We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Elliott House Inn

Orbitz.comUS$219*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$219*
US$219*
US$223*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Elliott House Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 808: English reviews
Start your review of The Elliott House Inn
 Click to rate
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the hotel looks nice from the outside but the room was REALLY bad smelling and I dont think this was a very healthy smell.plus, it was really noisy (rrom 10!!) It was not worth the money, even if the hotel is in a nice location. i tried to change the room but they did not even try to find a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinavienna2017
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your feedback, I really do. One important note regarding room 10 is that this room is located on the street and quite noisy. Due to the location of this room type, we significantly reduce the cost of the street rooms in comparison to the courtyard rooms. This particular guest booked a less expensive room, perhaps not realizing what...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The most charming aspect of this inn is the courtyard. Lovely for breakfast and to relax after a long day of touring. The staff providing breakfast is quite nice, but it ends there. Standard info to help maximize your enjoyment of Charleston. Broken handles on drawers make it difficult to store clothing. The bathroom is tight with frayed towels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that our property didn't meet your expectations. Please know that your comments will be addressed to each and every staff member as we don't take these types of allegations lightly. For future potential guests, please know that regarding water, while we don't have free bottles available in your room, we do have a water cooler in our lobby...

Chapin
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

1) very nice location in regard to Market Area and restaurants. 2) Friendly office staff. We actually left an orthopedic pillow and a very nice picture purchased on our trip in the room. Staff member found these and promptly mailed them to us. This Same staff member checked us in and out, 3) room was ok, but nothing special. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al K
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We are thankful that you chose to stay with us during your trip to Charleston. Please know that our staff really prides themselves on customer service. To read that someone was "short and abrupt" weighs heavily on us and will be discussed during our staff meetings. While we cannot control the size of the rooms being a historic inn, my...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent the weekend in Charleston (5/19/17). Elliott House was the perfect Boutique Hotel. Staff was friendly. Our room was very clean and even though it opened directly into the court yard it felt very secluded. Wine soical was relaxed and peaceful. And it was nice to be served breakfast in the courtyard. Even though this Hotel is right down town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you chose to stay at Elliott House Inn during your upcoming trip to Charleston! I'm especially excited to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. Our team really strives to go above and beyond with our service and amenities and I'm pleased that we met your expectations. You are welcome back anytime, we'd...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

You could not ask better service than the Elliott Inn. The breakfast delivered to the courtyard was lovely as well as the wine and cheese reception. Larry in the front office was an outstanding host. Excellent location; rooms could use some freshening up. I heard they were renovating in November. Also the room was in the original house and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bacilek
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Larry is a great asset to our property, and we are very lucky to have him! The location cannot be beat. We are centrally located in the middle of Charleston’s historic district. All the rooms but two, have individual air- condition wall units. The property was built in 1861, so like many properties our style, only have these type of...

Austin
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff at the front desk are very friendly ! I loved all the beautiful throw rugs in our room. Lovely decor. They have a wine and cheese happy hour in the courtyard. Breakfast is served in your room. I ordered the berry tart and it was delicious. You get your own coffee in the courtyard. Parking garage across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aces5
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Wow! We are impressed with how well you were treated with us while you were here. The wine and cheese reception is a great way to meet others, or to simply enjoy the courtyard. The breakfast choices are small and could be considered limited, but provide you with the energy that you need to get up and going. As you...

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms overlook a pleasant outdoor courtyard which features an afternoon cheese and wine reception and breakfast. Room are comfortable but small, typical of a hotel in central Charleston. Great location for a walking day around Charleston without the worry of a car. Parking garage available across the street at $20 a night. Near King and Queen streets easy to locate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EHMoore
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

You hit the nail on the head, we are located right in the middle of historic Charleston. As you mentioned, all the rooms are smaller than typical hotel rooms, which is the case for most seasoned properties. The majority of guests do not even need their car while they are staying with us because of the free trolley system we...

York, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

very well located, easy walking for lower Charleston sights, restaurants , shops, etc. room well appointed, comfortable, we were on the courtyard level, convenient but with the hard wood floors somewhat noisy from the rooms above, but not bad. Breakfast in the courtyard weather permitting, if not then in the room, very nice indeed. Only negative is parking...in garage across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doholman
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself while you were with us. We are happy to see that the location was optimal for your exploration in the “holy city.” The breakfast is something small and light to get you up and going. The majority of locations in our area of...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Elliott House is just beautiful! It's historical and centrally located to downtown and between two impressive restaurants. It was my birthday during my stay and the amenities were quite a surprise! The Inn had given me a bottle of champagne in my room and secretly placed the flowers my boyfriend sent without mentioning a thing. When I checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda I
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Wow! We are truly humbled by your kind words about Elliott House Inn. Neal does a wonderful job, and we are fortunate to have him. He just graduated from Clemson with his master’s degree and when he is available, will do walking tours for the guests. I am glad that he was able to help you enjoy your stay. We...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did love this hotel. The service was very good, the breakfast is served outside in a lovely courtyard and was very good too. The hotel location is perfect and the bathroom was well done as well as the rooms. I even loved the linens- so soft.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lynetteschneider
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are excited that you enjoyed your time in Charleston, and with us at the Inn. I’m glad to see that you found the service to be very good, and that the breakfast was a real treat. The breakfast is something small and light to get...

515 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,522 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
907 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM931 - RM1,909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Elliott House Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
atlanta
over a year ago
Davenport, Iowa
2 months ago
over a year ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Elliott House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nicht Room 10 nehmen, direkt an der Straße und sehr sehr laut!”
christinavienna2017, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Location was good - check out all the properties within a block or two”
joannesZ7078ZU, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Queen courtyard room is comfortable.”
EHMoore, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“I was given room 20 on the end facing the courtyard and my own private patio!”
705amandai, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 26, could be loud from music of wedding parties behind the hotel. Room 18 is a good location.”
lynetteschneider, 9 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$219* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$219
PricelineUS$223
TripAdvisorUS$219
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates