We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Expedia.comUS$125*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown\/Riverview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

605 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 597: English reviews
Start your review of SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
 Click to rate
Clarksville, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed the size and amenities of the suite. The room was well appointed with a kitchenette, a tv area and king size bed. It was clean and nice. The staff was great and breakfast was hot and good! There was a free shuttle to downtown each evening which was great. JP was our driver each evening and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Anna F, We are delighted you chose SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview for your stay. We are so happy you were overwhelmed not only by your comfortable room but also with our excellent service and facilities we offer. I will surely share your compliments with my staff, especially with the shuttle driver you mentioned. We hope to see you again...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Suppose to be a "suite" but wasn't even close.....the most bizarre room design you can imagine! Felt like a really bad dorm room! The complimentary breakfast was equally disappointing....nothing was replenished as it ran out (and this was early) and no tables were cleaned as people left....the entire area was a mess!! Extremely overpriced but any price would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lwight52
00gc, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear lwight52, thank you for staying with us and reviewing your experience. We are sorry you were disappointed with your suite and for the problems you encountered during breakfast. Your comments regarding our breakfast service have been addressed, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the excellent experience you should always expect from us....

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night on our drive back up North. We had a room with 2Q and a sofabed with a view of the Marina. Overall, I really have no major complaints. The room was spacious. The beds were comfortable. The toilet/shower were separated by the sink area which was nice when showering, etc. There is a shuttle starting at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VirginiaLove2Travel
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear VirginiaLove2Travel, Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview for your overnight stay. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and that our convenient location and outstanding hospitality made it even better. We appreciate you recommending us online and hope to be your first choice every time you and your family visit our area. Rick...

Tigard, Oregon
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for five days while vacationing in Charleston. I had originally booked another hotel, however, after comparing amenities I changed to Springhill Suites. The fact the price was $700 cheaper for the five days was important but breakfast and parking were included as well as shuttle service to historic downtown. The view of the marina was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alita M
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Alita M, Thank you for the outstanding review of your stay at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview. Our main focus is to provide each guest with a spectacular experience at a great price, and we are happy to know we delivered. We are also thrilled to read that you loved our friendly associates and convenient location. We value your business...

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

They were just finishing renovation and had 3 large wedding parties staying there and we struggling with get rooms ready. The house cleaning staff was short handed and late on the turn over. People were getting upset and the staff managed to be very professional, caring and helpful. Even under much pressure and having issues out of there front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tadd H
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Tadd H, Thank you for choosing to stay at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview and for sharing your positive review online. We are delighted that our front desk associates made you feel welcome and you felt well taken care of. We are proud of the team and their dedication to our guests. We appreciate you recommending us online and look...

South Carolina
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We booked a large 2 queen suite for just one night. Check in time is 4pm. We arrived at 4:30pm. At that time, we were informed that our room was not ready. There was an issue with the laundry and they were behind finishing up the room. They offered to keep our luggage if we wanted to go into town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Angie Thank you for the excellent review of your stay at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview. It is great to read that you were impressed with your clean and spacious room, especially with the comfortable bed in it. We also appreciate you mentioning our ideal location! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to...

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Great hotel. Although just outside downtown it has a great location on the water and boat harbour and free bus to town. It was good to be just outside the city bustle with our 3 young kids. Whole hotel is fresh and clean. Great staff, good breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Matthew B, Thank you for taking the time to share that your stay at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview was absolutely perfect. We are delighted to know you loved all the aspects of your visit, especially our location and our spotless property. It is also great to know you found us to be a good value and enjoyed our service....

Reviewed 13 April 2017

Clean rooms. Excellent location to quickly get to downtown attractions. The free shuttle was awesome. Breakfast is not good...You get what you pay for. Everything is prepared from powder. Powdered eggs, grits, oatmeal, etc. We went to breakfast right at 9 and they were out of coffee, juice, and eggs. There are so many good places to eat in Charleston;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby S
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Abby S, Thank you for the review of your stay at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are happy to know you loved our location, complimentary evening shuttle, and your spotless room. However, I am disappointed to know the breakfast we serve was not as per your expectations. We will make a note of your feedback as we plan any...

Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I stayed here for a week-long business trip and it was not bad. It was not exceptional but just above average. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was nice with an average size but I had a small balcony that made it better. The gym was adequate and allowed for a decent workout at the end of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Jay W, We are delighted you enjoyed your business stay at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview. Our goal is to provide a clean and comfortable room and exceptional service by our staff, so we are glad we accomplished this during your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Rick Buggle General Manager

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We enjoyed our stay very much. Lauren at the front desk was very helpful and suggested a great place for us to have dinner the first night we arrived. Our room was clean and very spacious. We chose to stay at this hotel because it said they offered shuttle service into Charleston and we did not want the hassle of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Labella25
00gc, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Labella25, Thank you for being our guest at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview. It's good to know you enjoyed your overall stay and that our location close to various attractions of the city was perfect for your needs. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back! Rick Buggle, General Manager

405 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Queen (76)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.9 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district (5pm-11pm), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM707 - RM1,486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Boxborough, Massachusetts
10 months ago
Spindale, North Carolina, United States
11 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem to be good.”
L8324SGannaf, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
lwight52, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Location and amenities”
chhedge1, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can somewhat hear people near pool and deck if you stay on floor two”
R8907JPkristenh, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not much variance--higher up (4 is the highest floor) has better views, but the hotel has too few elevators.”
rwallace, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$125* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$173
Booking.comUS$125
Orbitz.comUS$125
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates