We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
East Hanover
Reviewed 22 October 2016

This Quality Inn is only a few miles from the center of Newport and just minutes away. It is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Located on a busy road, it has most things nearby i.e., shopping center, restaurants. Over night rates are more than fair for the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking time to leave us with your review. The entire staff wishes you a Happy Holiday and a prosperous New Year. Bless! Warm regards

Hartford, CT
Reviewed 22 October 2016

This is an older hotel that the owners have tried to upgrade. All the public areas are top notch, including an excellent check in experience, very attentive associates and tasty breakfast. I was particularly pleased that the breakfast attendant worked so hard to keep things clean. Good for her! Her efforts (a thin blond lady) were greatly appreciated. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrainardTraveler
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Sorry for my late response. We greatly appreciate you giving us both positive and constructive criticism which we are going to take when working on the rooms going forward. I will share your feedback with our breakfast attendant and we will continue putting in the work to better our property. All the best to you! Sincerely

maine usa
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We read mixed reviews of this place but felt everything was clean and comfortable in our rooms. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Staff was very pleasant. We've stayed in 3 Quality Inns in US and Canada. This was the most expensive. Walls were pretty thin but we did fine. Bring ear plugs!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csfMaineusa
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for giving us a chance despite the reviews you read. We are happy you had a good stay and hope you share your experience with your friends and families. Best wishes for you! Best regards

Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I didn't expect much from a Quality inn but I was delighted to find a fresh modern just refurbished hotel.. The lobby is attractive, the room is spacious and modern and the free breakfast had scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage. i assumed it was just going to be cold cereal and toast but it was the full budget hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qwerty103
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, We are grateful for this positive feedback. We are working very hard to get our property where it needs to be and hope on your next visit we would have completed our bathroom renovations and also building a Porte cochere in the front entrance. I also want to inform you that since you last stayed we've changed some...

Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed here after attending the Cedar Creek Battle reenactment. Very convenient to Battlefield and Middletown. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast included was OK. Our room was clean and nice. The only complaints would be that the mattress was hard and the bathroom, though large, had little counter space and it was a little noisy. It was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbieb549
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your most recent visit. I'm sorry the mattress was not of great comfort, however in our winter season we will be working on our bathroom areas. We look forward to having you again. Sincerely,

Reviewed 17 October 2016

The staff at the hotel is wonderful. They went above and beyond. They had breakfast ready extra early for the runners. Thank you. We had a suite. I would not recommend the sofa bed. Good location. Stay here if you can get a good deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM L
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, This is wonderful to hear that our staff went above and beyond and was also able to get breakfast out earlier for you. So on their behalf I want to say thank you and I will be sharing this review with them. Best regards,

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Block Island, you can tell they recently updated the hotel , but didn't really pay attention to details in the room, bathroom lights in weird places, painted over old wallpaper. But it does have a fridge in room that does not weigh what you put in or take out..plus! The rooms are all winged out from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janene M
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Seasons Greetings! Thank you for sharing your feedback. Block Island from what I've been told is very beautiful I'm glad you were able to stop here while on your way. We have recently updated our hotel and still working on configuring certain things. In the future when staying with us or any other property I would recommend putting...

Jamestown, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Room smelled like a locker room, had to purchase air freshener to spray in room. Fraying carpet in room, doorways to common areas beat up by carts and luggage. Coffee service in room the first day only, told to come to front desk if we wanted coffee for room. Elevator call button had to be pressed repeatedly to make connection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveln4alivn
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. We want to provide service that exceeds each of our guests expectation and obviously failed to do so through out your stay so I apologize for that. We will use this feedback to improve our service going forward. Sincerely,

Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in serious need of major renovations. Horrible woodwork condition, plastic ceiling in the bathroom. Tiny bathroom without the ability to close the door, toilet had yucky stains, water temp in the shower was cool. The strange room set up featured a raised tile area that might have once featured a whirlpool tub. We paid $139.00 per night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nashna
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Middletown/Newport area. We appreciate your comments and want to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I realized based on description of room with raised tile you were in our C wing each of our wings have a different layout maybe a future stay we can show other...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 September 2016

More cons than pros. The only thing that saved this from a 1-star rating was the friendliness of the staff, so I'll start with them. Checked in at 1:30am early Saturday morning. The man at the front desk was very helpful & friendly. Check-in was quick & painless. Check-out was also painless & pretty easy. Desk staff was very friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csmirasol
QualityInnRIMgr, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I am terribly sorry to hear about your stay and we would've loved to hear from you while on the property so we may correct this, however it is never too late I would be happy to hear from you. If you can please contact me via email agm@qualityinnri.com so we may further discuss this. regards

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.6 km away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
2.4 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.1 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly Renovated June 2014. Two-story hotel, 3 miles north of downtown Newport. 1/2 Mile from Naval Academy, Naval Base, NUWC, 3 miles from beach. Hotel amenities include indoor pool, fitness center, business center, free hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi. All rooms have frig/microwave. Deluxe rooms have in-room whirlpools, suites available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport

Address: 936 W Main Rd, Middletown, RI 02842-6315 (Formerly Newport Inn)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Price Range: RM322 - RM1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Inn And Whirlpool Hotel Middletown
Newport Hotel And Whirlpool
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid whirlpool rooms”
Trystelle, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room far from the noisy lobby.”
qwerty103, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice quiet room on the second floor towards the back of the hotel.”
Dante-Donna, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room on the first floor (177) was very quiet and looked on the back yard. It was high enough so you could keep the window open.”
ellenya, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good A/C & clean room with Jacuzzi tub for relaxation”
  • Seperate Jacuzzi area from the room
  • Beautiful clean room, the window that you see is where Jacuzzi is
  • Clean sheets
alishkaaa335, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5