if it is raining, otherwise it's awesome. Be ready to be with iguanas a birds everywhere and don't forget your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabela R
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Sabela, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Just to note, we do offer inside rooms with four walls, so you don't have to be in a teepee in the rain! Glad you enjoyed the wild life! The mosquitoes are awful all over Byron Bay when we get a lot of rain, we do fog with pyrethrum...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Arts Factory Lodge is one of those places you won't forget soon. Located just outside of the centre of Byron Bay within a very green environment is this backpackers hostel with fun staff and loads of things to do. There is a tent area where some people have been staying for months even years, which give the place a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Well done Jane - this i the most professional review we have ever received! You even know the names of many of our room types. In fact you are so spot on it sounds like it is a set up and the manager has written it! So glad that it is genuine and real. THANK YOU!!! Happy travels :) BTW...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really cool hostel but a lot of freaky people as well! The rooms are actually tents...so be aware for spiders and other insects;) the price is a little to expensive for the rooms. Bit the environment is amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sayajin Y
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review Sayajin. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Not all of our rooms are tents - or teepee's and huts as we call them! We do offer standard 4, 6 and 10 share dorms with four walls! Happy travels :)

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the arts factory for 4 nights in a 4 shared mixed dorm. as soon as i checked in i had a problem with my room and the staff was super friendly and moved me to a different one. the bed was big and comfortable, the room was not very clean but to be honest, it did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rakefet S
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing an extensive review Rakefet. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the activities we offer, especially our world famous talent show! Also glad to hear the staff are super friendly, but it is not good enough that you found your room not clean, we will definitely...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights last week. Overall a pleasant stay, however my teepee door zip was broken so could not close the door. The downstairs toilets and showers weren't the cleanest. Food and coffee was cheap and good. Quite loud at night if you want to get your head down early.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sophie , thanks for your review. I have put in a request for the zippers to be fixed if needed. I will also take it up with housekeeping that a bit of extra effort is needed in the downstairs bathrooms. Happy travels :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice staff apart from the guy helping to book tours, he was obnoxious and unhelpful, he had arm tattoo and a nose ring and probably around 30. The accommodation definitely has the fun novelty factor with the choice on tepee tents Few wild life roaming around which is cool I struggled without air conditioning Fun things on throughout the day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Gina. So glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the daily activities. BTW, the travel guys is no longer working at our desk! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lots of people travelling, great entertainment - there was fire eating going on when I was there and good music. Good accommodation and you can even stay in a teepee! A hippy hedonistic kind of place and I had such a blast there! Friendly staff and good place to stay on a budget

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hurley18
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Hurley, so glad you enjoyed your stay - especially our very special fire eating show, it is amazing isn't it! Happy travels :)

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Arts factory for 3 nights with a friend. Definitely would recommend to stay in any other hostel then this one in Byron. We loved Byron itself but the hostel was dirty, the 'space room' was like it had never been cleaned and the 1 fan we had for 10 people didn't even blow cold air out it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madscrookston
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, sorry to hear you had an awful time. Of course we clean our rooms, I have only just inspected this dorm twice in the last week, and it is not as bad as you are saying. Very dusty because we have been dry for so long, but not actually dirty. Also we have experienced a heat...

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.0 km away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#4 of 65 in Byron Bay
395 reviews
0.6 km away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.8 km away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#36 of 65 in Byron Bay
368 reviews
1.3 km away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
440 reviews
0.9 km away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#27 of 65 in Byron Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: RM204 - RM399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take one of the normal dorm rooms located around the swimming pool when its colder, Otherwise take one of the cute lake-side-cottages.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Island retreat, its on a little island so its more quiet and very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles rakefets2016, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a quieter room pray you don't get put next to reception”
 of 5 bubbles SamShyngle, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Camp in the jungle!”
 of 5 bubbles ThriftyBusiness, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Wreck Dorm can get live music noise. Booking.com identifies it as 10 person mixed dorm. There are 2 other dorms meeting that description.”
  • Wreck Dorm
 of 5 bubbles blackeldo, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5