We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 384: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for around 4 nights over my birthday in August. We had been recommended it by a friend who had stayed in one of the teepees. We decided to stay in the riverside cottage and are soo happy we did. We have travelled up the whole east coast and Byron Bay has been our favourite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emb00018
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Wow - thanks for your extensive review Emb! The Lakeside cottage is a great dorm, as it is an actual cottage! Very happy to hear you made the most of all the free activities we offer, and also that you will come back again - we love to have returning guests! Please come and say hello when you next visit....

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very hippy laid back vibe. So laid back, it's horizontal. We actually felt a little uncomfortable that we didn't have dreads and elephant pants on. I mean I felt over dressed in Nike shorts. Pros - cool experience in quirky environment. Nice cafe and food was good. Short 10min to town and beach. Free shuttle service also available. Rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lifeisforliving3
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Overall you seemed to enjoy your experience. We are working through to refurbish the whole hostel - the common area is next! Sorry you felt the signs were unfriendly, I guess we are just trying to let guests know what is not okay - such is life in a backpacker...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much to the staff at the arts factory. Myself and my friend stayed there last night and we would both 100% go back. We both agreed that there is no place like it in Byron Bay. The Atmosphere and the vibes of the place is what you go to Byron Bay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashleighmelrose
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

That is awesome Ashleigh, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the five stars. Hope to see you again sometime! Happy travels :)

London
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I have just come from a stay here with a friend as we are travelling up the east coast. We stayed in the 'island retreat 4 bed room' These were Awsome as it looks sort of like a tent from the outside but inside there's beds and plugs etc and even a balcony. The rooms were really nice for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgiecattani
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your response Georgie, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the activities. We hope to see you again sometime. Happy travels :)

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Anyone on the backpacker trail comes to expect that the places they stay may not be the most glamourous or extravagant but it doesn't mean you can't have an incredible experience. One great thing about this place is they have the usual private room/dorm room options but they also have grounds where you can camp as well as a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenzok08
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write a review Kenzok. I am glad we offer "an experience" & it is great you enjoyed some of the free activities like our bush tucker walk and talent show. We hope to see you back again some time. Happy travels :)

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Stay for a few nights. We have found hostels in general on the east coast to be unfriendly places unfortunately. Other travellers don't talk to you unless you have 300 bead bracelets and dreadlocks. I have none of that unfortunately but I'm trying with the bead bracelets and am currently up to 5. The hostels itself is nice enough, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stockley12
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review Stockley. I can't believe you were woken by a chime! Only at the Arts Factory, as we say! I will have a chat to the night team about the noise, I hope we can improve on this. It is good to hear you did enjoy aspects of your stay! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We were in a 10 bed girls cottage on the lake with a kitchen and an ensuite and it was more than ideal! Definitely good for the price and we were sad that we couldn't book another night! Only down falls was the shuttle bus in the evening that we were told about didn't really exist which left us waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle P
artsfactory_13, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Elle. Rhian is an absolute legend and Sam, the blonde bus driver, also just awesome. The Lakeside cottage is our best dorm, if I was travelling and come across it, I would stay a month! Sorry for the hassle with the night bus, we have just re-introduced after not running it for winter, and had a...

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Seriously mixed vibes at this hostel. Really nice and friendly during the day time, with some staff members doing their best to engage guests in the many activities they offer, but it changes completely after dark. Every night feels like the last night at the world's saddest bush-doof, when everyone is completely wrecked and should just go to bed but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie P
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review Abbie. The campground can be all you have said - cliquey, noisy and messy at night. It is a hard one for us to deal with, as we have a lot of long term backpackers staying there, so they are all of the above. You can have the best of both worlds though, by camping...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

The day before they were full but said to come back the next day. So we did get up very early in three morning. Now we Couldn't park because they had to 'renovate' their kitchen. Yeah right... We said we have our own kitchen in the van. Still couldn't park... Nasty staff unfriendly. Never go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mramomd
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mramomd, Thank you for your review, but it is not correct. You say your could not park, what is correct is saying you could not check in your camper van. This is 100% correct, while we were renovating our hostel kitchen we closed off camper vans. This is because the council does not allow campers to use their own...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Loved this hostel. There is a very chilled out atmosphere with hippie vibes. This is where Inbetweeners 2 was partly filmed. Only downside is the rooms are very small - 4 beds but there may be larger ones available. It's a 10 minute walk to town, take a torch for night time! Reception is busy from morning till night so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Denise, so glad you enjoyed your experience. Great advice to future travelers all round! Please come back and stay again some time! Happy travels :)

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.3 km away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#4 of 63 in Byron Bay
421 reviews
0.6 km away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.8 km away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 63 in Byron Bay
348 reviews
1.0 km away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#2 of 63 in Byron Bay
382 reviews
0.9 km away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#23 of 63 in Byron Bay
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range: RM236 - RM356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wreck Dorm can get live music noise. Booking.com identifies it as 10 person mixed dorm. There are 2 other dorms meeting that description.”
  • Wreck Dorm
 of 5 bubbles blackeldo, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick a cool accommodation - not the normal bunk rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles 437izzyh, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The tent one! very unique and recommended”
 of 5 bubbles arichi11, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Get a TeePee or stay at the YHA”
 of 5 bubbles TomGward, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Island resorts are absolutely beautiful and doesn't get as warm”
 of 5 bubbles backpackingau, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay