We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Charleston's NotSo Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 450: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Never stayed at a hostel but was very impressed. Staff was very friendly. The atmosphere was very laid back and inviting. Learning about other visitors' travels around the breakfast table was a great experience and it was fun to share our trip plans as well. My only suggestion is to offer a mattress pad; sheets by themselves reminded me of...

Thank Chris P
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I had high hopes for notsohostel, which is somewhat unlike me, so maybe that's where I went wrong. My main gripe was the fact the hostel is a good 40min walk from the main sights of the oldtown. Granted there are public and free buses into town so this wasn't a huge issue. Secondly, the hostel is laid out with...

Thank cheddahUK
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hostel itself is nice enough, but it was a lot further out from the main town areas than I had thought it would be based on the information on the website - a consideration when visiting in the summer as the weather is so hot and humid. The free parking and breakfast were really appreciated, though the main kitchen...

Thank ed2369
Chapin, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Charleston is not an easy place to visit cheaply. Visitors usually choose to splurge on a downtown hotel or stay outside the city and save some bucks, but be continually frustrated by traffic. Charleston's Not So Hostel is a great way to save some money on lodging and be able to access the best of downtown's nightlife, eateries, and historic...

Thank Brian G
La Chaux-de-Fonds
Reviewed 27 August 2012

great place, great atmosphere, very laid back, great price, great situation. Thanks NotSo Hostel, I loved a lot of things about your place and will come back on my next trip. Charleston is magic. I particularly appreciated your generosity: "as much as you want to eat" breakfast, free shower, free laundry!!! free Internet, and great staff. WELL DONE AND KEEP...

1Thank algex
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in a private room which had seemingly not been cleaned in some time - there was a lot of dirt on the floor, sand on the bed, and dirty socks in the closet. While we were provided with clean sheets, they were basically plastic and the mattress was worse than any college dorm mattress I've slept on. The...

Thank summerroadtrip2012
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. If you would be willing to email me with the details of your stay, I would like to look into it so that I can improve for the future. Were you staying at the main location or the annex? Also, please let me know the status of your refund so I can make sure it...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Got in to this hostel last minute and was met by a super cool staff that made us feel welcome and oriented us to the city. We stayed in the dorm room which was inexpensive, clean and surprisingly chill. All in all I really enjoyed my visit and will definitely be back next time I find myself in Charleston!

1Thank ScotQ
Asheville, Nc
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I had a great time in Charleston this past weekend! I spent some much needed "Mom" time away on a trip alone, and decided to spend it at the NotSo Hostel. It was my first hostel stay, and the place was great, and the blend of folks was great too. The only hang up that I could say was a...

3Thank CindyHayes
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I am glad you had a good first time experience at a hostel, especially this one. I have heard from guests that the Notso Hostel is a great introduction to hostels for people who have never stayed in one. I have spoke to the employee that you mentioned in your review, thank you for your...

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Great value even at the nicer off-site locations. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant stay. Free decent coffee and breakfast to kickstart your day. 10 min walk downtown. What else can I say, I always feel at home at NotSo...

Thank Ganzopty
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 August 2012

NotSo Hostel was a fantastic place to stay! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful gave great recommendations of cool places to visit and eat around town. It is also a super convenient location, with downtown Charleston a pleasant and easy walk away. My friend and I also loved meeting all the other different travelers staying there and sharing stories...

1Thank Stephan M

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (84)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Dining (5)
Room/Suite (12)
Bathroom (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Amenities (4)
The Aimee Room (14)
The Andrew Adams Room (29)
The Brazil Room (13)
The Cyprus Room (18)
The Dylan Room (13)
The Goldman Room (16)
The Hotel (340)
The Kendall Room (28)
The Kenya Room (19)
The Kingsolver Room (17)
The Taylor Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (15)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#27 of 60 in Charleston
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
2,694 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: RM159 - RM319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Charleston's NotSo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in the Cyprus Room. Seemed a little more quiet than the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles 794kelsiep, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Air bnb next door should be good.”
 of 5 bubbles C6321HMjohnp, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“relax, deep breathe and enjoy”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingTnHillbilly, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“i think the rooms are all pretty much the samebut i prefer the rooms i side the main house as i like to go down for coffee in my pajamas....”
 of 5 bubbles 255mima, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Staid in room in building 2 stairs, 6 rooms in backyard. A kitchen. A balcony with chairs to relax. great for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles K5504RKbrunop, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5