We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Somerset Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Somerset Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Setting is in attractive gardens and the location central with staff very helpful and friendly. It is close to the Anchorage Cafe/Restaurant/Bar and to the Lagoon where the Boat Sheds are located for you to arrange snorkelling trips etc. It is a similar distance to Ned's Beach and other walks on the other side of the island. The provision of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alister G
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed at Somerset Apartments for a week in October 2016. We found the 3 bedroom apartment to be well presented, very spacious and conveniently located for many of the LHI attractions (Ned's beach, the lagoon, Anchorage bar and restaurant, the burger bar, etc). Plus, the kitchen was well enough equipped for making a couple of home cooked meals. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

After we arrived at our unit, we never saw anyone again during our stay - the office always seemed to be unattended. We found our apartment in need of many repairs, and one day had no hot water for over 5 hours - until someone apparently changed the gas cylinders.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gerry T
Somersetlhi, Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of Somerset apartments. Our office is open 9-4.30 with 24 hour phone access to our private residences. We are self catering apartments and not a hotel with 24 hour reception. Your review reads similar to a previous and we are inclined to think you may have been travelling together. We hope you enjoyed beautiful...

Adelaide
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Somerset Apartments are in a great location, so close to Neds Beach (our favourite), Lagoon Beach, PO, Wilsons Bike Hire & all the Boat Trip People. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It's not 5 star accommodation but good value - very clean & comfortable. Beach towels, small backpacks, umbrellas all provided. We really appreciated the well organised transport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJackie
Somersetlhi, Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this review

hello, Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed Somerset.

Brisbane
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Perfect location - walking distance to Neds Beach, shops and eating spots. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Rooms have all you need to make breakfast and a simple meal. The setting has charming island feel surrounded by kentia palms. We enjoyed the visit by the resident hens as well as a siting of the rare woodhen. Absolute treat is visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreatTravelling
Somersetlhi, Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review and comments. Hope to see you on Lord Howe again!

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The location of the large Somerset complex is great – on Ned’s Beach road – half way between the Lagoon Beach and Ned’s. As we had been to Lord Howe before, we weren’t given the usual tour of the island upon arrival, which was disappointing. Then, after being dropped off at our room, we never saw anyone who worked here...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AuzziOne
Somersetlhi, Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear you were concerned with the properties maintenance and service. Our office is open Monday to Friday 9-4.30 with 24 hour phone access to the Owner/ onsite staff. When we receive messages in office hours we place them on your door for you but outside these hours it is...

Bargara, Australia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

From the moment we were picked up at the airport by Nobby, our wonderful stay at Somerset began. Nobby gave us a quick tour of the Island on our way to Somerset & gave us a run down on how life on the Island 'works'. Cars travel at 25km/hr & most people travel on Bicycles or walk. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jackie M
Somersetlhi, Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you gain on beautiful Lord Howe!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We had lovely stay at Somerset It was close to the shops very comfortable for our purposes We cooked ourselves most nights but ate out at lunch Laundry facilities easy to access Our verandah was sunny most afternoons to read in peace!Garden of hibiscuses was beautiful Easy walk to Ned's beach

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sharyn w
Somersetlhi, Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you gain on beautiful Lord Howe!

Aussie in the world
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We had a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment as we were extended family, great accommodation, only thing was the verandah was very cosy to have a meal on, otherwise perfect, we loved the apartment. Easy walk to Neds Beach, bakery and everywhere!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trav-lersmore
Somersetlhi, Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Mission Viejo, California
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Location is great, just a couple of minutes from the Lagoon and from Ned's Beach. The staff is exceptional, assisting you in everyway possible. For the value, you can't do any better. The kitchen could be equipped a bit better if you're expecting to cook in for your meals. It does have several fantastic outdoor bbq areas.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joe M
Somersetlhi, Manager at Somerset Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have great staff and appreciate the feedback!

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.6 km away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
212 reviews
0.0 km away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
271 reviews
0.8 km away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
291 reviews
0.4 km away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 11 in Lord Howe Island
267 reviews
0.6 km away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#4 of 11 in Lord Howe Island
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Somerset is perfectly situated between Neds Beach and the Lagoon, on a level area of the Island, allowing easy walking and biking to nearby shops, restaurants and the Visitor Centre. The units are nestled in subtropical palm groves alive with splashes of colour from Hawaiian hibiscus and fragrant frangipani flowers. Somerset is the ideal location for visitors wanting to explore and discover the natural attractions that have made Lord Howe Island famous. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Apartments

Address: Neds Beach Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Region: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Price Range: RM567 - RM1,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Somerset Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Apartments Hotel Lord Howe Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerset Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Somerset Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hibiscus 5 was one of 2 units with shared balcony adjacent to BBq's, and transit room.”
  • Relaxing on the balcony
 of 5 bubbles AdelaideJackie, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a one bedroom so that there is a separate kitchen/lounge room.”
 of 5 bubbles GreatTravelling, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Unit 12 is partly surrounded by palm forest.”
  • Unit 12 deck with palm forest
  • Shower
 of 5 bubbles NettyA, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The superior rooms are slightly better but the standard rooms have more open garden.”
 of 5 bubbles I4260CPvanessac, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a verandah and are single level.”
 of 5 bubbles JennyL595, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay