We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waves Byron Bay

Expedia.comUS$138*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Waves Byron Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waves Byron Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Excellent hotel. Was in a great location. Receptionist was very polite and showed us the room before booking. Rooms were very large and had a great size bathroom. Was very clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable. Would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluedog22
Chinchilla, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Waves was simply great! The bed was really comfortable; bathroom was spacious; perfect positioning to leave the car behind and wander around Byron on foot. Complimentary coffee & tea & juice & muffins in the foyer was also a nice touch. Overall perfect!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SibylleAustin
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Came to Byron for short break. Waves is very close to beach and shops /restaurants. Room was spacious clean plenty of storage space. Bed was king size comfy sheets and bedding lovely! Bathroom large and clean. Overall room was fairly dark there is a small balcony you could just about stand on it (which we didn't) it was covered with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 610jenny
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

We read some mixed reviews but the Waves Byron Bay was perfect for our one night stay. We arrived @7pm after reception closed but we had notified them ahead of time and keys were left for us in the night safe. The hotel was clean and no musty smell as indicated on a review. Our room had a large bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Great location close to the beach and main area, walking distance to the cafes and restaurants. Free parking was great as the parking is expensive in Byron Bay. Muffins and coffee is s nice touch although for the cost of the room would have been nice to have had more choice for breakfast. I guess I expected more of this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Waves is in a great spot - right on the edge of the main centre - quiet but only minutes into the centre and right across the road from the beach. The hotel is modern and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The bathroom did smell as reported in other reviews, but that is a chronic Byron problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve2407
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thank you for your honest review of Waves. We value all reviews, and assess all issues raised. Indeed our location is always a very popular point with all our guests. We do hope you will stay with us again, should you visit Byron Bay. Regards The Team@WavesByronBay

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

There are many places to stay in Byron Bay however Waves is always affordable and reliable for value for money. A fantastic location, metres away from the beach, shops and all the popular pubs and eateries. The staff are always friendly and willing to accomodate any requests and the rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. I stay here every...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tam_with_Wings
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Loyal Guest, Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you stay with us on your visits to Byron Bay. Please always advise our staff that you are a repeat guest, as we always do our best to up-grade your room. Regards The Team@WavesByronBay

Reviewed 21 February 2016

Recently spent 2 nights and 3 days at Byron (Sunday - Tuesday). I arrived at Ballina Airport in the late afternoon and caught a shuttle into Byron. The driver knew where waves was, so that was relief. The trip took roughly 30 mins for $20 pp. First look at Waves from the exterior, it was pleasant and simple. Check-in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turtlestories
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for supplying travellers with such a detailed review. We appreciate all feed back and we are delighted that you enjoyed our Suite and all that Byron has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards The Team@Waves

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Whilst staying in Sydney took a short flight to Buyron Bay Previously used Waves and no hesitation returning for our 2 night stay The staff always helpful, location so handy for eating and shops The beach on at the end of the short road Plan to return again next year

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Guest, It was great to receive your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We agree our location is fabulous with everything within walking distance. Please contact us direct, so we can offer you our 'Best Available Rate' when you return. Regards, The Team@Waves

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The staff were friendly, and the foyer entry looks clean and updated styling wise. We stayed in the penthouse and it is so dated for the price. There seems to be a lot of issues with but here are a few things we had to deal with- cockroaches, ants and spiderwebs, light switches didn't work, pop up plug in bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay W
WavesResorts1, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Guest, We were very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our cleaning standards are to the highest standard, so we will definitely follow up your issues raised. It is the first time we have had any bug or insect complaints, so very unusual, but probably due to the existing current climate and humidity. Thank you...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
0.2 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
237 reviews
3.3 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.2 km away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
3.8 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Address: 35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: RM563 - RM1,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waves Byron Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the main road. There is a backpackers on the opposite side of the road.”
kerryj60, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“studio was perfect for a couple”
barbaram1602, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Maybe go for a room on the second or third floor. We booked late, so got what was left, and maybe the others could be better.”
MattC498, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My guess is all rooms are great”
143tiar, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure there are towels and soap in the bathroom”
sarahwC4556FR, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$138* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$138
Agoda.comUS$142
TravelocityUS$138
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates