We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fulton Lane Inn

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Fulton Lane Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fulton Lane Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 616: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 May 2015

I'll give you the pros and cons per our perspective and then summarize our reasoning: Pros: Location Front Desk courtesy Romantic rooms Wine and cheese hour at sister property Breakfast in bed Cons: Horrible internet connectivity No business center, no printing ability Inconsistent showers leading to potential scalding We stayed at the Fulton Lane in for Charleston Insiders Weekend, having...

3Thank VanessaL
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our inn, the complimentary wine and cheese hour, and the complimentary breakfast. I am very sorry for the issues you encountered with our internet coverage. We have recently discovered that occasionally our complimentary guest wireless...

Little Silver, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

The location was perfect for our tour not only of College of Charleston but the town as well. Fulton lane room was clean and great size. Staff was friendly and polite. Great stay. Glad there was parking too.

2Thank CCesario63
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the inns historic charm. Our central location is wonderful for exploring Charleston by foot. I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Stayed 3 days/3 nights in the FLI for our anniversary in late April. Positives: + front desk staffers: (esp. SuSu) are helpful with every little detail about Charleston, tours, restaurants, trolleys - everything a tourist would need. + Private parking: In & Out privileges at a fraction of what other lots charge & it's within a 15 yd walk to...

Thank Caylan
Crossville, Tennessee
Reviewed 26 April 2015

First things first - the poor. As pointed out elsewhere in a review, evidently some of the rooms need updating - ours did. It was generally clean but the carpet obviously has been there a while. There was some small tears in the bath room wallpaper and the tub/shower needed caulking. The blinds (there were no curtains) did not close...

Thank JohnCamp81
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Fulton Lane Inn. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay. Our goal is to provide a comfortable and restful night’s sleep for every guest who stays with us, so I am very sorry that your stay was disturbed by with unwanted noise. Thank you for your compliments...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 23 April 2015

This was our third visit to the Fulton Lane Inn and it has never disappointed us. In fact this is where we chose to stay for our 40th wedding anniversary! The rooms are lovely and well maintained and the Inn is located right on King Street. You can literally walk to every great restaurant and attraction in Charleston. The staff...

Thank Cori H
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Happy anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend such a memorable occasion with us at the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful visit with us here. We appreciate your very kind words about our staff and your notes about our charming property. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit....

Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We had a beautiful room with a gas fireplace and a sitting area. There was a table in a bay window where they put the breakfast we ordered in the morning - continental breakfast but delivered to the room at the time requested and items requested. The baked goods could have been better but there were other choices and having...

Thank Kathleen M
Camillus, NY
Reviewed 22 April 2015

First off, let me start by saying, I usually give positive reviews to places where we stay or eat while traveling. This is mainly because I pour over reviews on this site. I know how to read through knit- picky stuff and decide what is most important to me and my husband. This helps me know exactly what to expect....

Thank mmkathnp
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We stayed two nights at this quaint bed and breakfast Inn. We were within walking distance to the shops, battery park, rainbow row, French Quarter, and many other popular restaurants and art studios! The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfy! Complimentary breakfast was okay but limited. We would recommend and would return next time we are in...

Thank StephanieCole
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fulton Lane Inn. We are delighted to read that you were pleased with your room and that you were able to explore Charleston from our central location. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next trip to Charleston. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 April 2015

This was our second stay at Fulton Lane Inn and we absolutely love staying here. The inn is very well managed as the staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean, bfast can be delivered to your room, and the location is spectacular! I have been to Charleston many times and I highly recommend Fulton Lane as one of the...

Thank Bigmel02
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

My husband I stayed here recently for our wedding weekend. The rooms are just to die for! Southern chic is the only way I can describe them. Our room came with a small kitchen, a large bathroom (complete with jacuzzi tub!), a fireplace, and a four-poster king-sized bed. We received continental breakfast room service that was included. Everyone was super...

Thank Caron W
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are so honored to have been your hotel of choice while in Charleston. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your room so much. We strive to offer a historic inn while still including modern amenities. Thanks for such a wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Richard Widman,...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (111)
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Room/Suite (40)
Dining (3)
Bathroom (4)
View from Room (3)
Videos (1)
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Room/Suite (12)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (1)
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
2,707 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,067 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range: RM970 - RM1,597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fulton Lane Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Conway, South Carolina
Crystal River, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Fulton Lane Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear of the hotel overlooks a noisy parking lot.”
Dabillz67, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“our room was in the back and was quite and dark. Good for sleeping!”
blossom66, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Request a room away from the elevator, we could hear it during the night.”
I2358RHrobertt, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is in center of block. did not hear any road noise at all.”
TennTinkerbell7, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“King Street can be rather noisy, ask for a room away from the street.”
K2174XUjanel, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$232* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates