We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Montage Palmetto Bluff

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Montage Palmetto Bluff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 568: English reviews
Start your review of Montage Palmetto Bluff
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent long weekend at montage Palmetto Bluff. We stayed in one of the cottages overlooking the May river. It is an absolutely beautiful room. The finishes are of spectacular quality. The food in the various restaurants was excellent. We especially enjoyed breakfast buffet at Buffalos

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
buckeye state
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stop at the Inn to check it out for a future vacation . It is a beautiful place ! They only have valet parking!!!! We had a drink and light lunch (very $$$$) I get it that you pay for a 5 ⭐️ place but when both of us went in to use the bathroom when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brockey
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

brockey, Greetings from Palmetto Bluff and thank you for the review of your recent jaunt to Palmetto Bluff. I'm so happy to hear that you found the resort and local vistas so breathtaking, as we are fortunate to be in such beautiful natural surroundings. I appreciate you bringing to the staff's attention the deficiency with the guest restroom - certainly...

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Palmetto Bluff is amazing...we've traveled there about 5 times but this was the first time we stayed at the hotel. Normally we rent a house. The service was horrible. Housekeeping missed 2 times even after multiple calls. Waiter was rude. Luggage took 90 minutes to get to room after check in even after 2 calls and w/ low occupancy. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J D
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

J D, We appreciate you taking the opportunity to share your recent experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are grateful to have you and your family as long time guests of Palmetto Bluff, and I was disappointed to hear that your stay at the Inn did not meet your expectations. It certainly sounds as though we had some misses with...

Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

The building is wonderful but, as soon as you pass the front door well, no hello welcome to.....so unprofessional. The bar is great looking but the restaurant has no character nothing wouaou effect. We had dinner with another couple, the service was ok, the food just ok and so expensive. This night was terrible and we are still talking about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voyageurbabou
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

Voyageurbabou, Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent dining experience at Palmetto Bluff. I was disappointed to hear that your overall impression was less than favorable, as our goal is to always provide nothing less than a gracious and welcoming environment for our guests to enjoy through both our staff and our amenities. Please accept my most...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love to stay stay at nice hotels. We usually use a Ritz as our baseline and this hotel is even above a Ritz, in my opinion. This hotel/property is just amazing. We stayed in the new INN (opened in 9/16) and loved our stay. We were there for a conference and this hotel exceeded my expectations. Every detail was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luxgurl75
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

Luxgurl75, Thank you for your feedback and five-star review of our resort. From a conference stay to a family vacation to a lovers weekend, we work hard to provide a memorable and excellent experience for our Montage guests and we love hearing that you experienced that here at Palmetto Bluff. We hope that you plan a return visit for more...

Aspen, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the easiest five star review we have ever given! The Montage Palmetto Bluff is unbelievable and exceeded all of our expectations. In true Montage fashion, this property is magical and we would recommend visiting for any and all travelers looking for a five star escape! Filled with southern charm and hospitality, it is the kind of hotel that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim E
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

Kim E, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback from your stay, and providing us a five-star review. We loved hearing the various aspects that stood out to you from your vacation with us from the stuffed animals at check-in, the activities and food at the resort, to Old Town Bluffton, to the associates who left an...

Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I went away for a long weekend and stayed here for 4 nights. When we arrived we were delighted with the property and all it had to offer. Just a beautiful resort. Our room and bathroom was gorgeous. We spend most of our days in either Savannah or Charleston, but always returned early for drinks at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meri1955
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

Meri1955, Thank you for your recent review of Montage Palmetto Bluff! I am thrilled to hear that your overall experience was so memorable and that you certainly took advantage of the many amenities the resort has to offer. Charleston and Savannah are two incredible Lowcountry destinations that we encourage all of our guests to visit, and Montage makes a great...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfection. Getting away for a Mother-Daughter weekend, we stayed in a beautifully appointed cottage on the May River. This resort thinks of everything. And, if you need something, they quickly answer your request (for example, we needed a step stool for the high bed and they provided one immediately). The spa is phenomenal. We suggest you ask for Norma or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

Andrea F, We loved hearing that you chose Palmetto Bluff for your Mother-Daughter weekend. Spa Montage is fitting for such an occasion! We've passed along your mention of the spa associates to their manager as we love hearing feedback on our team members. We do hope you come back to vacation with us again. If there is anything I can...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were invited to a couples retreat held at the new Inn, Montage at Palmetto Bluff, which opened August 31st, 2016. The new Inn was inspired by the R.T. Wilson, Jr. mansion built on the property in the early 1900's, and evokes an elegance of times past. The drive to the property was an event all to itself. Moss-draped trees...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taketimetotravel777
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

Taketimetotravel777, Thank you for your detailed review of our resort in Palmetto Bluff. The drive into the resort is indeed spectacular! We feel the same way. You captured so many of the visuals and experiences of what make Montage Palmetto Bluff such a special place to visit. We hope that you and your spouse are planning a return visit to...

Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The renovation of this lovely property has resulted in a charming venue for a meeting, menu or just an escape! The rooms are large and airy-and many have balconies, covered porches or decks for relaxing and enjoying the view. One of the most charming touches are the complimentary bikes that are at every guest house.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spasister
MontagePalmettoBluff, Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review

Spasister, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us! And yes, bikes are a great way to get around the property and fully enjoy the Montage experience at Palmetto Bluff. We hope you're able to make a return trip soon. Best regards, Gareth Brown Director of Rooms

934 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (333)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (501)
Viewed
Adult-Only River House Pool (23)
Viewed
Amenities (134)
Viewed
Canoe Club Pool (17)
Viewed
Cottage - Lagoon View (56)
Viewed
Cottage Suite - River View (25)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)
Viewed
Village Home (22)
Viewed
Village Home 135 (32)
Viewed
Village Home 145 (33)
Viewed
Village Home 33 (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
10.3 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
14.3 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
18.8 km away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
15.8 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
18.6 km away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. Spa Montage is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Address: 476 Mount Pelia Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-8343 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Price Range: RM1,671 - RM4,746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Montage Palmetto Bluff staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Montage Palmetto Bluff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The resort is spread out across the conservation land - stay in the main hotel building if walking is an issue”
 of 5 bubbles 759kime, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If walking is an issue, I'd stay in the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles taketimetotravel777, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you in the Guest Houses, ask for one closest to the main building- Guesthouse 2-4 are pretty close.”
 of 5 bubbles LindsayN_12, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a water view.... See photo from our room.”
 of 5 bubbles Islanddream2014, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were in a four bedroom village house.”
 of 5 bubbles 981stephenm, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5