We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown\/Riverview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

551 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 547: English reviews
Temecula, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a hidden treasure! They have cocktail hours every night with different themes, a nice pool area, clean rooms & my daughter loved the towel folded as the turtle with the chocolates on the bed. Everyone we encountered that worked at the hotel was outstanding. & Free parking too! They also have a shuttle that can take you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderfulJess
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The room was a tad bit dated but not a major issue. Parking is safe, free, and right by the door. Calhoun St is a quick 5 minute drive. Getting back to the hotel from town is also easy - Exit 1 (Summerton) immediately over the James Island/Folly Beach bridge. Breakfast was great, socials at night were well attended. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Livingpoet
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Livingpoet, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed some of our hotels many complimentary ammonites. The area that the hotel is located is considered Downtown/Riverview area and some rooms...

Boston, MA
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Marriott Residence Inns are great for family travel, and this property is no exception to that. Decent-sized suite with a kitchen area, very clean and well-provisioned, free wi-fi & parking, daily hot breakfast included. Everyone who works there is friendly and helpful. They also serve a free small "meal" in the evening (pizza one night, chicken sandwiches another) Though it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kendrick
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel. Very kind staff, great breakfast buffet and wonderful afternoon snacks - we enjoyed the Tuesday grill night. The only "but" is that the room was a little small. For the price we were paying we expected it to be more spacious, but it wasn't. However, we managed to move around without bumping with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandyZL
Eastern City
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Our stay was great. We were able to cook most meals in the kitchen, and our dog was very comfortable. There is a large field to the side of the hotel to walk her. Apparently pets are put into rooms with doorbells. The breakfasts are wonderful, and it's one less meal to cook/buy. I took my dog to Sullivans Island...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perpetua3d
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Perpetua3d, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you and your dog had a great stay with us and got to visit Sullivan's Island. We hope to welcome you and your four-legged friend back soon. Until then, wishing...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We selected this hotel because it states they are pet friendly. Charging a $100 non-refundable fee for a pet is NOT friendly. We have stayed at several other Residence Inns in other cities and this is the ONLY one to ever charge us. The manager was unwilling to wave the fee. This was a disappointment for my family. Allowing pets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelfrazier
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Rachelfrazier, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are saddened to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I would like to inform you that we have a professional cleaning company come each time a pet stays with us so that guest...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Rather than write a typical review, I'll share what I wrote in my first-ever thank you card to a hotel staff. The hotel itself has all you need, plus numerous little touches. However, it's because the staff goes above and beyond that we won't stay anywhere else. "The two-plus weeks that we spent here to adopt our son was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cincan20
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Cincan20, Thank you for taking the time to share this review and thank you note on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you had a great say with us and that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay a memorable experience. We wish you luck...

nyc
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I spent 4 nights here Thanksgiving weekend and had a great time. The room was a good size and clean. The daily breakfast buffet also was great. Loved the grits. We chose this hotel because we were traveling with our dog and had limited options. The hotel is very pet friendly and had free wifi and parking. We also took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dancingdays8
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear dancingday8, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our complimentary hot new breakfast buffet. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff for...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

My stay was perfect. The breakfast is very good. The rooms are very clean. The bed is very comfortable. The staff is very accommodating and nice. There are many channels for different audiences not just a bunch of sports channels. U gonna see lots of trees and water from your location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tamikophifer
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Tamikophifer, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtwon/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that your stay was perfect and you felt as if you were at home. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff for a job...

annapolis, MD
Reviewed 8 November 2016

My family and I traveled to Charleston for a week long holiday. We knew which sites we wanted to see, and, like any tourists, planned to visit the downtown historic areas. But the prices downtown for rooms rival those of Manhattan! So with a little research we found this gem, offering a 3 room suite with 2 baths at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweetsgl
Ashley G, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Sweetsgl, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had a nice long holiday with us. We would love to welcome you back the next time you are in Charelston, SC. Until then, take care....

343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Studio (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Suite (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.1 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM905 - RM1,680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms that have perpendicular neighbors that can see in your window (room 328)”
 of 5 bubbles Livingpoet, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are not "river views" here; we stayed on the top floor & found it to be pretty quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kendrick, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“i chose a high floor with a pet. Avoid ground floor if you have a pet.”
 of 5 bubbles dancingdays8, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 3rd floor, super quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Sweetsgl, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“a few rooms only have a view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles malcolm680, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5