We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belmond Charleston Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Belmond Charleston Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond Charleston Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,883: English reviews
Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Stayed here for a conference in May. First off, the staff at the desk is spectacular - very friendly and knowledgeable, They set me up in a newly renovated room, and the room was great. Very clean and brand spanking new. Wonderful bathroom, huge TV, not much of a view (out into the courtyard.) Parking is next door in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PinkFloydActuary
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear PinkFloydActuary, Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, as well as enjoyed our new Premier rooms. We appreciate your complete feedback as we go over all of these reviews to better our guests' experience. And we hope to welcome you back...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The hotel was in easy range of downtown Canrleston. Shopping and many restaurants were close by. They put my wife and I in a room with two double beds. When my son arrived they said they had no available cots or rollaway beds.m Walls were very thin and we were lucky not to have noisy neighbors at the wrong hours....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anton S
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Anton S, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. While we are glad you enjoyed our downtown location, we are sorry there were other aspects of your stay that fell flat. We appreciate your feedback as we go over all of these reviews to better our guests' experience. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel was recently renovated and the rooms have a more new traditional feel. Beautiful! The spa was great... We went for massages and then in the hot tub.,, bring your bathing suit! Pool is nice. ThE desk is extremely helpful with tours. Make dinner reservations a month in advance. This is a foodie destination!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Jane L, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, including our new rooms and helpful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Winchester
Reviewed 26 May 2015

This hotel was recommended to us and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The hotel had that lovely southern charm, and staff were extremely helpful and genuinely interested in our comfort and enjoyment of the hotel. We would love to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gar51
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Gar51, Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, from our friendly staff to our rooms. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 May 2015

This is a great hotel. Especially if you get the club level rooms. We stayed on the newest floor (8th) and the room was top notch - decor, comfort, amenities. Service was exceptional throughout the hotel. Everyone was helpful and friendly. When you stay on the club level there's a lounge with drinks and food throughout the day. Definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jem575
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Jem575, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time on the Club Level, it really is a treat! We appreciate you taking the time to write a kind review and hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Northeast USA
Reviewed 26 May 2015

The hotel overbooked our room and kicked us out for the night. I'm in a wheelchair, so a ramp van taxi had to lug me back and forth to an inaccessible room in a subpar hotel. Charleston Place apologized for the massive burden by upgrading me to the club level upon my return. The room upgrade was great. However, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gottakeepongoing
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear gottakeepongoing, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the issues you had at the start of your stay. We are glad that your upgrade to the Club Level helped make up for a small part of that issue. We appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager

Reviewed 25 May 2015

I'll be very short, the service provided at this hotel it is very good, the only problem was the AC unit made so much noise that we could get a decent night sleep, i read previous reviews about it, and ignore it thinking is a 5 stars hotel, it can't be true, but unfortunately it was. Definitely not coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oana i
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Onan I, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you had AC noise issues during your visit. We do our best to eliminate any noise issues, but apologize that your AC unit was too loud. In the future, please let the front desk know if your unit is too loud. They...

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 25 May 2015

You can't believe how excited I was to stay at Charleston Place this weekend. I've always wanted to stay there and understandably had high expectations. We have stayed at numerous hotels in Charleston and this had yet to be checked off the list. We checked in earlier than expected which was a definite plus. Even though our reservation said King...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen W
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Jen W, We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you had issues during your visit. While we are glad you were able to use the complimentary food and beverage credit for brunch, we are sorry your issues were not resolved sooner. Thank you again for your comments as we go over all...

Fort Smith, Arkansas
Reviewed 22 May 2015

I loved this hotel. I love the ambiance of the setting which was well hidden in an area offset from the main city streets. The lobby was beautiful and the grand stair case was reminiscent of the history of the city in years past. The rooms were large, with rich crown molding. The bed was most comfortable and the bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cphilpot
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear cphilpot, Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed a majority of your stay, including the modern technologies in the room, the downtown location, and the lobby. We are sorry to hear you found the value was not inline with what you were expecting, but we appreciate you taking the...

Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

Charleston Place is the best hotel in Charleston!! I have been staying here for years and it gets better and better!! The newly renovated rooms are luxurious, spacious and sooo comfortable! The staff is most hospitable, friendly and knowledgable! The location cannot be beat! A must!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Michele W, Thank you for your very kind review! We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable, and we are honored to be your hotel of choice for Charleston. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

565 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (548)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (129)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,566 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,564 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
1,233 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM1,300 - RM3,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#3 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Charleston Place staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Charleston Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure there is a bad room in the place”
 of 5 bubbles P8862DWjeffs, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Spend a little extra and book CLUB level!”
 of 5 bubbles B5008GZmichellek, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Interior rooms are quite nice and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Maugie_L, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4th floor has fitness room and spa”
 of 5 bubbles heatherbM7939FA, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony that looks over the main strip if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles lbunker67, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay