We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Santai Retreat

Agoda.comUS$141*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$162*
US$141*
Great Deal
US$157*
US$157*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Santai Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 551: English reviews
Caboolture, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Great position to beach and shops and the lovely restaurant within. Short distance to Kingscliff and Byron Bay. Bed was very comfortable. Nice size room and ensuite. Pool was perfectly situated and it was easily accessible. Would definitely come again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aburger7
Carl T, Front Office Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear aburger7, Thank you for taking the time to review Santai Retreat. We are lucky to be located in a prime spot on the Northern NSW coastline. We hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Haley Wezenberg Front Office Manager

Brisbane
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival at 1:45 (check in time at 2) was told our room was not ready and they would call us when it was. They rang at 2:15. Booked a package deal with wine and chocolates but none in room. The key stopped working at least once each day and had to get reception to let us in our room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterAndJodie
SantaiRetreat, Front Office Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear PeterandJodie, Thank you for taking the time to review Santai Retreat. I am disappointed to hear about your checkin experience. You should of had your keys at 2pm and I apologise for the delay receiving your wine and chocolates. Our back pool is solar heated and if there is a little bit of cloud cover it can affect the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I loved this resort from the moment we walked in. The staff were super friendly, the room was spacious with everything you need & the facilities were top notch. The Thai restaurant is amazing and the Peking Duck is a must try.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaytrippingRL
SantaiRetreat, Front Office Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear DaytrippingRL, Thank you for your positive review of Santa Retreat. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and you experienced 'instant relaxation.' We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Haley Wezenberg Front Office Manager

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2017

After a 13 hour road trip ended abruptly with the closure of the Pacific Highway we were delighted to be forced to spend a night at Santai. The staff were very friendly and helpful and guided us the following morning to an alternate route which was then open. Room was lovely, comfortable King bed and quiet room. Will like to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walgarri
SantaiRetreat, Front Office Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Walgarri Greeting from Santai! We are so glad you were 'forced' to spend the night with us and had a lovely experience. Through the terrible weather, we are so thankful that people had some where other then their cars to sleep in and got home safe. We hope that we can welcome you back soon in better circumstances and...

Northern NSW
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Great resort. Pity there wasnt a bar for a drink or a restaurant for breakfast. Overall though spacious well appointed rooms. Staff were great and restaurant for dinner was excellent. Nice area for walks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffd914
SantaiRetreat, Front Office Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear geoffs914, Thank you for your review of Santai Retreat. We are lucky that we have wonderfully spacious rooms, and so close to a great walking path up to Kingscliff and down to Cabarita Beach. We have taken your feedback onboard regarding breakfast and we are currently looking at options for our guest on site, for those that don't want...

Killarney Vale, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2017

we had a fantastic time. we were a bit disappointed to find that the gym was not on the premises, if it was a little bit better explained we wouldnt have been disappointed. overall the staff were very friendly and helpful. thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmalouisestokes17
SantaiRetreat, Front Office Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear emmalouisestokes17, Greeting from Santai! We are so delighted to hear that you your honeymoon was fantastic. We pride on making sure our guest are happy and we apologise that the location of the gym was not explained clearly for you. Unfortunately our affiliation with the Casuarina Rec club has ended and we hope we can look at an other...

Reviewed 5 April 2017

We loved the facilities at Santai our room was very spacious, weel appointed great balcony overlooking pool. You could almost have imagined you were at a resort overseas. Loved the pool - the spa section was our favourite but also enjoyed hanging out on the deck chairs down near the second pool and the big lounge area. The food from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kassa12
SantaiRetreat, Front Office Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kassa12, Thank you for taking the time to review Santa Retreat. You can easily imagine you are oversea lounging by the pool, cant' you! Our team do a great job in looking after the grounds to create that beautiful Balinese atmosphere. We will pass on your comments to the management team of The Spice Den. We hope to welcome...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2017

It was by accident I stayed here. The staff were absolutely delightful especially the housekeeping manager. Rooms are really lovely, spacious, luxurious and very very clean. For a work trip though I depend on a latte in a cafe, a drink from the bar or mini bar, room service and reception to be available if I need assistance in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShireGirl0104
SantaiRetreat, Front Office Manager at Santai Retreat, responded to this review

Dear ShireGirl104. Thank you for your review of Santai Retreat. We are glad that you 'accidentally' ended up staying with us but we are sorry to hear that we did not met up to your expectations. We are luxury self contained apartments and we do not try to be or market ourselves as a 5 Star hotel full service property....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, very relaxing, enjoyed the free Yoga on Saturday morning and the Spice Den Restaurant was excellent. Local shopping centre is only a few hundred metres away, which is has everything you may need. Beach is only 5 minute walk.Would love to return again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigsU4919GY
Management response:

Dear craigsU4919GY, Thank you for your review of Santai Retreat. We are delighted that you had a great weekend away and were able to join in with our complimentary yoga on a Saturday morning. We can't wait to welcome you back. Kind Regards Haley Wezenberg Front Office Manager

Redland City, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We loved our few days at Santai Resort; the studio unit was spacious, well appointed and quite luxurious. The pool was great to relax in after a morning exploring the local area; we used the BBQ provided on our balcony for a simple meal; easy access to the lifts and undercover car park. We enjoyed an evening meal in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimandkay2016
Management response:

Dear jimandkay2016, Greetings from Santai! Thank you for your positive review of Santai Retreat. We are delighted that you loved your stay with us. Our location is such a big draw card as we are right in the middle of this wonderful Tweed Coast area and there is so much to explore. We hope that next time you are visiting...

462 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Balinese Garden Pool (5)
Viewed
Grand Pool & Jacuzzi (18)
Viewed
Luxury King Studio Apartment (43)
Viewed
Luxury King Studio Apartment Pool Access (33)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxury Apartment (42)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxury Deluxe Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
14.9 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
398 reviews
2.2 km away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
Mantra on Salt Beach
Mantra on Salt Beach
#3 of 5 in Kingscliff
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
189 reviews
6.6 km away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
96 reviews
4.7 km away
Tropical Coast Retreat
Tropical Coast Retreat
#1 of 1 in Duranbah
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Santai Retreat

Address: 9 Dianella Dr, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Price Range: RM410 - RM834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Santai Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Santai Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santai At Casuarina Beach Hotel Kingscliff
Santai At Casuarina Beach Kingscliff
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Santai Retreat staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Santai Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on level 2 room 206, you had open fields in front of you and could see the ocean.”
Aussie22OS, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“We chose a room that said "no view" but actually you have a lovely view out over the pool and there are blinds for privacy.”
441georgias, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“need to have heavier memory pillows. I go a sore neck from sleeping with two thin ones. ”
katefitzalan, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are self contained and there is a coles Shopping centre just across the road.”
ssonjah, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“We were lucky to get in to the restaurant it might be a good idea to recommend a booking when you book your room as it is fantastic and I would hate for someone to miss out. ”
dwall88, 5 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$141* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$157
Hotels.comUS$157
Booking.comUS$162
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates