We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wyndham Newport Overlook

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Wyndham Newport Overlook
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Newport Overlook
See the most recent reviews
Showing 35: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I've had a number of timeshare exchanges with RCI but this was one of the best. We had a unit that faced out onto the bay. From the minute we walked in the front door, the view that spread across the entire living room grabbed our attention. The bridge that runs between Jamestown and Newport was to our immediate right....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank larhee
lsouther, Manager at Wyndham Newport Overlook, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so excited you enjoyed staying with us at Newport Overlook. The staff takes pride in all their work and the up keep on the property. We hope you will come stay with us again soon. Thanks again.

EB
Reviewed 10 April 2015

This is a great place for peace and quiet, which we got since we came in April. The town of Jamestown is just a short ride away and has restaurants, a supermarket and a water front. The unit is huge (we got #7). IT's right behind the pool though so not sure how noisy it would be in the summer....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JR P
lsouther, Manager at Wyndham Newport Overlook, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. I love the idea of the bird feeder in the back.... thank you for informing us on the loud blower upstairs so we can get it fixed. glad you had a quiet vacation with us and hope you come back again soon...

Cheshire, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

Just located below the Newport Bridge in Jamestown RI, if going for the first time it's a little hard to find but a nice place away from the hustle and bustle of Newport. It is cold and snowy this week but peaceful anyway. Our unit has a garage so let it snow, let it snow!!! Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frannya53
lsouther, Manager at Wyndham Newport Overlook, responded to this review

Thank you for all the kind words. The staff take pride in their work and enjoy all the guests that come and have vacations with us. We hope to see you again soon.

connecticut
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I have to say that after reading some negative reviews, I was a bit concerned. We rented a 2 bedroom unit. We stayed in an end unit. It was huge, comfortable, super clean and very well supplied. Staff were friendly. Kids loved the pool. One the bedrooms was downstairs. Master was upstairs. It was a loft, no door, that was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kokaadam
lsouther, General Manager at Wyndham Newport Overlook, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the property while staying with us.... We hope you come back and stay with us again.... I will be sharing your kind words with all the staff as they should see how great your stay was.. Thanks again

Wadsworth, Ohio
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were very lucky and got a waterfront unit Although the unit furnishings and cleanliness were below Wyndham's usual high standards, it was still a very nice unit with lots of room (nearly 1600 sq ft) compared to other properties in the Newport area. Master bedroom and living room looked out over the water and Newport harbor with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CnTJ
Courtney S, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Newport Overlook, responded to this review

Thank you, for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I also want to address your comments regarding unit cleanliness. I know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving...

Severn, Maryland
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just arrived tonight expecting the vacation we had last year in unit 14. I am disgusted. There are stringss of dust hanging from the walls, stfuff all over the carpetss and I swept a load of dirt from the kitchen and hall floor. The tile floor in the bathroom and the kitchen and hall are filthy so much so that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cathy O
Courtney S, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Newport Overlook, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with the housekeeping issues you spoke about. I know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid...

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have been owners at RCI for over 20 years, staying in Newport every April. Nothing available this year in town so we were left with Overlook. The good: very roomy, large living area, laundry works great and full kitchen was nice. The bad: check in staff were rude, we arrived at 345 (check in is at 4) and room...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Sareta J
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Newport Overlook, responded to this review

Hi Sareta, We are so disappointed to hear that you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with unit maintenance and cleanliness issues. We have contacted our maintenance staff to ensure they have addressed any similar concerns regarding the window, front door hinges and locks. We are also sorry to hear that your internet needs were not...

new york
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for the first time over the new years vacation. We were so surprised to have such a beautiful place on the water. Yes the bedding and the furniture could use updating but it didn't make our stay bad. The internet kept going out but again, the place was so nice, quiet and secluded who cares. What I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheri g
New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Facilities was well kept and clean, a little bit off the path about 1 mile from town. We visited in the off season so pools were closed. The development would benefit from putting in a fitness area at the minimum. Units were very large and well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank honeypup
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The rooms were very nice right near the bridge over to Newport. The property is right on the water. In the morning and evening, the rabbits come out. You are close enough to enjoy Newport, but far enough away that you have a nice quiet place to go to rest at.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kscdennis

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.8 km away
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
#1 of 2 in Jamestown
95 reviews
3.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,477 reviews
4.0 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
1,764 reviews
4.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
5.8 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Overlook

Address: 150 Bay View Dr, Jamestown, RI 02835-1552 (Formerly Newport Overlook Hotel)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Jamestown
Price Range: RM607 - RM1,534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Newport Overlook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Newport Overlook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Overlook Hotel Jamestown
Wyndham Jamestown
Jamestown Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Jamestown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Newport Overlook staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 5 units that face the water are the best views. End units have no balcony or skylights.”
 of 5 bubbles Harry48797, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Units 14 to 18 are beach front units with a view over the harbour and bridge.”
 of 5 bubbles 283MelanieB, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“get a room with the bay view”
 of 5 bubbles larhee, 25 May 2015 | Read review
“Call and ask”
 of 5 bubbles CnTJ, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
“If you get Unit #1, run far far away!”
 of 5 bubbles saretaj, 24 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay