We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 405: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

This place is good if you don't want to spend $$$ on accommodation in town. The vibe is pretty cool here and I liked the Buddha Bar and onsite micro brewery. Staff were helpful and the kitchen was large with lots of storage space. They have a regular shuttle bus to/from town. In terms of standards, I've been to backpacker...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Em898
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Em, Thanks for your review, so sorry you would not stay with us again. This spurs me on as the Manager to try to strive for improvement! It is not that we don't care, we just get slammed for 3 months of the year, as you were here then. We will strive to improve, and the kitchen is next...

Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

My sister and a friend stayed at Arts Factory for 4 nights and had such an awesome time we are already planning our next visit. The hostel has such a relaxed atmosphere and we felt completely at ease there. They have everything you need at Arts Factory including a large kitchen, swimming pool and plenty of outdoor seating. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilks24
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Wilks! So glad you enjoyed your time with us, and already planning your next visit! Please come and introduce yourself and say hi next time you check in, I would love to shout you a juice or a coffee! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Full of stoners if you want to score weed head down to the jungle camp ground behind the hostel or the nimbin tour bus pulls up at the front door daily bathrooms are filthy and often littered with empty beer bottles shower blocks are one of the hostel bong spots on weekends if your considering staying at the arts factory...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony V
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for nothing Tony. You seem to know your way around the "bong spots" and all the places to score. The Nimbin bus takes tours from every hostel, not just the Arts Factory. FYI - we do not condone the use of marijuana, we advise guests it is illegal in Australia. Guests that we see first hand smoking pot on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

This hostel is famous for its vibe and hippie style - and it certainly lived up to the hype. It is very relaxed and everyone is friendly and chilled (although reception could be a little more helpful and less dismissive) There is a nice cheap cafe and good entertainment. But I found the kitchen small, dirty and overcrowded. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViciBurr
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Vici, thank you so much for your feedback. I will put your comments to the reception team at our meeting next week, as it it seems there is much room for improvement. I am happy to tell you our major project for 2016 is the refurbishment of the kitchen! Yay! We know the space is not utilised well and...

Beijing
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We love coming here for the food, beer, music and movies. Situated in the old 'piggery' just out of the city centre, you will not be disappointed with a visit to this institution of Byron. There is backpackers attached which is walking distance to town and would be my choice for a chill stay in Byron.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeijingWayne
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Cheers Beijing Wayne - chilling out your way sounds like good advice! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 5 February 2016

I stayed here whilst travelling in a tour up the east coast. The place is so quirky its great, the rooms are clean and they even give you a towel (which when travelling is a bonus) The bathrooms were cleaned regularly, wifi you had to pay $4 a day for, the small place to purchase food and drink from was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JadeJones123
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jade Jones - thank you for your review and taking the time to put down some words! Glad you enjoyed your stay - happy travels :)

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Out of all the hostels I have stayed at I thought this was the coolest. Great setting in the jungle with a swamp. My main issue is with the staff. Some of the reception staff came across as rude. It was a bit bizarre. I got the feeling they seemed to think they were cooler/better than me. It's difficult to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connor M
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Connor, Firstly to apologise if my staff came across this way, and I have cut & paste your comment for their next staff meeting. This is unacceptable, and we will strive to improve. Secondly, the comment about ID for pots and pans - there is no trust. If we leave them in the kitchen they get left in a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Atmosphere is great, building and surrounding look very special and unique ..BUT stuff was very unfriendly. Didn't feel welcome at all. At same point we were determined to avoid asking reception about general stuff, since they sometimes gave you the feeling that you were stupid or just annoying. Never experienced something like this so far during our travelling. Worst person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadSchmax
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi MS, so sorry to hear you found the staff rude. This is not acceptable, and I will address it with them. However, for all of us getting reviews, it is conflicting, because mostly the staff get great friendly reviews - as you can see here on TA. However, I am very sorry that is not what you experienced. We...

Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

The definition of quirky! A large hostel so there are a lot of people in various social spaces. Clean but basic and a large kitchen so you can save money and cook. The dorm room was really hot at night with 6 people in there. Helpful travel desk planning the rest of our east coast trip. A bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleni P
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Eleni, just a point to make, it is only 5 minutes walk to the bus stop, and 0 minutes walk to the beach, so even if you miss one of our frequent shuttles buses - it is still very achievable! Happy travels Eleni :)

Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

* BEWARE OF YOUR DEPOSIT WHEN YOU CHECK-IN * I had to stop over and needed few sleep after a long driving in Byron Bay. So I stayed at super small room with noisy hot fan which was 6 mixed dom for 40 dollars one. After few sleep, I had to keep driving back my home so went to reception....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinhee K
Peggy O, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jinhee, thank you for your feedback. However, you were checking out before 7.00 am. It is clearly stated everywhere in the hostel that reception is closed between 9 pm and 7 am. The staff member you spoke to is not a night manager, he is night reception - and he is there for the security and safety of the...

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.0 km away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#3 of 64 in Byron Bay
393 reviews
0.6 km away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.8 km away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Backpackers Holiday Village
1.3 km away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
437 reviews
0.9 km away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#24 of 64 in Byron Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: RM235 - RM360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a quieter room pray you don't get put next to reception”
 of 5 bubbles oliviac899, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Camp in the jungle!”
 of 5 bubbles ThriftyBusiness, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Wreck Dorm can get live music noise. Booking.com identifies it as 10 person mixed dorm. There are 2 other dorms meeting that description.”
  • Wreck Dorm
 of 5 bubbles blackeldo, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick a cool accommodation - not the normal bunk rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles 437izzyh, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The tent one! very unique and recommended”
 of 5 bubbles arichi11, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5