We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Elliott House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Elliott House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Elliott House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 795: English reviews
Sutton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed here on a recommendation from a friend. Pros: charming, great location, super continental breakfast, adorable courtyard and loved the wine & cheese hour in the early evening. Cons: roaches in our bathroom every night of our 3 night stay. Complained to management. Was told it was a common "Southern" problem and the exterminator had just been there that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy M
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being so candid about your recent stay with us. You are correct, the courtyard, location, and breakfast, all provide a nice touch for those that are staying at the Inn. Also, it seems that you encountered our most famous state resident, The Palmetto Bug. Palmetto Bugs live in our state trees, and during times of extreme weather...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is over priced and not well maintained. It is on a very busy street with truck deliveries to local restaurants at 6:00am. The in wall air conditioner made an inconsistent whirling sound like a car trying to start. It made it very difficult to sleep. The toilet made a fog horn noise when flushed. I wish I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. The main reason it seems like this guest was unsatisfied with their stay, was because of room location. When the travel agent booked the room, they booked a room that was located next to the street. We specifically state on our website, third party sites, and through phone conversations,...

Roanoke
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located right in the heart of downtown Charleston. Staff was very welcoming and the service is great. Each morning there's a light breakfast that is either delivered to the room or to the garden area. We would return here in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darien_wang
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. The breakfast is small and light to get you up and going, we are glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in the area!

Okeechobee, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointed. We will not be using the Elliot house again when we come back to Charleston South Carolina we book this very hotel because it's stated they had a hot tub and we had stayed there before and at that time it had a hot tub when we got this hotel this time the hot tub is filled and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K212DGjonathanh
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Well first off, I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. While I’m happy to see that you gave us high remarks for service, sleep quality, and location, you found the property to be less than satisfactory because we no longer have a hot tub. As you mentioned you have stayed with us before, and just simply...

The Villages
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good with exceptions noted. As noted, your bathrooms must be updated with current plumbing fixtures- commode. I don't see how your Inn will be able to compete in years to come with this deficiency.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joerR3079TU
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to see y’all again, and that you chose to stay with us while exploring the Yorktown. As mentioned by the reviewer, some of the rooms do need a little updating. The rooms have gone under some small renovations, but all the rooms will be going under a much needed facelift in October and November. The renovations will...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Elliot House was a very comfortable multi-day stay for us. It is well located near to great restaurants, including their own 82 Queen. Parking is convenient in a monitored ramp immediately across the street. Almost everything is walkable. Breakfast was warm, tasty, and always on time and the afternoon wine & cheese reminded us of stays in Santa Fe....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daneasdad
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We are impressed with how much you enjoyed your time with us. We are fortunate to have a parking deck directly across the street, which is twenty dollars per twenty four hours. We are located right in the middle of Charleston’s historic district, so many of the activities that you may want to tour, are just a few steps away....

Goodland, Kansas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a unique experience this inn is hard to beat! There was parking across the street, and once you get situated there is much to do in walking distance. The location is perfect to get a feel of Charleston and easy to take nearby tours from. The historic district was fun to walk around. The wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msowers
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Excellent! We are so glad to see that you felt that you were treated so well here. The staff does try to make sure that everyone is satisfied with their stay. The wine and cheese reception is a great way to meet others, or to enjoy the beauty of the courtyard. Once again, thank you for your kind words about...

Bonney Lake, Washington, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay at the Elliott House Inn in March 2017. Upon arrival mid-morning after a red-eye flight from the West coast we were not surprised to hear that our room wasn't ready yet (this happens a lot when we arrive from the west in the morning), so Neal at the front desk suggested we leave our bags...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jutta H
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you found The Elliott House Inn, to fit exactly what you were looking for when visiting Charleston. The rooms are well appointed and are all a little different. For future guests, The Elliott House Inn will be going under room renovations during October and...

CT
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Charming hotel in great location. Rooms are quite small- you have to like the quirkiness of boutique hotels. The private courtyard is lovely, although noise from the restaurant next door can be loud. Breakfast delivered to your room is a plus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsCt
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay. The breakfast is a great way to start the day, because it is nice and light to get you up and going. All the rooms are smaller than typical hotel rooms, which is something you find in older or boutique properties, simply because The Elliott House was built in 1861. The courtyard...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I travel on business all the time. Chain hotels were overpriced and not located conveniently near the historic district with it's shops, restaurants etc. Found the Elliott house via an online app. I was very pleased with my choice. You can't beat the location. Friendly greeting, breakfast was a bonus. Room was nicely appointed. Wifi worked without a hitch. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDDingo
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us in Charleston. As you mentioned, we are located right in the middle of Charleston’s bustling historic district, so anything you want to get to you can from our location. The breakfast is a great way to start the day. Also, the complimentary wireless is a nice way to search for...

500 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
1,503 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
889 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM1,004 - RM2,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Elliott House Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
atlanta
over a year ago
Davenport, Iowa
1 month ago
over a year ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Elliott House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book early”
williambO5027ID, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Location - Location - Location and very charming”
jsswrk, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were next to the street and eating places so sure there were more quiet rooms.”
msowers, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 36 was nice, but if you're short ask for a step stool to get into bed!”
KGK220, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Read my Review about the loud noise and stay in the Courtyard. Park your car in the garage an walk. Listen to the music it's free.”
hawkrocketzim, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5