We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercersburg Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mercersburg Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mercersburg Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Beautiful Inn with beautiful and comfortable antique furniture. The linens are top notch and the rooms are super clean. The breakfast is delightful with fruit parfaits, muffins, banana breads and cheese quiche with bacon on the side. I highly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Well you won me over since I am the "breakfast guy" and anyone who likes my breakfast is A-ok with me. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and come see us again. Thanks for taking the time to review us. Jim

NYC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My husband and I love visiting inns, boutique hotels and B & B's. We base our visits on pictures and reviews, cross referencing using Trip Advisor and other sources. Rarely are we disappointed but we were at the Mercersburg Inn. The main hall is very palatial but dark and almost spooky. The lighting is dim and the wood is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19514G
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Sorry your experience at the inn was not completely positive. I know when you made your reservation and I contacted you to inform you that our chef would be on vacation that you were disappointed. We did offer to change your stay to another date but that was not possible for you and we understand that. Lisa and I were...

Valley Forge Area
Reviewed 12 July 2016

For our last night stay of a five day motorcycle trip we stayed at the Mercersburg Inn. We had a 200 mile ride that day thru a couple of thunder storms and real needed a good place to cleanup and unwind. We found that at the inn. A very pleasant innkeeper checked us in and gave us some dining choices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfore93392
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

We were glad you stopped in. We enjoyed chatting with you and were glad we had a place for your bike during the storm. When you are riding through stop by and say hello. Jim

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 July 2016

While traveling through south Central Pennsylvania, not far from Gettysburg, Sue and I stayed at the Mercersburg Inn. We found the accommodations very comfortable, and relaxing. Breakfast was served the next morning, with coffee, juice, cereal, coffee cake and quiche on the menu. The only issue was our room fronted on the road, so it was noisy in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Tom, thanks for taking the time to review us. It is usually no that noisy but there had been an accident on the turmpike which forced traffic through our little town. Hope to see you again. Jim

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I decided to drive up a day early for pick up of my son from the Mercersburg Academy Swim Camp. This place was absolutely phenomenal! The atmosphere was pleasant and didn't disappoint. We enjoyed a drink on the outdoor porch which had a great view. Our room was in the Carriage House and was quite nice. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We are working on the USB charging stations and trying to determine which one better blend in with the decor. Coming soon! Jim

Stafford, Virginia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I agree with a previous reviewer - this is a tough call. The inn is located at the edge of town, along one of the main thoroughfares heading out to the highway. The house itself is really beautiful. When we were there in mid-June, we found that no one had done any proper gardening this spring. They were all hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrightcrew297
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. There is only one road that goes through Mercersburg, 2 lanes, one east and one west. The highway is 10 miles away. We got a slow start on our spring cleanup because of the weather. But we agree that we were a little over grown. We hired in a landscape crew that trimmed and shaped...

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 20 June 2016

this classic home is a beautiful and gracious place to stay in Mercersburg. The home is too busy with classic artifacts for my taste, but never the less I had a great time there. One could enjoy a quite nigh of sleep in that Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank omersalem
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Glad you had a peaceful night sleep under our roof. Jim

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 June 2016

This one is tough to rate...the staff was amazing...the breakfast was really good...a little pricey....no television in rooms and just a very small one in the game room....so if u wan to get away...you can do that here. Bathroom was kinda small but in an old place u get that sometimes...so...i wouldnt stay there again BUT if the tv and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hiplain1
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. All of our rooms are unique. We usually leave unoccupied rooms open so guests can look at them. We do have some rooms with huge bathrooms, they are mostly in the King bed rooms. The TV issue has been with us for some time. We have polled guests over the years...

Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 6 June 2016

It was our first wedding anniversary, and as B&B enthusiasts, we knew we wanted a romantic getaway and selected the Mercersburg Inn. The owners were kind and helpful and the drinks and breakfast were enjoyable. We selected the Theatre package that incorporated play tickets into the cost of the room. Keep in mind that the Totem Pole Playhouse is about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rest-and-Romance
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We think the TotemPole theater package is a great deal and for the past 2 years they have been showcasing some well know actors. Thanks for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary and hope to see you on your second one. Jim

Hancock, Maryland
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We enjoyed a relaxing anniversary weekend at the Inn. The property was so well maintained and elegant. We enjoyed the serenity of being outdoors, despite the rain, while sitting of the porch in the comfortable wicker furniture. The room was so nicely decorated, complete with fresh flowers! We ate in the dining room and I highly recommend that guests enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marylandmomonthemove
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The best rewards for us is a happy, content guest. Hope to see you again. Jim

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mercersburg
20.6 km away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
16.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Greencastle
173 reviews
20.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Breezewood
29.3 km away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
632 reviews
23.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose from 17 guest rooms at our Georgian Mansion on 5.5 landscaped acres. All rooms feature A/C, private baths, fine linens & luxury amenities. Experience fantastic meals at our fine dining restaurant. Cooking classes, wine and food weekends, romantic getaways, golf, ski, & spa packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercersburg Inn

Address: 405 S Main St, Mercersburg, PA 17236-9517
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mercersburg
Price Range: RM643 - RM1,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Mercersburg Hotel Mercersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercersburg Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Annapolis, Maryland
3 months ago
Baltimore, Maryland
5 months ago
tallahassee, fl
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mercersburg Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Romantic Retreat room is very private. Has peaked ceilings and a cozy feel.”
 of 5 bubbles 10lorie, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“just know thee is no TV”
 of 5 bubbles 1brcm, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want a balcony, stay away from the Tidd room. The others have a lovely view, but the Tidd is blocked.”
 of 5 bubbles wrightcrew297, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The carriage house was delightful, but if you cannot go up and down stairs, I would select a room in the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles Rest-and-Romance, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“third floor you won't hear anyone walking around”
 of 5 bubbles 469lucreziaa, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay